We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Halford

Certificate of Excellence
Fosse Way, Halford, Shipston on Stour CV36 5BN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Halford
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
oxford
Level Contributor
200 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a large party booked for lunch the Saturday before Christmas. It was maybe an off day because the food was quite disappointing although nothing specifically wrong. I had a salad with white fish- i think the fish was poached. It was what I ordered and there was no basis to complain, but it was rather odd. We have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glinys W
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

I purchased a night and dinner at the Halford as a gift for my partner. Big mistake! The biggest issue at the Halford is that the owner is the receptionist, barman and waiter which obviously results in a poor service. The photos look nice enough, but the place is tired and soul less. Not only that the owner is really... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank lottie2016
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Convenient location to meet up as from all over UK. Recently taken over and has new staff. Could not fault the service and was value for money. Agreed to be able to use the function room for our team meeting. Could have been warmer but made up for it with free hot drinks.

Helpful?
Thank Expatkiwi71
John G, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay - we enjoyed having you and look forward to your next visit after our refurbishment in the new year. More 

High Wycomeb
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

As a business traveller I stay in a lot of places, so when I travel with my family I strive for comfort and quality. This place didn't disappoint, we had a lovely meal complimented with a great wine (from an comprehensive list) in front of a homely fire. Rooms were lovely and clean. Would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Chris P
John G, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

It waslovely having you and hope to see you again in the new year after the refurbishment. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

We booked to stay in a suite, on the website of booking.com it said a suite has a double bed and sofa bed, we were looking forward to sitting on a sofa and relaxing, when shown to our room we had no sofa, we asked if this room was a suite to which the staff member said no, and that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jamesabi
John G, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

I am again sorry that your room was not as expected, it was the first floor suite referred to on booking.com and much sought after for being peaceful at the rear of the building with views over the courtyard at the best views of the Cotswold hills beyond. I sincerely hope to do take up the discounted offer of your... More 

Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel in March . And booked half board through booking.com. Unfortunately when we arrived one of our party was ill and bed bound. I asked if we could have the evening meal in the room. I was told yes. So when I went to go get the menu things went downhill. Clearly they were not expecting ,e... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Goldie G
John G, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

I am genuinely sorry that we did not meet your expectations, yours was the only full board reservation I have inherited since taking over on 8th September so admittedly it did catch me out a bit but I still feel for what you paid good value was had and my offer of extra teas and coffees for your room since... More 

Marlow, Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

Stayed one night. Room with walk-in shower, quiet, Wi-Fi. Food good standard although menu rather limited. Staff very attentive, friendly, helpful. Excellent breakfast. Parking easy. Beer - draught Hooky. Reasonable wine list.

Helpful?
Thank Dave S
John G, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Dave, glad you liked the place and hope to see you again in the new year. More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

We caught a glimpse of a courtyard as we drove past, so turned the car around and pulled in for lunch. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and the menu offered so much more than traditional pub grub. I ordered a lemon risotto, my partner the seafood spaghetti. Neither of us were disappointed. The portions were generous, and all... More 

Helpful?
Thank cazsmum
John G, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to review us, glad you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again soon. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

Ideal location for exploring the Cotswolds. We went to the theatre in Stratford and we're back in the hotel before 11pm. Also ideal location when visiting the Moreton on Marsh annual agricultural show.

Helpful?
Thank Lynda F
Melissa P, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond. Melissa & Jose are leaving The Halford on 8th September. More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon at last min and so glad we did what a lovely quirky hotel friendly accommodating staff who go out their way to make u feel welcome the food is lovely and great location to explore the beautiful surroundings thank you Mel just hope the new owner makes it as special as you have!

Helpful?
Thank lornienjames
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halford
1.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
3.5 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
8.8 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#17 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,482 reviews
12.6 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
9.9 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay