We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Zebula Lodge

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
20 minutes drive from Bela Bela | Mabula District, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protea Zebula Lodge
Professional photos View all
Protea Zebula Lodge
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
11
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Checking in was Chaotic,if I was not tired I would have gone to another place. The guards are very helpful. Thanks gents. Clean hotel. Dinner was disappointing with limited menu as well. Breakfast was fine,but for a four star, there is a room for improvement. Please take note, golfers could be an irritation, especially during breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
S_Terblanche, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Steve N, Thank you for taking the time to report your constructive criticism and rate Protea Zebula Lodge. We have discussed the issues mentioned with Management and have taken the appropriate action to improve our GUEST experience. At Protea Zebula Lodge we strive to not only meet GUESTS expectations but to exceed and we are sad to hear we... More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We were staying at a place at Zebula, and popped into the Lodge for lunch. The Peroni beers were great, and the rest of the food was good quality too. A nice setting, although the view is over the golf greens and a little un-natural. What was even more un-natural was what we found behind the lodge. Cages for some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
S_Terblanche, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Bit_of_gardening, Thank you for reporting your utmost important concerns. Keeping Lions, as you have pointed out, is a very emotive issue because of publicity around “canned lion” hunting. We do not condone canned lion hunting. The reality is that many lions are bred by people with limited or no official records in private facilities and we believe that it... More 

Springs, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

This hotel is great with the accent on accommodation and house keeping. Even the cocktails are to die for. Just two questions to management. Why did we smell a rotten, or perhaps sewerage often, is it due to the improvements currently done at the lodge reception area? And why were we as quest arriving in the middle of the week... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
S_Terblanche, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear springs1570, Thank you for taking the time to report your comments, highlighting areas that require our attention. We have followed up on your concern with regards to the sewerage smell; this was due to the improvements taking place as a pipe was accidentally damaged. I can assure you this issue has been rectified. We introduced the welcome drinks recently... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Service is relatively friendly but unfortunately incompetent, terrace menu EXTREMELY limiting, tables not set up on arrival, buffet oily and so last year it's embarrasing. The chicken curry on the buffer was better than what it looked like (a saucy broth of some form) but made from the cheapest wholesale catering chicken off-cuts). The carvery was dry and over cooked...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
S_Terblanche, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Cornel H, Thank you for taking the time to report your constructive criticism as it is important for us to receive feedback from our GUESTS. We have discussed the matter with the Food & Beverage Department and we have taken the appropriate action to improve on the issues you mention. At Protea Zebula Lodge we strive to not only... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We stayed at the waterbag lodge over new year. The staff was very friendly I must say,they made the fake 5 star bearable ( with special thanx to Roinie, Nothando, Alfredo, Ul-Rich and Phillip).We had expected to stay in a 5 star facility that we had paid for, it's a pity that a week prior to this one we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
S_Terblanche, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Wavhu, Thank you for taking the time to report your constructive criticism as it is absolutely necessary for us to get feedback from our GUESTS. On behalf of Protea Zebula Lodge, I would like to humbly apologise for your experience. Your comments have been noted and we have reported it to the Waterberg Lodge Management TEAM. At Protea Zebula... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

We stayed as a family (2 adults 2 kids) at Protea Zebula Lodge.The lodge was stunning and easy to get around with small kids.Rooms were also top drawer. The amenities on offer were child friendly and my son loved every one of them.The food was also good.The only thing I noted was that there was not enough waiters to serve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
S_Terblanche, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Vinesh M, Thank you for taking the time to write your kind comments and rate Protea Zebula Lodge. We are grateful to hear you’ve enjoyed your stay with us. Protea Zebula Lodge is truly “A Venue For All”, there’s something to do for the whole family. With regards to the service in the restaurant, we are truly sorry we... More 

Pinetown, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

We stayed on Zebula golf estate in a rented house. We went to hotel for dinner one evening. Despite booking telephonically there was no record but the restaurant was not busy. We elected to sit outside as it was a beautiful evening and music in restaurant was not condusive to relaxing evening. Nobody came to take our drinks order......the menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
S_Terblanche, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Darrol C, Thank you for taking the time to write your comments as it is absolutely necessary for us to get feedback from our GUESTS. We are very sorry to hear that the service in the restaurant wasn’t up to standard. We have noted your comments and reported it to our newly appointed Food and Beverage Management TEAM in... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

The place is so marvelous,It has everything for family outing and for couples.I had a great experience,I will go there again.The rooms are big.the one we had,had a pool table, Braai area, the setting is really great,I recommend it for all types of outing and the food is just WOW.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZiskaHaak, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ashley M, Thank you for taking the time to write such kind comments. We are very happy to hear your stay with us was so enjoyable. Our Luxury Self-Catering Houses was specially designed with families in mind. The rooms are more spacious with a big living area and bar were families could get together and enjoy the peaceful bush... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Trip advisor said 900 people read my two previous reviews So I have to review our next Fabulous Protea Zebula Hotel experience. You have not lived life if you have not been for a holiday to the Zebula Hotel. There is everything for the whole family to do there. Everyone guests staff all had smiles. The kids around us were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZiskaHaak, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Minkey2014, Thank you for taking the time to write your kind comments. We are extatic to hear that you’ve had such a wonderfull time at Protea Zebula Lodge. Protea Zebula Lodge is indeed “A Venue For All”, and we definitely have smething to do for the whole family. A weekend away is sometimes just too sort to experience everything... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Zebula Lodeg last year while still living in South Africa. We stayed in the rented homes on the estate which had full kitchen 3 bathrooms with oversized tub, 4 bedrooms, heated swimming pool and braai area (BBQ). The staff are even sent to cook for you as well as get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZiskaHaak, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sharika D, Thank you for taking the time to write your kind comments and rate Protea Zebula Lodge. We are pleased to hear you’ve enjoyed your stay with us. Our animal Interactions are definitely a favorite amongst our GUESTS and we are happy to hear that you’ve enjoyed it to the fullest. We hope that you will visit us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities