We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Bela Bela B&Bs / inns

Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas

2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   31 Sutter Road | PO Box 94, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa (Formerly Avuxeni Hotel Elephant Springs)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas to your Saves list
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
20%
Ranked #14 of 14 Bela Bela B&B and Inns
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    8
    10
    18
See reviews for
17
10
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We wanted to visit the hot springs on our way back to Johannesburg from Marakele. The accommodation at the Aventura Resort at the hot springs was full so we booked at the nearest hotel so we could walk to the hot springs. It was still winter but there was no heating in the room. The plug on the side of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I saw a special on Groupon. Had to preorder, so I called the resort to ask when it was going to be valid and gave the gentleman my dates. he did not know, so would get back to me. He later sent an e-mail saying there will be no more specials it was from last year. But quoted me on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Lisa Bell. We have reviewed all communication between yourself and the hotel. Our attempts to explain that there is currently no deal for our Cabanas on Groupon has been met with unkind and negative replies. The deal that has been advertised on Groupon is only applicable to our Pool Facing Rooms, Hotel Rooms and Family... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I had the displeasure of visiting this terrible establised. My first dissapointment was location, the place is in the middle of town surroundd by taxis and a scarp yard. But that is the least of its problems. It is filthy, I dont think this place could pass a health inspectors check. As we walked in the corridors on the way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you Shirley for your post. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our establishment and that your expectations were not met. Our self-catering units are equipped with the prescribed kitchenware. We will investigate your feedback regarding housekeeping. Our location is incorrectly listed in your review and we feel is also discriminating in tone when referring to the taxis,... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

More than what was ever expected. Big ups to the team at Elephant Springs. Due to the great management and willing to work staff we had the most fantastic experience and will definitely recommend this beautiful little piece of paradise to future guests. From first contact with management we were promised that the team would look after us and this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Chantel What a delightful review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have put an immense amount of effort in to our establishment and our customer service. Our recent renovations have been carefully planned so as to not inconvenience our guests, and despite the maintenance of certain areas taking place during your stay, we are happy... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My family and I stayed over in December and were extremely dissapointed on arrival, which then just got worse the longer we stayed there. It was not at all as what is advertised on the website. The place is filthy, falling apart and in desperate need on renovations (to which the manager admitted). What i can't understand is how they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please contact us at experience@southofafrica.co.za for further assistance with your complaint. Our apologies for your experience and the behaviour of the guests that disrupted your weekend away. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Nightmare stay!! Rooms filthy, furniture broken and/or in serious need of cleaning or replacement. Doors don't lock, fridge wasn't working. Not at all what the website offers. Not at all child friendly. Some inconsiderate bozos took over the entire resort and public area on the second day of our 3 night stay making it extremely unpleasant for everyone else not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for reviewing our property. Our apologies that you did not enjoy your stay at our establishment. We have introduced new house rules. We no longer allow any music being played at our establishment and no music systems are allowed whatsoever. Disruptive behaviour will be dealt with stronger that before. Police assistance will be acquired if guests... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I have visited Bela Bela both on business & leisure & all three times, I have always prefered staying at Elephant Springs..The place is improving slowly, but I must admitt they getting there. I'm always impressed by the excellent service & friendliness of their staff.I feel compelled to mention particularly the excellent service from a chap by the name Langa,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest, many thanks for reviewing our property. We are delighted that our hotel is your destination of preference when visiting Bela Bela. We are making good progress with our renovations and we are thrilled that our guests are seeing the difference. We will pass on your compliments to Langa and to the entire team at Elephant Springs. We look... More

Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Was on a business trip - arrived on 23th November - reception staff are friendly - but when i got to the room - was totally disgusted! The place was filthy- the carpets dirty - the bathroom dirty - there was what looked like fungi growing in the drain of the tub. Furniture old, and sticky- Nothing like what the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest, our sincerest apologies for the experience that you have had at our establishment. We will be contacting you in person in due course. More

Almancil, Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Reception great, rooms ok... When switching on shower/bath, the shower does not have pressure because the bath water keeps running. Coffee and kettle in room but no milk- not even powdered milk... Floors in bathroom have fungas growing- needs proper clean... Half of tv channels snowy. Business men wanting to leave here early- forget it... Unless you want to go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. We are in the progress of upgrading our hotel rooms. We are doing so in stages so as not to inconvenience guests any further with sections closed off and scaffolding disturbing the hallways. The points raised regarding to the water pressure and housekeeping will be attended to and rectified. We do have... More

Vereeniging
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Good location for a business traveller. The food was not bad. The hotel furniture, especially the chairs at the balcony are old and rickety. Poor maintanance of the entire hotel. The carpet in the passage and inside the rooms, especially on the first floor is dirty. The bed was comfortable and the linen was very clean. However, the couch in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Fikile, thank you for your post and for the comments highlighting areas that require our attention. As per previous responses, the upgrading and refurbishing of our establishment is a lengthy process. Due to the size of the hotel and cabanas, the work carried out is done in stages so that we do not inconvenience our guests by blocking off... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas

Address: 31 Sutter Road | PO Box 94, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa (Formerly Avuxeni Hotel Elephant Springs)
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Bela Bela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bela Bela with
any amenities