We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 116 Gangtok accommodations

White Conch Residency

2.0 of 5 Specialty Inn   |   White Conch,Church Road | Near Dominos/ Pelling Stand, Gangtok 737101, India
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added White Conch Residency to your Saves list
White Conch Residency
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
81%
Ranked #4 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Gangtok
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014
94142014 Nagaur, India
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 days with my family and had a harrowing experience. This is nothing but a Marwari Dharamsala serving vegetarian food as a fixed menu(not in buffet).This hotel has been coined as a 3 star hotel by MAKE MY TRIP through whom I made this booking, though it is not even a 1 star hotel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bikashag, Owner at White Conch Residency, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for writing us your review. Our team had a very serious and detailed study about your review. I highly regret that we could not make your vacation a smiling memory. We highly regret that. However, would also like to point out some facts: 1. You were annoyed for not being provided with non veg food. It... More

Nagaur, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Hotal is very good and rooms are so nic and service is very good food is acording gust i like food also Hotal is very good and rooms are so nic and service is very good food is acording gust i like food also

Was this review helpful? Yes
bikashag, Owner at White Conch Residency, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for writing us a very encouraging review. We are glad that you had great stay with us. Thank you once again! More

Johor Bahru
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I am giving a thumbs up for everything at this hotel, from it's location to the value and service, as well as great breakfast. Stayed here for 3 days, we were served different local and western breakfast every day, and they all tasted great. I like the hotel staffs very much, very helpful, attentive and helpful. The room (triple deluxe)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bikashag, Owner at White Conch Residency, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are humbled and excited. You are a seasoned traveler having traveled most part of cities and countries in Asia. Its such an honor to receive such a fantastic review which covers almost all the aspects of the hotel which only a great traveler like you can notice. Thank you for appreciating our efforts, amenities, food quality and... More

Shillong, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed at WCR for 4N/5D and had a very good experience and value for money. Located at a peaceful area with greenery all around and 5 mins walk to MG Marg and Lal market. Would definitely recommend tourists to stay here. Very good food and breakfast. Rooms are spacious, very clean and well maintained and it feels like home. Staffs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bikashag, Owner at White Conch Residency, responded to this review

Hi Mr. Bantip, Thank you for such an amazing and warm review. Its really a great joy to have satisfied guests like you. Its nice to know that the aura and atmosphere of WCR made you feel like at home. Thank you for appreciating the food quality, location of the hotel, room decor & ambiance. Our amazing & energetic team... More

Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a good stay as a family of 4 adults and 1 kid for 3 nights at White Conch Residency in Sep 2013. I selected WCR as part of my package through a travel agency WCR is unlike a conventional hotel. It is a modified property providing decent but modest facilities. Our 2 rooms on the first floor were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bikashag, Owner at White Conch Residency, responded to this review

Hello Mr. Siddarth, Thank you for your wonderful review. It feel nice to know that you as our esteemed guests had good and pleasant stay with us. Thank you for recommending our property. More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Poor location no view bad food bsd service no safety Avoidable hotel not suitable for family stay. Never hire car for sightseeing from hotel charges very high. Food is very bsd quality and quantity. Dining room is very bad dirty csts run across table stinks. Staff behaviour rude.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bikashag, Owner at White Conch Residency, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you. Your review is completely unacceptable to us. Either your review is posted mistakenly in our profile or your review is with wrong intention of maligning us. Our hotel in fact offers one of the best views, private fenced campus which is very rare for the hotels in Gangtok with rich garden. Our each staffs - house... More

Dresden, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Quite old furniture (would not recommend it to travellers having allergies). Although the hotel is located in a quiet area the building is badly soundprooved. The staff really tries to fullfill your wishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paradeep, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a joyful stay as a family of 3 adults and 2 kids for 3 nights at White Conch Residency(WCR) in May 2013. Right from the beginning, all my booking, stay and travel related issues were addressed to courteously and promptly by Mr Bikash Agarwal- the owner of WCR. WCR is unlike a conventional hotel. It is a modified... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bikashag, Owner at White Conch Residency, responded to this review

Dear Capt. Modak, Thank you for writing us the review. Your thoughtful words on the USP of the hotel were very pleasant and encouraging. We as a team always carry this thought that the guests have given us their precious time to our property and its our duty to give them the best of their time and money. It really... More

Narsapur, Andhra Pradesh, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Wonderful Hotel with excellent hospitality at a reasonable tariff.I felt like home.Very nice Himalayan view from the balcony.Perhaps the best hotel in Gangtok if we do not compare in terms of sophistication. The staff are very friendly ,highly obedient and highly polite what have you.I strongly recommend this hotel to tourists you wishes to stay in Sikkim

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bikashag, Owner at White Conch Residency, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for writing such a wonderful and great review. Our team had a great time serving you for your stay of 4 nights. As a team it feels really great to be appreciated for our efforts. Thank you once again. More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

White Conch Residency has all the positives that a good town hotel should have: it is conveniently located close to the city center; the place is fairly quiet, and so doesn't have the trappings of being a city hotel; the staff, especially the manager is really friendly; the rooms are clean and some of them are spacious. The negatives: the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bikashag, Owner at White Conch Residency, responded to this review

Dear Parag, Thank you for your great review. Thank you for appreciating the hotel and mentioning all the well observed strengths. We take this opportunity to also inform you that today we have been ranked No.1 in Specialty Lodging in Gangtok in TripAdvisor platform. Feels great to have appreciations of our collective team efforts which was because of lots of... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage White Conch Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to White Conch Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Conch Residency

Address: White Conch,Church Road | Near Dominos/ Pelling Stand, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — White Conch Residency 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your White Conch Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Conch Residency Gangtok, Sikkim

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Gangtok with
any amenities