We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Raven Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Ffordd Rhiw Ial, Llanarmon-yn-Ial CH74QE, Wales
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Raven Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Raven Inn
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    10
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had two meals here during our stay at Gweryd Lakes. Where do I start? We were allowed to take our two dogs (through to the designated area for four-legged customers) so that was a bonus. The staff were helpful and cheerful and provided quick,efficient service. This is a brilliant community-run pub with volunteer staff. Love the place! The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in the 'King studio' for one night and were delighted with the spacious room and comfortable bed. The inn and the small shop nearby are run by the community of this small Welsh village and it is clear that they are doing their best to make a success of it. Thank you Laura, the room was great. I'm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

the food is a pretty good and the staff are always excellent- nothing flashy but always reliably good........................................................................................................................

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We stayed in two of the three rooms, and found them very comfortable, and cosy, although it snowed one morning. Dog friendly too. Overlooks the parish church in centre of the village, just a mile or so from Offas Dyke and Clwydian hills. We ate in the pub a couple of times and food was great, good choice and well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banhadlen, Volunteer at The Raven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We'll make sure our lovely waitresses (and waiter) are praised. Glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

This is a great little village to stay in and that includes the Raven. It is quite remote, so be aware of that if you are on business. Also, it does not have internet access, despite the claims on the various booking sites, it just doesn't work. I did ask about this and was told it was flaky at best.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Banhadlen, Volunteer at The Raven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Llanarmon-yn-Ial and your positive comments about our lovely village. Sorry you found our WiFi flaky, it shouldn't be as we are only a stone's throw away from our little telephone exchange and we've installed a second Wireless Access Point in the loft to boost the signal to the bedrooms.... More 

Leicestershire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

What a fantastic find. The Raven Inn is a community run venture - both pub and accomodation. We were warmly welcomed and immediately offered a free pint as the gentleman was cleaning the lines at the bar ! The pub smelt clean and the interior was very old and quirky - a typical olde English inn. We were shown to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banhadlen, Volunteer at The Raven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very positive and encouraging comments. We’re delighted that you enjoyed the experience overall but a bit dismayed that the cheesecake didn’t live up to your expectations. If this ever happens again on a subsequent visit please don’t hesitate to mention it and we’d offer an alternative dessert or knock it off your bill! More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Booked for a romantic weekend with my fiancé through booking.com but they then changed our booking and demanded full payment up front - I cancelled the booking and found a lovely place near Denbigh, I was very disappointed with the attitude of the staff

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Banhadlen, Volunteer at The Raven Inn, responded to this review

We’re sorry that our booking procedures didn’t match your expectations but glad that you were able to find suitable accommodation near Denbigh. The facts differ somewhat from your account I’m afraid. You booked on Booking.com where it clearly states our policy that we need payment in advance. We are a non-profit volunteer-led country inn which cannot afford the situation where... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Visited The Raven for Sunday lunch. After wanting to pay a visit for quite some time, we finally made it for lunch on the beautiful sunny day. I was disappointed that with one person serving at the bar and 7 people waiting it took over 15 minutes to be served. I took my son to the toilet and found them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banhadlen, Volunteer at The Raven Inn, responded to this review

We’re sorry that you were disappointed with the speed of bar service on a Sunday afternoon. We always have two bar staff on duty at that time so we can only imagine that your arrival coincided with someone’s coffee break. With regard to the toilets they are thoroughly cleaned and disinfected every morning six days a week, including Sunday. We... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We stayed at The Raven towards the end of the summer and had a fantastic 2 night break. The locals welcome you to their community run establishment and really make you feel part of village life. Our en suite room overlooked the church and was a good size with a small kitchen area included. The Inn offers a good range... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Banhadlen, Volunteer at The Raven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor. Being a country inn, as so many of our volunteers and guests own dogs it makes sense to us to make them welcome too. More 

Llanboidy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Stayed here on a Frida night on our way through to the lake district. From beginning to end felt very welcome with our 2 year old. Had a lovely meal and all the staff were very attentive towards us and made sure our toddler had a plate and ice cream! Bedroom as very comfy, unfortunately we had to leave in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banhadlen, Volunteer at The Raven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The welcome you received was genuine – we really do love seeing new faces and it’s been said previously that you may arrive as strangers but leave as friends of The Raven. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities