We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Central

Opp. Super Market | 31-A, National Highway, Gangtok 737101, India
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Central
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    8
    6
    12
See reviews for
29
11
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

May 2015 was my trip to north Sikkim. After 6 hours long car journey from lachung i reached gangtok near 5:00 pm on 15th may. I booked deluxe room in central hotel gangtok through Make My Trip. I selected this hotel for its location advantages and the pic updated in MMT web page. MMT also send me confirmation sms on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kolkata
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a booking from makemytrip for a club room, we were allotted a lower category room. Room is dirty with stincking smell, one can"t simply stay there. Hotel authority didn't provide any alternate room. After long argument, they shifted us to their another property in PS road, which is 10 mins away from mg road by car. The quality... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Gangtok hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

good hotel...few lag from m.g. road left in this hill hotel..staff is good helful but not trained..club and dlx room is same but price is deference ...travel counter is good...maneger mr.umeshji is veryyyy helpful guy....

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my wife stayed in hotel from 29th April to 2nd May and had a wonderful experience. We enjoyed the hospitality of North East people and of hotel staff. Staff at reception and restaurant were very polite and courteous.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted to read your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our hospitality. Do visit us again. More 

Lucknow, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Central Hotel Gangtok from 13th April to 16th April, 2015. I wish to inform you that we had a terrible experience and we have never come across such a rude and irresponsible staff. 1. Extremely rude and abusive behavior during checkout: This is the worst of the lot. We had booked a taxi for dropping us at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kanika_mhs, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Central, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I had a detailed discussion with my team regarding your visit. I believe you had made a booking for 2 adults and one child. During check-in, we saw that you were 3 adults. And you were extremely unhappy that we asked you to pay for an extra person. It is a company policy and our team cannot help... More 

New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

I traveled to Gangtok from 8th to 10th April and stayed in Hotel Central. I stayed on the 5th Floor. I would mentioned good and not good things about the Hotel. Good Things Reception and Rooms a) Reception staff are good and proactive. They had my confirmation and room was given to me in less than 5 minutes. b) Rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you writing in such detail. I am happy to note that you found the hotel affordable and well maintained. About the room service boys, I am very surprised to read this and will take it up wit their manager very seriously. This is not their duty ! More 

Jharsuguda, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

I went to Gangtok with my wife and one more couple in Mar 15. Booked Central Hotel directly through its own website so that we don't face any problem. And guess what it was a terrible trip. Pros:- 1. Manager and reception staff is cooperative and good. 2. Location of hotel is good and near to MG Road. Cons:- 1.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am terribly sorry for your unpleasant experience. I am appalled that the house keeping asked for extra charge. It will never happen again. We have already ordered a new router for the hotel for better connectivity. I would just like to clarify one thing here, that all the photographs on our website are genuine. We have 2... More 

Mumbai
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Bill Not recieved. Reason - Complete payment not recieved by hotel. If there is a transaction conflict between cleartrip and the hotel, the customer should not suffer because of that. I have paid the full money in advance so it is my right and hotel's duty to provide me my bill. Lethargic procedure making the customer to suffer.

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing here. I hope you have heard back from the hotel by now, as I had conveyed your message to Front Office. Sorry for the inconvenience. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

NYC hotel for middle-class people... Warm hearted welcome.. Good food ...NYC roof garden..roadside position... Market n shops r just a hand distance.. Very clean surroundings.complementary breakfast we gt with our package..clouds r coming through d windows

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Gangtok ! Thank you so much for your great feedback on TripAdvisor. I am happy to read your comments on our hotel. It was our pleasure to have you with us More 

1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

I was on visit of north east in march 2015 with my wife. After awesome stay and fun at darjeeling and pelling we headed to gangtok. We stayed for 2 night and a day with my wife at central hotel and this stay just screwed the trip. Stinky , dirty room. Dirty and foul smelled bedsheet, pillow cover , towel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
Kanika_mhs, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry for your bad experience at our hotel. We are working on every issue mentioned by you. Hopefully none of it will be repeated again. Sorry again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay