We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Forest Lodge

140 Forest Drive, Methven, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Forest Lodge
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #17 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Methven
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014
EddieC566 Christchurch, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    7
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

The location of the hotel is only a few moments walk to the centre of Methven which means it is in a quiet location just on the outskirts of town. Ample parking for just about any type of vehicle is a real bonus. Having checked in, I was surprised to learn that there were no bar and no restaurant facilities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel was wonderfully clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful, even when each day we would come down 10 minutes before breakfast finished. The only bad thing was the showers took about 10 minutes to warm up. I suggest turning it on the reading a book for a while.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had just arrived and my 10 year old had the start of a bad ear infection from the flight....the owner, Ann , made an appointment at a wonderful doctor and within a couple of days we were back to non stop fun!! We really enjoyed our stay at the lodge and the food is by far the best in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We based ourselves here for 6 nights (hubby played golf in an Ashburton tournament). Although the room was small it was very clean and serviced every day. The bathroom was spotless and quite roomy. Tea & coffee making facilities, along with ironing equipment and a hair dryer were also supplied. Walking distance to town and fabulous breakfast/coffee at Primo Cafe.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived and were welcomed by the owner Ian. After a short conversation he had our accommodation sorted and it was exactly what we were looking for.Great hosts and a very friendly feel about the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Invercargill
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked a night at Forest Lodge on Booking.com. It looked to have everything we required. However the room did not come up with what was under "room details". We mistakenly thought that we would get Sky TV and did not ask about it when booking. However when we got there we found that it did not, even though it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wanganui
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Dreadful experience. Saw a staff member once. No information. Poky room, not even a knife and plate.NOT DELUXE. Too lazy to open the office. Recommended a restaurant that was closed the three days we stayed there. You should not advertise open for business because you were not. Very eexpensive, a rip off.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne M, Manager at Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Pumpfi, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our lodge. We have taken your comments on board and appreciate your criticisms. I would like to point out that most country lodges are not the same as hotels and we do not employ full time receptionist staff. It is certainly not a case of laziness... More 

Travelers are raving about these Methven hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

3 of us stayed there on a boys week end (left the WAGs at home)- each had a basic room upstairs with shared facilities (13/09 to 16/09) At equivalent AUD$40 a night, Forest lodge is value for money- only comment is that breakfast could do with some ham/ cheese/ bacon- but at AUD$5....... The Beer was fantastic and evening meals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Have just come home from a great time at the Forest lodge ,Great resturant ,Stayed 3 nights here in a luxury room very nice but small ,No phone in room which we found a problem as we did not have a mobile ,we could not find a public phone anywhere on the property /,all in all great weather whilst there,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les Diablerets, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have been staying already 4-5 times at the Forest Lodge. The new rooms are very nice and the atmosphere of the place is great. Good beer, nice bar and excellent food at the restaurant. Really recommend this place. Good for families or for friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Methven hotels
0.7 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#2 of 21 in Methven
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Abisko Lodge and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Skibo house B&B
Skibo house B&B
#1 of 12 in Methven
5.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#3 of 21 in Methven
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#1 of 21 in Methven
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay