We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 South Normanton hotels

The Derbyshire Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Derbyshire Hotel to your Saves list
The Derbyshire Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
64%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in South Normanton
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
A S Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (615)
  • Photos (51)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (117)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

615 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    225
    138
    58
    35
See reviews for
63
311
20
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall good value for money, just off m1 therefore easy access and close to Nottingham and derby. Food is a little expensive and room menu limited. Staff helpful and friendly. Small but functional gymn, large pool and spa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sussex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Can't say much about this hotel except to advise that your room must be on the ground floor if the weather is warm. If it has been a warm day the upper rooms are unbearable and have no air-con. It seems unbelievable that any modern building can be so bad. Strangely the bathroom tap delivered only cold or tepid water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Rooms and corridors very dark - and no air con or modern TV. Husband in wheelchair could just get around room OK, but only a double bed. Had a voucher for dinner(2 courses) and bottle of wine. Found out bottle of wine to be got from bar, but unable to take it into restaurant - a very odd thing. Staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall. We have a range of special offers available for our guests to enjoy. It is good to hear you took advantage of our wide ranging Tempus Restaurant menu. If you want to talk over any of your comments further please do contact me on 01773 812000... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was due to stay here on a summer day (we'd booked a few rooms as part of a big group). It was warm outside but nothing too excessive. When we got into the room it was sweltering. We could tell right away we wouldn't be able to sleep. We tried opening the window but that did very little -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you decided not to stay, all our bedrooms have opening windows and we can happily provide fans. We endeavour to control the temperature of all areas of the hotel all year round. I am pleased the team look after your requirements. A refund would only be arranged inline with each bookings specific... More

Alfreton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I got married at the Derbyshire in May 2013, it was 16 months in planning and our wedding planner Sharon, was amazing, patient and inspirational. Our host on the day, Johnathon, was like a magician, everytime we thought something needed doing he appeared out of nowhere to tell us it was already sorted. The price was exceptional for the service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leah Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to host your wedding; we are very lucky to have Sharon and Jonathon as part of our team. It is wonderful to hear you have recommended the hotel to others and been back yourselves since to enjoy the hotel. We hope to be able to continue to welcome you... More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

was attending a conference the next day here and had been offered accommodation over night. the evening meal was pleasant and served promptly to the 6 tables of about 8 diners each, staff polite and helpful. the hotel is looking a little shabby round the edges and carpets are a little thread bare in places. the room was hot when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you found your bedroom to hot in this current hot weather, we do have additional fan available on request. We close the curtains to avoid direct sunlight into bedrooms during these summer months. I am please you enjoyed the conference facilities especially the break times and found the selection of food through... More

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Large carpark, pleasant reception staff. So far much more pleasurable than PI. Room was clean and presentable but the old cathode TV was disappointing. I didn't stay for dinner but the breakfast was good. Check out was swift and overall a good stay bar for the TV. Will book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with use. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes Joel More

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed here on June 28th during a visit to nearby Matlock Bath. Although we were originally disappointed to find the hotel was 13miles away from Matlock (and right by the motorway), instead of the 6 miles quoted online, we were very impressed with the hotel itself. On arrival the staff were helpful and pleasant and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to hear you had a good stay and enjoyed our Tempus Restaurant Menu. We hope to welcome you back again soon so you can see some other Peak District villages. Best wishes, The Management Team More

Skawina, Poland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Large room but furniture outdated, comfortable bed and given the location near main roads surprisingly quiet. The only two real downsides was the fact that the restaurant for breakfast is really too small to cope and the food for conference participants was nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very looking that even with our easy access location near the J28 of M1 and the A38 we get little noise plus we have an edge of the beautiful peak district. We are currently reviewing our conference food offering and thank you for your feedback. Best wishes, The Management Team More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed this weekend for two nights and paid £130. The price was discounted I think as the leisure facilities are out of action! I think what we paid was fair as in my opinion it is no better than a premiere inn, in fact I've stayed at better premiere inns! There is one NXT door as it happens!! The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments. We have a range of packages on offer at all times; please see The Derbyshire Hotel website and Principal Hayley Hotels website. We have rolling programme of redecoration. Best wishes, The Management Team More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Derbyshire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Derbyshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Hotel

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Derbyshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton, UK

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
157

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer