We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Methven B&Bs / inns

Beluga Lodge

4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   40 Allen Street | Mt Hutt, Methven, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Beluga Lodge to your Saves list
Beluga Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
97%
Ranked #4 of 12 Methven B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013
BetHoffman Boise, Idaho
  • Overview
  • Reviews (46)
  • Photos (18)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent our last two nights in New Zealand at the Beluga Lodge - what a lovely ending to our trip! Four of us had the four bedroom, two bath house for a great price. We were able to cook our meals in the spacious kitchen and enjoy two relaxing evenings sitting around the comfortable dining table reminiscing about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here on our first night in NZ after flying in from the UK and it was very pleasant. Our host was very welcoming and, as we were the only guests, we had the kitchen and sitting room to ourselves which was useful when waking up at 4.30am! Good breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rugby
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spending a month in New Zealand we stayed in some lovely accomodation. Our last night was here. We left the best till last. The garden room ,hot tub,breakfast,location was excellent but it was made truly memorable by the professionalism,humour and attention to detail of our hosts. At this time of year this is great value too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Methven is the town closest to the Mt Hutt ski field so has a number of places to stay. We booked Belugafor a summer visit because of good reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. It is a very nice little oasis around a central garden. The hosts/owners are as nice as can be. The hot tub in the garden... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Cottage was ok but not luxurious! You cannot access facilities such as spa! That seems a little strange as you are expected to judge the facility as a whole. That was disappointing. Seems that you access the gardens but not actuall enjoy all of the facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BelugaLuxuryLodge, Owner at Beluga Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Woodienz, Thank you for your comments and we are so sorry if you did not enjoy your stay with us. Minke Cottage, where you stayed, is our self-contained holiday cottage, it is NOT our Luxury Lodge – so we do not advertise it as being ‘luxurious’. To clarify, Minke Cottage is our cheaper option for families or groups of... More

Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hosts, great property. We made our evening meal in the garden suite and ate it sat in the garden on our private deck. Smoked salmon and cream cheese bagel for breakie after fruit and cereal was a nice change on a long trip in B&B's. Good speed of unlimited Internet connection too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in the garden suite and it was perfect. We had a fantastic sleep even though the frogs in the garden did their best to try and keep us awake. Everything possible has been done to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. There is a true inviting lodge atmoshpere to the guest sitting room and breakfast was just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Methven is very quite in summer especially mid week when we were staying. We therefore had the the large lounge/dining area to ourselves. There is a kitchen were you can help yourself to a range of teas/coffees, fruits and cookies and a honesty fridge well stocked with beer, wine and soft drinks. There is a understated attention to detail in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We only spent one night at Beluga lodge...unfortunately-we were just stopping through. Hosts so friendly and welcoming, great breakfast to send us on our way, all the necessities...LOVED the heated towel holder in the bathroom!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in Minke Cottage as a group of 7 adults exploring the golf courses in the region. The cottage was perfect, with comfortable bedrooms, fully self-catering and a large table easily accommodating 7 diners and, later, the evening card games. There are quite a few golf courses within easy range.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Beluga Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Beluga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beluga Lodge

Address: 40 Allen Street | Mt Hutt, Methven, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beluga Lodge 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Beluga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Methven with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beluga Luxury Lodge is a beautifully restored kiwi villa set in an acre of tranquil private gardens. This 4+ Qualmark rated property is in a great location, just five minutes walk from the shops, cafes and restaurants in the heart of Methven and 40 minutes drive to Mt Hutt skifield. Beluga offers you the choice of stylish Lodge Rooms, the secluded luxury of the Garden Suite, or independence in the delightfully restored Minke Cottage. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beluga Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer