We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Methven accommodations

Forest Lodge

3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   140 Forest Drive, Methven, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Forest Lodge to your Saves list
Forest Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
57%
Ranked #15 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Methven
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
MikaB505 Adelaide, Australia
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was wonderfully clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful, even when each day we would come down 10 minutes before breakfast finished. The only bad thing was the showers took about 10 minutes to warm up. I suggest turning it on the reading a book for a while.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had just arrived and my 10 year old had the start of a bad ear infection from the flight....the owner, Ann , made an appointment at a wonderful doctor and within a couple of days we were back to non stop fun!! We really enjoyed our stay at the lodge and the food is by far the best in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We based ourselves here for 6 nights (hubby played golf in an Ashburton tournament). Although the room was small it was very clean and serviced every day. The bathroom was spotless and quite roomy. Tea & coffee making facilities, along with ironing equipment and a hair dryer were also supplied. Walking distance to town and fabulous breakfast/coffee at Primo Cafe.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived and were welcomed by the owner Ian. After a short conversation he had our accommodation sorted and it was exactly what we were looking for.Great hosts and a very friendly feel about the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Invercargill
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked a night at Forest Lodge on Booking.com. It looked to have everything we required. However the room did not come up with what was under "room details". We mistakenly thought that we would get Sky TV and did not ask about it when booking. However when we got there we found that it did not, even though it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wanganui
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Dreadful experience. Saw a staff member once. No information. Poky room, not even a knife and plate.NOT DELUXE. Too lazy to open the office. Recommended a restaurant that was closed the three days we stayed there. You should not advertise open for business because you were not. Very eexpensive, a rip off.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne M, Manager at Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Pumpfi, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our lodge. We have taken your comments on board and appreciate your criticisms. I would like to point out that most country lodges are not the same as hotels and we do not employ full time receptionist staff. It is certainly not a case of laziness... More

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

3 of us stayed there on a boys week end (left the WAGs at home)- each had a basic room upstairs with shared facilities (13/09 to 16/09) At equivalent AUD$40 a night, Forest lodge is value for money- only comment is that breakfast could do with some ham/ cheese/ bacon- but at AUD$5....... The Beer was fantastic and evening meals... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AUSTRALIA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Have just come home from a great time at the Forest lodge ,Great resturant ,Stayed 3 nights here in a luxury room very nice but small ,No phone in room which we found a problem as we did not have a mobile ,we could not find a public phone anywhere on the property /,all in all great weather whilst there,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les Diablerets, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have been staying already 4-5 times at the Forest Lodge. The new rooms are very nice and the atmosphere of the place is great. Good beer, nice bar and excellent food at the restaurant. Really recommend this place. Good for families or for friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I had a problem with theft on the property and felt the owners didn't do enough to help or compensate. It was bad luck but it set me up for a lousy experience and I didn't get much sympathy. Also hard to sleep due to noise of travellers arriving in the wee hours. Beds were comfy and rooms Ok but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge

Address: 140 Forest Drive, Methven, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Methven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forest Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.