We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel

3.0 of 5 2395 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    5
    4
    11
See reviews for
12
11
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Whian Whian, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location - one block behind Mermaid Beach (near flags for safe swimming). Lovely salt water pool, and great cafe next door. I am writing this using the free wi-fi (we leave this morning). Unpretentious and relaxing. 30 min walk to Broadbeach, (about 40 min? to Surfers Paradise) past 2 fantastic free parks for kids on the beach front -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

thanks for your review. Our 2 bedroom units are ideal for families as they have room to move for maximum 6 persons. Close to the beach is ideal and our building is old but loved. Not everything is new about the property but we take pride in helping our guests have a great stay. The coffee shop offers great food... More

Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a 31/2 star rating motel in a handy location near the Mermaid beach.It also has a pool & the best thing is,24 hour check-in!The price when I was staying there was very affordable & even when it's a busy season,they do handy weekly rates,not just nightly rates.The room's got a comfortable bed & a microwave,the grill outside's greet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

thank you for your nice comments. Our job is to ensure every one has a comfortable stay. We are always encouraging guests if you have a problem please let us know and if we can help we will . If it is out of our realm of doing we can try to find someone who can help. We understand accidents... More

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am not fussy and don't have a problem with 3 star accommodation but this place is something that needs to be seen to be believed. $142 for one nights accommodation is very overpriced. The beds were clean and comfy but that's where it ends. The blanket I got out of the cupboard to put on the king size bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

Very sorry you had difficulty with this room. It is generally used for one night stays hence there is no sink. We are happy to clean up the dishes from this room due to there being no sink. It is used as last minute bookings come in. Blankets are washed regularly and changed. The bathroom is under repair but due... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed here as part of last minute plans while doing some business on the Gold Coast. Honestly I don't usually stay at many motels so was a little surprised at first. It's a little tired and run down, and we noticed the aircon dripping into the bathroom later in our stay (we have since reported this to management).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

We thank you for your review, we do take pleasure in maintaining our older but loved building. Its a pleasure to greet and help our guests enjoy their stay always. The coffee and juice bar is an added bonus for those who enjoy a quick on the go or a sit and enjoy the surroundings of the area. We look... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an older style place & could hear some road noise, which can't be helped as you are on the Gold Coast Hwy.... It was very clean & tidy. Beds & pillows were awesome.. Everything you needed in the rooms & the pool area is lovely. Great, friendly service. Really enjoyed it. Thank you to the owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We do love to help our guests enjoy their stay. Older but loved building with staff that want to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Look forward to seeing you return. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014 via mobile

We booked pictures werent what you get the place smells like nicotine,run down couldn't stay there as my son has asthma and they wouldn't refund our money(walked in room then walked out)unhelpful disgusting place save yourself dont ever go there

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

All rooms are non smoking however we have no control over the lingering odour around the outdoor area from smokers. All rooms are cleaned and freshened with an odour eliminating product to assist with lingering food odours etc. Unfortunately for some guests with extreme medical issues we recommend that they choose a complete non smoking facility if they feel it... More

Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Me and my partner booked this motel via Booking.com and first what I have to mention is that rooms looked totally different than on the pictures on the website. Unfortunately in worse way. The positive was comfy king size bed and friendly receptionist. On the other hand bathroom, and slow internet onnection which was available only per 1 device per... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

All photos are taken with ordinary normal SLR camera and in no way doctored for presentation, Unfortunately some guest expectations are not met due to higher expectation than the budget style property. We are doing on going maintenance at all times and at times when things are damaged we cannot always get things done prior to arrival dates when it... More

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

We were prepared to spend a lot more but a local resident recommended this one as "clean and renovated". On reflection, I think he was probably out on a day pass. We have stayed in budget hotels in poor parts of Mexico but this is the worst we have seen. The carpet could be supporting its own eco system. How... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

This motel is on the older side but all rooms are cleaned and supplied with fresh linen on all departures. There are some rooms that are under going repairs and it is difficult to allow trades-persons to work when the demand is so high for budget accommodation. While the rooms are undergoing repairs there is some things that may not... More

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This place needs to be condemned. The pictures of the rooms were nothing like the one we stayed in, if we were not so tired when we got to the room, we would have got back in our car and left, wish we did as the night got worse. The road noise was terrible, did not appear to be any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

Firstly this motel is not 4 star as mentioned. It is a 3 star certified budget style property and undergoing bathroom repairs, there are signs posted in the rooms stating this. We cannot complete all rooms at once and at no time did this guest comment to staff that there was any issues, if they had it then they would... More

Big Omaha, null, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I believe I'm not fussy and usually 3 star is enough for me but this place is appalling . We needed a cheap single night accommodation and at $135 we totally overpaid for what it is. I felt uneasy having my children stay there. Motel backs onto dodgy dirty flats. The picture they show online is actually the only clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry you felt that the property was not to your satisfaction, however it is a budget accommodation and if you found anything that was broken, dirty it should have been brought to the attention immediately to the manager. As with all rooms if we are in the process of doing major maintenance such as wall repairs/tiles or anything... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel

Address: 2395 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel Gold Coast, Australia

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay