We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Bela Bela B&Bs / inns

Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas

2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   31 Sutter Road | PO Box 94, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa (Formerly Avuxeni Hotel Elephant Springs)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas to your Saves list
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
21%
Ranked #12 of 13 Bela Bela B&B and Inns
  • Overview
  • Reviews (41)
  • Photos (37)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    8
    10
    15
See reviews for
16
9
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

More than what was ever expected. Big ups to the team at Elephant Springs. Due to the great management and willing to work staff we had the most fantastic experience and will definitely recommend this beautiful little piece of paradise to future guests. From first contact with management we were promised that the team would look after us and this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Chantel What a delightful review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have put an immense amount of effort in to our establishment and our customer service. Our recent renovations have been carefully planned so as to not inconvenience our guests, and despite the maintenance of certain areas taking place during your stay, we are happy... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My family and I stayed over in December and were extremely dissapointed on arrival, which then just got worse the longer we stayed there. It was not at all as what is advertised on the website. The place is filthy, falling apart and in desperate need on renovations (to which the manager admitted). What i can't understand is how they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please contact us at experience@southofafrica.co.za for further assistance with your complaint. Our apologies for your experience and the behaviour of the guests that disrupted your weekend away. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Nightmare stay!! Rooms filthy, furniture broken and/or in serious need of cleaning or replacement. Doors don't lock, fridge wasn't working. Not at all what the website offers. Not at all child friendly. Some inconsiderate bozos took over the entire resort and public area on the second day of our 3 night stay making it extremely unpleasant for everyone else not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for reviewing our property. Our apologies that you did not enjoy your stay at our establishment. We have introduced new house rules. We no longer allow any music being played at our establishment and no music systems are allowed whatsoever. Disruptive behaviour will be dealt with stronger that before. Police assistance will be acquired if guests... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I have visited Bela Bela both on business & leisure & all three times, I have always prefered staying at Elephant Springs..The place is improving slowly, but I must admitt they getting there. I'm always impressed by the excellent service & friendliness of their staff.I feel compelled to mention particularly the excellent service from a chap by the name Langa,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest, many thanks for reviewing our property. We are delighted that our hotel is your destination of preference when visiting Bela Bela. We are making good progress with our renovations and we are thrilled that our guests are seeing the difference. We will pass on your compliments to Langa and to the entire team at Elephant Springs. We look... More

Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Was on a business trip - arrived on 23th November - reception staff are friendly - but when i got to the room - was totally disgusted! The place was filthy- the carpets dirty - the bathroom dirty - there was what looked like fungi growing in the drain of the tub. Furniture old, and sticky- Nothing like what the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest, our sincerest apologies for the experience that you have had at our establishment. We will be contacting you in person in due course. More

Almancil, Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Reception great, rooms ok... When switching on shower/bath, the shower does not have pressure because the bath water keeps running. Coffee and kettle in room but no milk- not even powdered milk... Floors in bathroom have fungas growing- needs proper clean... Half of tv channels snowy. Business men wanting to leave here early- forget it... Unless you want to go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. We are in the progress of upgrading our hotel rooms. We are doing so in stages so as not to inconvenience guests any further with sections closed off and scaffolding disturbing the hallways. The points raised regarding to the water pressure and housekeeping will be attended to and rectified. We do have... More

Vereeniging
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Good location for a business traveller. The food was not bad. The hotel furniture, especially the chairs at the balcony are old and rickety. Poor maintanance of the entire hotel. The carpet in the passage and inside the rooms, especially on the first floor is dirty. The bed was comfortable and the linen was very clean. However, the couch in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Fikile, thank you for your post and for the comments highlighting areas that require our attention. As per previous responses, the upgrading and refurbishing of our establishment is a lengthy process. Due to the size of the hotel and cabanas, the work carried out is done in stages so that we do not inconvenience our guests by blocking off... More

GABORONE
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
50 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Spent a night here attending a Rotary mini-conference. The service was friendly but very slow - the food was good value but the room was a nightmare!! Our first room had an airconditioner on HEAT cycle and would not cool the room at all. After being offered another room where the airconditioning just about managed to cool, the bathroom failed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our apologies that your room was not up to standard. We are attending to the matters with our current upgrading programme of the hotel rooms. More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Good: The room itself was spacious, that's just about the only good thing about. The wifi had a strong signal. I liked that. Breakfast met most of my expectations. Bad: Air conditioning unit was not working. TV had a very poor picture quality. The cleaning staff need to go for training on making a bed. The funny linen is probably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are attending to all points raised. Our apologies for the inconvenience caused through this during your stay. More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Elephant Springs Hotel for two days in October 2013. The door of the room couldnt be locked and I complained to the hotel in the morning. But they didnt fixed it in the evening, I had no option but to sleep without the door being locked (as I came late in the evening). In the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We have a security guard / night watch patrolling the premises at night, and our gates are locked for the protection of our guests. We will investigate a solution for guests who arrive late at night to make contact with our guard directly from the gate for access... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas

Address: 31 Sutter Road | PO Box 94, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa (Formerly Avuxeni Hotel Elephant Springs)
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Bela Bela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
65

See which rooms travelers prefer