We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Methven accommodations

Brinkley Resort

4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   43 Barkers Rd | Canterbury, Methven, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Brinkley Resort to your Saves list
Brinkley Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
KM1000 Brisbane
  • Overview
  • Reviews (114)
  • Photos (24)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (30)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here as a family for 6 nights during winter. Nice walk into town for dinner. Kids loved the sheep and horses next door. Room was small but adequate. Very handy having a laundry. Internet access was expensive and slow to log on, also only having one access at a time was difficult. Had to purchase toilet paper from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The 1st time for us to travel to New Zealand ...it is an amazing country. Beautiful views everywhere.This hotel put the icing on the cake.Warm apartments with beautiful views.nothing was to much from all the staff.We enjoyed the skiing at Mt Hutt and the views from the top of the mountain were stunning.Nice hot spa pools and comfy beds with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BrinkleyManagement, General Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments . Glad you enjoyed our part of the world and also your stay at Brinkley . Hope to see you next year . More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very well appointed apartments that are right in front of Mt Hutt. Great for families and the rooms were nice and modern with everything you need for a family group.We particularly liked the drying room and laundry which was very handy as was the ski tuning room.Staff were lovely and we enjoyed their restaurant as well.Kids really enjoyed the spa... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Noosa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked a two bedroom unit for 4 nights during ski season through Agoda. The unit we had faced the mountains and gave us a great view towards Mt Hutt etc. The unit itself was quiet small but functional. The first disappointment was the cost of wifi and the fact that only one user could log on at any one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We booked late and were charged $420 a night for a 3 bed apartment. Its comfortable but not flash by any means. The beds were very uncomfortable, too hard, and pillows poor quality. All fixtures and fittings are old and tired. The staff were very nice and welcoming but its a very expensive option for what it offers. The restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrinkleyManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review

Thanks Kate for your feedback. As a suggestion its always good to let suppliers know if there is a problem with your room when you check-in. Our policy like most accommodation suppliers is to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Would you please let me know what room number you stayed in as all our pillows and most of... More

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very comfortable family apartment resort which I would happily refer anyone to and will certainly return ourselves. We were in a group of 3 families with 8 children between us so a bit of a tribe. Rooms are spotless and very warm. The staff in reception and also in the restaurant are wonderful. Very helpful with ideas to do on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are ok and newly painted. Location in methven is great 5 mins walk from town. It's not cheap. After booking 3 months ago and asking for two adjoining apartments we get there and they changed the booking. No apology just excuses. The bed was also rather hard

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrinkleyManagement, Public Relations Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam. When posting a review on Trip Advisor it is important that you supply factual information.Trip Advisor relies on the integrity of the content they receive as do subscribers. Contrary to the content of the material you supplied you were booked in room 12 B and your other party was booked in 13B.You were advised at check-in that as... More

Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Methven was a town my sister and I have never heard of, in the five years living in the south Island. Dunedin to be exact. Due to a conference that was held there. We had the opportunity to visit the place. It is such a small town with the biggest personality I would say. The people are amazing, and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BrinkleyManagement, Public Relations Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words and I will make sure our staff receive a copy of it. More

Auckland, New Zealand
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This place was perfect for me as I have been travelling for work for 2 weeks in Australia and NZ. No noise although I suspect winter would be more interdsting as its right under the mountain.Really friendly staff who were lovely and gave me an upgrade to a mountainview room at a good rate.Wish I could have stayed longer as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very well appointed apartment resort near Christchurch. Our room was well equipped and freshly painted with excellent views of the mountains. The resort is close to Christchurch but still has a lovely country feel. Rooms have everything you need and service was excellent . Would suggest for families travelling like ourselves. Lovely grounds and also plenty of things around the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Brinkley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Brinkley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brinkley Resort

Address: 43 Barkers Rd | Canterbury, Methven, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brinkley Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Brinkley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (20)
View from room (3)
Hotel & grounds (2)
Room/suite (6)
Bathroom (1)
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (5)
Room/suite (2)
Dining (1)
Hotel & grounds (1)
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
hotels in Methven with
any amenities


Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Brinkley Resort Mt Hutt is a High Country self contained accommodation resort and conference centre situated in the Alpine heartland village of Methven at the foothills of majestic Mt Hutt. We are a two minute walk to the centre of town and a conveniently positioned transport stop for all mountain bound tour operators. We feature a total of 80 self contained apartments comprised of 40 studios and 40 quality two bedroom apartments. We have full laundry facilities shared between each apartment and studio room with the two bedroom apartments all containing spa baths, ideal for relaxing after a day on the mountain. ... more   less 
Number of rooms

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brinkley Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer