We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mango Hill

Between Pondicherry and Old Auroville Road | Bommayapalayam Village, Pondicherry 605104, India
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mango Hill
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Mango Hill
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    78
    32
    14
    16
See reviews for
41
66
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (191)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here with two friends who stayed for four nights. We stayed for two nights. All of us enjoyed the hotel very much and tried to arrange our life to stay another day. The staff was friendly and helpful. The architecture was simple, but tasteful and the rooms (We had a classic double) were spacious and nicely done with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Receptionist will observe you like a detective. Will keep checking your rooms, No privacy at all. they don't have TV as well, No beach view / good view at all. WORST PART - No room service / Hospitality sucks... Unhealthy food. Many more... look for other options. For a pondy trip have a better PLACE TO STAY FOR YOURSELVES...

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It is just the right place, as it is not far from the city yet it is so secluded from the usual city noise that it takes you to a different world all together. Its calm, well maintained, there is this air of casualness about this place that we loved the most. Pool is the main attraction with a cashew... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If u r trying to find a break from ur hectic schedule you must stay here !! Such a bliss overall ! The swimming pool is superb , place is tastefully simple architecture wise , friendly in house staff and pocket friendly located 5 km from matrimandir . a must try place if u love pondy and auroville .

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights with friends and familes-which included 7 kids !!Hotel staff are friendly and non-intrusive , and ont set too many rules as long as we maintain the cleanliness and peace .The pool is the star attraction ,picturesque , with a tree in the middle , with ample pool chairs and towels and bathing space around.Its quite clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We didn't stay here but just used the swim and lunch package. This was a good place to relax after visiting Auroville. Sun loungers need some attention . Lunch basic but tasty. Served our purpose which was just to have some relaxing time by a pool. Can't comment on the rooms. Wifi worked ok by the pool

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DLaederich, Public Relations Manager at Mango Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Team MH More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hotel is about 15 mins away from french quarters. The swimming pool is the highlight of the hotel. Spa is ayurvedic and can be avoided. The food here is average and i recommend you visit Auro bakery instead. Breakfast does not include eggs and just some toast and fruits are provided. Rooms are very simple and clean. Wifi does not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DLaederich, Public Relations Manager at Mango Hill, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.Your points have been noted and duly submitted to the concerned department. However we do have a BreakfastSpread between 8 to 10am where we do provide more than what you have mentioned. Eggs can be ordered a la carte. we do apologise any inconvenience caused to you however. Wishing you more happy journeys. TEam... More 

New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Had heard good things about this hotel but was sorely disappointed. First impressions are surely wrong in this case!! Looks good on the surface, but poor within. Cleanliness, housekeeping, professionalism, service attitude - all poor. Basics of professional hoteliering missing. Not even freshly-brewed coffee in a so-called international destination! terrible laundry of towels. poor value for money. Would surely not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DLaederich, Public Relations Manager at Mango Hill, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are sorry to hear that you found our hotel "overrated". Your points have been duly noted. However just to clarify, we have freshly brewed coffee in our restaurant for long now. Thank you for your review. Team MH More 

Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Very well maintained hotel. The food was very good. THE CHOCOLATE TART was amazing. The restrooms are well maintained but could have been better as I spotted a couple of roaches here and there. Other than that , the place is extremely relaxing, very quiet and peaceful. The receptionist Senthil was of real good assistance. I'm definitely going back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DLaederich, Public Relations Manager at Mango Hill, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are glad to hear you would like to give us a chance to serve you again. We are delighted to have been of service to you. Your concern has been forwarded to the right department. Thank you team MH More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We stayed at the Mango Hill hotel in 2014 and enjoyed it. We had a large, airy room with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. The pool is really cool - very large, and serene. The restaurant downstairs is quite good. I would definitely recommend a stay at Mango Hill.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DLaederich, Public Relations Manager at Mango Hill, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Thank you for your recommendation.We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again . Best Team MH More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question