We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Zebula Lodge

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
20 minutes drive from Bela Bela | Mabula District, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protea Zebula Lodge
Professional photos View all
Protea Zebula Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    12
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
12
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Due to my work I am a frequent hotel dweller, but my oh my what a lovely stay we had. The Protea hotel group must be complimented for their customer service in general but goodness the staff at Protea Zebula Lodge was beyond professional, friendly, helpful - awesome! The rooms are excellent in terms of its layout as well as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
274 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This although a protea is a a private rental pool run by Protea hotels. The facilities are great and in general each lodge has tried to out do the next. The bedding at our lodge was great there was a lovely outdoor fire place, the kitchen and rooms were amazing. You book through protea and then the lodge is allocated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
S_Terblanche, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Grennie47, Thank you for rating Protea Zebula Lodge 4/5 and for writing such kind comments. Our private Luxury Self-catering Houses are great for family break-aways or a get-together with friends. We are very pleased to hear you've enjouyed your stay with us. Kind regards The Zebula TEAM More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Our stay from the 22rd to 24 May was exemplary and is the lodge/hotel highly recommended. Staff excelent and quality of food very good. Accomodation spacious and caters for all your needs. Various animals to see inclusive of cheetas and lion cubs. Gholf course is in a very good condition and the greens well looked after. DEFINITELY worth our while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
S_Terblanche, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Johan E, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. I'm sure our staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards The Zebula TEAM More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Checking in was Chaotic,if I was not tired I would have gone to another place. The guards are very helpful. Thanks gents. Clean hotel. Dinner was disappointing with limited menu as well. Breakfast was fine,but for a four star, there is a room for improvement. Please take note, golfers could be an irritation, especially during breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
S_Terblanche, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Steve N, Thank you for taking the time to report your constructive criticism and rate Protea Zebula Lodge. We have discussed the issues mentioned with Management and have taken the appropriate action to improve our GUEST experience. At Protea Zebula Lodge we strive to not only meet GUESTS expectations but to exceed and we are sad to hear we... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We were staying at a place at Zebula, and popped into the Lodge for lunch. The Peroni beers were great, and the rest of the food was good quality too. A nice setting, although the view is over the golf greens and a little un-natural. What was even more un-natural was what we found behind the lodge. Cages for some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
S_Terblanche, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Bit_of_gardening, Thank you for reporting your utmost important concerns. Keeping Lions, as you have pointed out, is a very emotive issue because of publicity around “canned lion” hunting. We do not condone canned lion hunting. The reality is that many lions are bred by people with limited or no official records in private facilities and we believe that it... More 

Springs, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

This hotel is great with the accent on accommodation and house keeping. Even the cocktails are to die for. Just two questions to management. Why did we smell a rotten, or perhaps sewerage often, is it due to the improvements currently done at the lodge reception area? And why were we as quest arriving in the middle of the week... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
S_Terblanche, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear springs1570, Thank you for taking the time to report your comments, highlighting areas that require our attention. We have followed up on your concern with regards to the sewerage smell; this was due to the improvements taking place as a pipe was accidentally damaged. I can assure you this issue has been rectified. We introduced the welcome drinks recently... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Service is relatively friendly but unfortunately incompetent, terrace menu EXTREMELY limiting, tables not set up on arrival, buffet oily and so last year it's embarrasing. The chicken curry on the buffer was better than what it looked like (a saucy broth of some form) but made from the cheapest wholesale catering chicken off-cuts). The carvery was dry and over cooked...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
S_Terblanche, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Cornel H, Thank you for taking the time to report your constructive criticism as it is important for us to receive feedback from our GUESTS. We have discussed the matter with the Food & Beverage Department and we have taken the appropriate action to improve on the issues you mention. At Protea Zebula Lodge we strive to not only... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We stayed at the waterbag lodge over new year. The staff was very friendly I must say,they made the fake 5 star bearable ( with special thanx to Roinie, Nothando, Alfredo, Ul-Rich and Phillip).We had expected to stay in a 5 star facility that we had paid for, it's a pity that a week prior to this one we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
S_Terblanche, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Wavhu, Thank you for taking the time to report your constructive criticism as it is absolutely necessary for us to get feedback from our GUESTS. On behalf of Protea Zebula Lodge, I would like to humbly apologise for your experience. Your comments have been noted and we have reported it to the Waterberg Lodge Management TEAM. At Protea Zebula... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

We stayed as a family (2 adults 2 kids) at Protea Zebula Lodge.The lodge was stunning and easy to get around with small kids.Rooms were also top drawer. The amenities on offer were child friendly and my son loved every one of them.The food was also good.The only thing I noted was that there was not enough waiters to serve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
S_Terblanche, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Vinesh M, Thank you for taking the time to write your kind comments and rate Protea Zebula Lodge. We are grateful to hear you’ve enjoyed your stay with us. Protea Zebula Lodge is truly “A Venue For All”, there’s something to do for the whole family. With regards to the service in the restaurant, we are truly sorry we... More 

Pinetown, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

We stayed on Zebula golf estate in a rented house. We went to hotel for dinner one evening. Despite booking telephonically there was no record but the restaurant was not busy. We elected to sit outside as it was a beautiful evening and music in restaurant was not condusive to relaxing evening. Nobody came to take our drinks order......the menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
S_Terblanche, Public Relations Manager at Protea Zebula Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Darrol C, Thank you for taking the time to write your comments as it is absolutely necessary for us to get feedback from our GUESTS. We are very sorry to hear that the service in the restaurant wasn’t up to standard. We have noted your comments and reported it to our newly appointed Food and Beverage Management TEAM in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay