We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aorangi Motel

Certificate of Excellence
26 Denmark Street, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Aorangi Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Got the 2 bedrooms unit, good room, got the extra bed for the 5th person. The only downside the TV recruiting was out pretty bad. But that's nothing to do with the motel. I assume it was more of the location of Fairlie.

Helpful?
Thank Kathy_Houtami
Adelaide
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four of us stayed in this accomodation, was very nice and clean, had all the amenities you want. Spacious room plenty of seating, also four seat table , has free wi-fi. Had dinner down the rod a five minute drive at kimbal The silver stream hotel

Helpful?
Thank vtipping
queensland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a 2 bedroom unit which was perfect for our family. Unit was spacious and comfortable, nicely furnished and well equipped; beds were extremely comfortable. Great place to stay overnight after a long drive from Akaroa. Loved the single rose in vase on the coffee table.

Helpful?
Thank youngatheart80
Malaysia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Had wanted to break journey on our Queenstown Christchurch drive at LakeTekapo but the few lodgings available mostly at inflated prices forced us to look further. No regrets as this motel (like many others we stayed in south NZ) located about 40 minutes pass lake Tekapo was spacious, clean and had good kitchen facilities. Most welcoming and friendly staff. Wifi... More 

Helpful?
Thank humanH1N1
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

At first impressions this is a funny little motel. However, inside it is extremely well decorated, modern, spacious and comfortable. I wished we could have stayed longer! Our 3 guests stayed in the two-bedroom unit, which was like a small home. They both had lovely touches like a fresh flower in a vase, or even a posy in the bigger... More 

Helpful?
Thank Virginie S
IN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

This place was a massive disappointment. It was a 90 degree day. The rooms had no air conditioning or fans. We had to leave windows open at night. Then bugs flew in. The wifi was terrible. It constantly kicked off. The bed was uncomfortable and had awful flat pillows. The worst part was that there was no hot water. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank OpinionExpert
JustinGeary, Owner at Aorangi Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Aorangi Motel but some of your comments are unfounded and not factual. We do not have air conditioning and hence never advertise this. The hot water issue you claim was outside of our control as a network fault had occurred (identified post your departure) and was fixed by a... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

Comfortable beds, great towels. It can be difficult getting a room for three, these guys do it well, a queen and two singles. There is a two element hot plate and a microwave if you would like to cook for yourself, and a four square within walking distance for supplies.

Helpful?
Thank Kymberley B
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

Great motel for overnight stay on long drive from Christchurch to Mount Cook. Clean, spacious, comfortable motel room. Very reasonable priced and friendly, welcoming owner. Gave us a great recommendation for food - The Red Stag for our evening meal and the Fairlie bakery for supplies for our onward journey. Would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank jeanandjohn2015
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2015

Quiet stopover on a long journey. Units spacious and clean and although evidence of the age of the building, updates have been done as well as possible. Found vacancy on agency apparent ' last unit' and tried contacting motel directly. After leaving message and waiting for call back, which never came, finally booked on agents site in case no vacancy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shakennotstiirred
Worldwide
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile

A very friendly welcome from our host and we were shown our immaculately clean unit which was well equipped, especially the kitchen. Fairlie is a great base for exploring the local lakes and mountains, we would rather stay here than at Lake Tekapo which is overpriced and can get over-run by tour buses and large groups.

Helpful?
Thank Theshawsontour
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlie
0.1 mi away
Pinewood Motels
Pinewood Motels
#2 of 4 in Fairlie
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
18.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mt Dobson Motel
Mt Dobson Motel
#3 of 4 in Fairlie
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.7 mi away
Musterer's High Country Accomodation
18.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay