We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 South Normanton hotels

The Derbyshire Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Derbyshire Hotel to your Saves list
The Derbyshire Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
65%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
john b Devon, United Kingdom
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    246
    152
    58
    37
See reviews for
70
337
22
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed the hotel Saturday night after traveling up from Devon to visit my family. My initial thoughts was very good, the whole reception area looked lovely and the man who greeted us was very nice! I can't remember his name sadly, if i did he would get a special mention. We wasn't too far away from reception which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Good points first. Staff friendly and helpful, convenient to the motorway and the breakfast good and plentiful. However the photographs of the rooms must have had soft focus on max! The whole hotel is looking a little tired and jaded and in need of a refurbishment. Worn carpet and gaffer tape holding things down is not good. The duvet was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your comments. We use all feedback to make adjustments where possible, all of our meals are prepared to order but we are sorry if you felt it was too quick. We hope to welcome you back to another Principal Hayley Hotel in the future. Kind regards The Management Team More

York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Have stayed in this hotel a number of times and will continue to do so. Have stayed in a number of different rooms on different floors. The rooms on the front corridor are best as they have less traffic noise than those at the back of the hotel. Pool and leisure facilities are great, staff are incredibly friendly and will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. It is always a pleasure to be able to welcome back our regular guests. It is great to hear you had another good stay; we will look into the breakfast fruit tea selection. We look forwards to seeing you again soon. Kind regards The Management Team More

Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This is an average and a bit boring hotel which could easily be better with some effort. The pros: room was clean and quiet, check in and out was friendly and quite effective, wifi was free of charge and signal good, and the breakfast had quite good variety (including some healthy options - not too many though). The cons: the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased overall you found it a positive stay, we will use your feedback to make improvements where we can. We do have a rolling programme of refurbishment at all time. Often guests comment on the bedrooms being welcoming and cosy, we are sorry you did not feel they where. Kind regards The Management... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The room was well equipped, functional, practical and clean and the bed firmness was just fine. Staff were welcoming and pleasant. I can't comment on the food/drink as I'd headed into nearby Alfreton. Nor can I comment on the spa, which I would have used had the day not been so hot. It's in an ideal location for motorway access... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your notes. We always welcome feedback as a hotel. It is good to hear overall you had a stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, The Management Team More

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just of the M1 with easy access and good parking this gem of a hotel was full of exceptional surprises, a good looking very clean hotel with good service with a smile from all staff clean rooms well supplied. and a excellent selection on the menu and plenty of choices for breakfast only down side was the drinks were on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. There are always different packages and offers available on the Principal Hayley website. We are delighted you had a good stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, The Management Team More

Cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As the title suggests this would have been a great hotel to film this classic soap. Booking a room via the phone on a 0844 number was a nightmare, the foreign lady on the end of the line didn't have a clue. It took a second call the next day to sought the booking out. But once we arrived the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you had a good stay and team took such good care of you. We will ensure we look into the challenge you had making the reservation. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, The Management Team More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really nice. Great food. Great location. Nice staff. Lovely spa. A bit of a hiccup at check in as they were training someone so it took about half an hour but apart from that Great. Special mention to restaurant staff who were extremely nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are all delighted you had a good time and enjoyed the facilities on offer. We do take training of our team very serious and always try to ensure it has minimum impact on our guests; thank you for the patience at reception. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes, The... More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm just about to go to bed on my last of my two night break in this hotel but I wanted to write a review on here because I can't praise it enough. Decent size rooms, great leisure facilities free to guests including a pool and gym, amazing food(I was there on dinner bed&breakfast which I recommend booking because its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you had such a good trip and will be recommending the hotel to your clients. It is great to read you took advantage of some of the wonderful local attractions too. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards The Management Team More

Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is great,all staff very friendly, nice and clean everywhere,nice bedroom comfy bed. Nice spa,pool,jacuzzi. Great car park easy access to reception. In very close relationship for Matlock , Matlock Bath, Crich tramway museum, Chatsworth House. in fact all the highlights of Derbyshire,and next to the M1 junction 28 Only downside the evening menu was the same every night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you had such a good trip. We offer a wide selection on our menu with daily specials with the aim of ensuring guests get plenty of choice. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards The Management Team More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Derbyshire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Derbyshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Hotel

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Derbyshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton, UK

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)