We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort

Hotel website
15 Beach Road, Waihi 2980, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    45
    12
    11
    7
See reviews for
95
34
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (168)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Mount Maunganui, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

A group of us travelled to Waihi Beach for a friends 50th and we stayed in units at the Waihi Beach Top Ten. We were in the road front units which were surprisingly quiet and immaculate. We had everything we needed and more... With the best view from our deck. Great service from the team from Perez-booking until check out,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We had a cabin for 3 people. There was no coffee, tea or towels supplied. For $140 a night for 3 people this is "over the top" and never have we stayed in any accommodation where amenities are not supplied. There was also no toilet or shower in our room!! I tried to cancel one hour after making the booking,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Sunshine Coast, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We booked to attend a family reunion this month. We booked a self-contained cabin in October and had to pay a deposit of the first night at time of booking and the second night was charged in November, 4 months before the stay! ($300.00 total) As previous owners of a motel we were surprised to have to pay the total... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

One of the best places with kids.But still only the stars since this was too expensive.One can't expect to get this nice places very cheap.But still - on our campervan tour we stayed in places just as good but almost half the price.Very good facilities,big plus for an indoor play area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
wontoksmith, Owner at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort - your feedback is appreciated. I appreciate that we are expensive for families at certain times of the year, when we are very busy during our peak time. There are always deals coming up and some great ones available during our off season as well. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Please watch out when making a booking at this place. We had a family issue & asked to cancel a booking we made a week earlier. No way they said, no justification. 25% cancellation fee thanks. Hey the place looks great which is why we booked there but in this day and age I find it ridicules that businesses can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
wontoksmith, Owner at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review

This is a good example of where people use social media to negatively give feedback when things do not go their way. Prior to cancelling their booking these people left negative reviews on every social media platform that they could., to try and 'blackmail' us into providing a full refund, even though they accepted the terms and conditions of the... More 

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Stayed one night in a little self-contained studio in mid Feb to break the journey from Auckland to Gisborne. Small, but perfectly formed! Had everything we needed (including a teapot, which seems to be a rare object in NZ!). Nice swimming pool too, and very friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wontoksmith, Owner at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the time you have taken to review the Resort - we appreciate the fact that you have done this and I will tell my wife that her efforts in finding teapots for the units is worth it ( we found it quite difficult to source good tea pots!) We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your... More 

Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Noisy, busy and site sizes very tight. Facilities on beach side utterly inadequate for number of sites. Nowhere to eat when wet. We required to eat in the kitchen area standing up! Most expensive site we have been to by a way. Extremely poor value for money. Would not recommend this site.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wontoksmith, Owner at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Hi Bob, really sorry that you had a bad stay - we had a large school group in and beach side has a secondary kitchen for those who want to use it, however on the other side of the road, are lovely facilities including a purpose built dining room and outdoor fully covered seating area. Many parks only have one... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Outrageously expensive noisy and very disappointing. No heated towel rail and generally shabby. very poor. we tried to cancel one night due to a bereavement 5 days before the stay and were unable to do so.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
wontoksmith, Owner at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review

I am unsure where you stayed in the Resort, and the circumstances surrounding your cancellation. I am sorry that you had such a disappointing experience with us, as we do like to have happy customers. Please contact me if you wish to try and resolve this. More 

Wanganui
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Stayed 9 nights on powered tent site. Fantastic holiday park with awesome pool & spa. Excellent facilities that were always clean. Great beach across the road. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again or to recommend to others..

Was this review helpful? Yes
wontoksmith, Owner at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feedback on your stay with us - we look forward to welcoming you again some time in the future. More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

$85 for a two person tent, we were top ten members and were given an option NOT to use our member card and she'd give it to us for $67.......make sense of that?? We had all the details filled out before we found out how much it would cost, we could see $$ signs in her eyes but were not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
wontoksmith, Owner at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for providing your feedback. Firstly I can tell you that in peak season we have minimum charges per site ($85 for 2 adults and 1 child). If we have gaps to fill then we do offer them to guests at the 2 person rate if they arrive in person, or a better rate after 5pm if there are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay