We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Derbyshire Hotel

4.0 of 5 Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Derbyshire Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Derbyshire Hotel
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    279
    169
    61
    40
See reviews for
73
368
27
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (751)
  • Mar-May only
    (151)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (244)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (215)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (141)
All months
Bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars NEW

I stay at the hotel very regularly, 20 nights so far this year. It does not have some of the modern features of some hotels in this price range but everything works and is extremely clean and tidy. The rooms are always warm and I have never had an uncomfortable bed. The TV channels in the rooms can be a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rob140567
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Relative to the cost I really could not fault the hotel but it is important to remember you are getting an old hotel which is bit tired in places. Carpets worn, paint work not brilliant and rooms very dated. In the rooms an old TV (not even flat screen) seemed to be hit and miss on channels that worked and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Derbyshire Hotel, we are pleased to hear some positives and that the team were able to find you a peaceful room. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future Kind Regards The Management Team More 

Nuneaton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed for one night and were not disappointed,we arrived at 12.15 pm and got straight into our room ,room was large and a little dated ther were stains on the carpet and the television was dated to say the least but bed was large bathroom very clean and overall comfortable stay.We settled in then went for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, a belated happy birthday to your wife ! I am pleased she had an enjoyable time celebrating. I am glad you found the bedroom to be clean and comfortable, I will certainly speak to the Housekeeping Team to remove the stains from the carpet. The staff do like to offer a warm Derbyshire... More 

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had great stay at this hotel, friendly staff, pleasent evening meal and breakfast. Spa and pool were good. Wifi is extremely fast and compensates for the poor TVs and channel selection as we were able to stream Netflix.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of our Hotel, I am pleased you had a great stay with the Amazon local deal. WIFI is a must and I am glad you found great use for it. We do hope to welcome you back when you should be able to pick up another great deal Best Regards The Management Team More 

Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If staying in the area this is a hotel I would recommend. A large free carpark. Efficient friendly reception team. Quick check in. The rooms are clean and presentable. The only negative would be the old cathode ray tube on the desk but it works. Fast free wifi a definite plus. The restaurant can be a bit pricy but breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, it was pleasing to read you would recommend our Hotel. I am glad you found the Reception Team to be friendly and efficient, i will certainly pass on your comments as I know they will take great heart from your kind comments. Hope to see you again soon Kind Regards The Management Team More 

Brighton , East Sussex
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lefts start with the positives, free parking and free Wi-Fi. Staff were helpful poor guy in the bar was struggling on his own to serve all the customers and some were moaning at having to wait so long, Not so good, TV in the room is outdated , large old fashioned type with very limited channels and poor reception. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you were able to make the most of our great location, free packing and free WIFI in all areas of the hotel. We will review your comments regarding the pricing to ensure it is taken into consideration when our new menus are completed. We aim to offer a range of dishes and... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As two couples we chose a weekend break mainly for the spa facilities for my birthday. Lovely hotel. Decor cosy and comfortable. Before arrival I emailed them and requested if any upgrades were available would they consider us. No reply. On arrival I asked the same question and was curtly told NO. Our room overlooked a flat roof and sleep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Since your feedback we have reviewed this with the management team to ensure we can make changes wherever possible including with the heating. The lounge at the hotel is normally very popular and busy most days and evening. We aim to keep our pricing inline with the service and standard at a 4* star hotel,... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and i attended a wedding here today. Food lovely staff great. Good service and helpful. Unfortunately on this occasion we did use accommodation facilities but will certainly bare in mind for further trips to the derby area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, it was pleasing to read the staff were helpful and gave good service, we do hope you had an enjoable day at the wedding celebrations The hotel is a great wedding venue and and also good for a weekend away, next time you visit you may want to try a Leisure break, we... More 

London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed two nights on business - and would only return as there is little competition in the area. The good points: location, quiet room despite location, friendly staff, excellent salmon and well cooked veg, breakfast, car parking, friendly staff The disappointing: long queue at check in, freezing cold room, particularly the bathroom floor, poor (no) selection of tea, dated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am sorry you felt disappointed with some aspects of your stay, if you have occassion to return to the Hotel again please do ask a member of the team for other items, tea selection or a differnt menu item to the usual room service menu, we always do our upmost to accommodate... More 

Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I must say this is no way a reflection on the staff who are excellent, however the facilities of the gym and spa leave much to be desired. First the decor, I don't know when Chocolate brown, accidentally distressed birch and grey blue carpet tiles were last in fashion, but I am sure it was not this century. The changing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review regarding our Leisure facility, I am sorry you feel disappointed with some areas of the club. We do have different price tearing on memberships to accommodate our members It was pleasing to read to staff are excellent, We do hope you continue to visit and if you feel you would like to discuss... More 

Travelers are raving about these South Normanton hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Derbyshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Hotel

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Derbyshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton, UK

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay