We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Halford

Certificate of Excellence
Fosse Way, Halford, Shipston on Stour CV36 5BN, England
Hotel amenities
The Halford
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #2 of 2 Halford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Michael S Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    50
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
21
125
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (190)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a 3night stay at the Halford where we met up with friends who stayed 2 nights. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.The hotel is an old coaching inn, full of character with beams, flag stone floors and rickety stairs. The welcome was excellent and all the staff who we had contact with could not have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this inn is great for meeting up from disparate parts of the country. Easy access to Stratford-on-Avon. And it was a great venue for a family gathering. Us girls did well with the suite to share in the attic, which was comfortable and quirky. Think the boys lost out a little as they had a very small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed in one of the suites last year after our wedding. Friendly staff, room clean, comfy and quiet, food excellent and great price for the quality. I had a massage in the spa, which was very relaxing, especially after the stress of the wedding, and the lady was a pleasure to talk to. Highly recommended. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa P, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us great feedback. I have very proud of all my small team but in particular Jose, Jess, Gabbie & JJ, not too mention the kitchen & housekeeping! We have taken your comments on board and the Orange Bread & Butter Pud in now slightly larger on the portion size! More 

Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked on strength of photos on the internet, a big mistake. Room dog-eared and dingy not helped by ingrained dirt on original window and secondary glazing set of by broken grimy venetian blind.Second mistake was not leaving then and there. Surprisingly evening meal on two nights excellent and the staff friendly, however breakfast adequate, but not a shadow on some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Melissa P, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

I expected you too write all the negative comments you sent me via the lengthy email. Also, there is no surprise at all that you missed off all the positive points you wrote (food, staff, etc, etc) Again, no surprise, you have not mentioned that when you checked out all was "very enjoyable". Pherhaps it is because the reply to... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had driven for several hours and spotted this nice looking place. We parked the car and I proceeded to help my disabled mother out of the car, at which point a man from the inn came out and told me to move my car and mumbled something about access, even thought it appeared to be perfectly reasonable to park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Melissa P, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

Incorrect - witnessed by smiley Jess....... Jose went out to ask you if you could park vertical like everyone else instead of horizonal taking up 3 spaces in front of the pub. We welcome disabled access, close to the front door but the car needs to park the right way on so other customers can park! More 

Coventry
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just had a very nice weekend at the Halford - Room was quiet - staff are friendly and efficient - and the food - oh my goodness me............ totally wonderful - some of the nicest I have ever eaten anywhere - fantastic value for money - we will definitely return -

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

Booked for 3nights left after 1 dirty miserable smelly place don't know how it got 4stars 2would be generous,stains and mould in bathroom ,stair and bedroom carpet worn and dirty as for the award winning breakfast had better in greasy spoon never again

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Melissa P, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

Why do you wish to lie? More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Located on the ancient Fosse Way, The Halford is a 16th century coaching inn full of character. The rooms are attractively presented. The suites on the upper floor are spacious and particularly attractive. The restaurant has an interesting and tasty menu and an elegant yet cosy feel. José is a great chap, very attentive and friendly. We are going back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Had an amazing nights stay here the beauty treatments were amazing the food is delicious and the shared moment suite is so relaxing would recommend to everybody. The staff are so helpful and couldn't do enough for you. Extremely happy Loved it!! Thank you x

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

I'd driven past this pub on a good number of occasions in recent months and often thought "that looks like a good place to go" and mentally 'filed' it. It just so happened that I was out for a day trip and was passing in the evening. I suggested to my wife we give it a try and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities