We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beluga Lodge

40 Allen Street | Mt Hutt, Methven, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beluga Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Beluga Lodge
Review This Hotel

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent our last two nights in New Zealand at the Beluga Lodge - what a lovely ending to our trip! Four of us had the four bedroom, two bath house for a great price. We were able to cook our meals in the spacious kitchen and enjoy two relaxing evenings sitting around the comfortable dining table reminiscing about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here on our first night in NZ after flying in from the UK and it was very pleasant. Our host was very welcoming and, as we were the only guests, we had the kitchen and sitting room to ourselves which was useful when waking up at 4.30am! Good breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rugby
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spending a month in New Zealand we stayed in some lovely accomodation. Our last night was here. We left the best till last. The garden room ,hot tub,breakfast,location was excellent but it was made truly memorable by the professionalism,humour and attention to detail of our hosts. At this time of year this is great value too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Methven is the town closest to the Mt Hutt ski field so has a number of places to stay. We booked Belugafor a summer visit because of good reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. It is a very nice little oasis around a central garden. The hosts/owners are as nice as can be. The hot tub in the garden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Cottage was ok but not luxurious! You cannot access facilities such as spa! That seems a little strange as you are expected to judge the facility as a whole. That was disappointing. Seems that you access the gardens but not actuall enjoy all of the facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BelugaLuxuryLodge, Owner at Beluga Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Woodienz, Thank you for your comments and we are so sorry if you did not enjoy your stay with us. Minke Cottage, where you stayed, is our self-contained holiday cottage, it is NOT our Luxury Lodge – so we do not advertise it as being ‘luxurious’. To clarify, Minke Cottage is our cheaper option for families or groups of... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hosts, great property. We made our evening meal in the garden suite and ate it sat in the garden on our private deck. Smoked salmon and cream cheese bagel for breakie after fruit and cereal was a nice change on a long trip in B&B's. Good speed of unlimited Internet connection too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in the garden suite and it was perfect. We had a fantastic sleep even though the frogs in the garden did their best to try and keep us awake. Everything possible has been done to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. There is a true inviting lodge atmoshpere to the guest sitting room and breakfast was just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Methven is very quite in summer especially mid week when we were staying. We therefore had the the large lounge/dining area to ourselves. There is a kitchen were you can help yourself to a range of teas/coffees, fruits and cookies and a honesty fridge well stocked with beer, wine and soft drinks. There is a understated attention to detail in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We only spent one night at Beluga lodge...unfortunately-we were just stopping through. Hosts so friendly and welcoming, great breakfast to send us on our way, all the necessities...LOVED the heated towel holder in the bathroom!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in Minke Cottage as a group of 7 adults exploring the golf courses in the region. The cottage was perfect, with comfortable bedrooms, fully self-catering and a large table easily accommodating 7 diners and, later, the evening card games. There are quite a few golf courses within easy range.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question