We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Rhayader hotels

Brynafon Country House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Street, Rhayader LD6 5BL, Wales
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Brynafon Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Brynafon Country House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
60%
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Rhayader
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Graeme C Birmingham
  • Overview
  • Reviews (192)
  • Photos (40)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (58)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    61
    46
    25
    7
See reviews for
19
117
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This seems to be a hotel that generates very different reviews. In my view that is because it is a work in progress. Give the owners a million pounds and a few months later you would have a colour supplement boutique hotel. In the absence of ready cash it will take time. It is not a Holiday Inn. It is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My partner and I chose Brynafon Country Hotel when we received a gift experience voucher for Christmas. The website was what initially attracted us to the hotel and we saw the Studio room shown as a cover photo (the one with the roll top bath). We requested this room when booking and we were lucky enough to book our one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We drove past as we didn't see the sign , it could do with repainting & maybe a large planter of plants to make it more inviting . Hotel nice & clean & staff very pleasant. When we checked in the reception is very strange just like a box not very welcoming needs brightening up , we were not asked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Another delightful stay at the Brynafon. Well located for touring in Mid Wales. An old victorian building with character & history . Rooms good but not luxury. Staff friendly & helpful. Had evening meal which was enjoyable from a varied menu. Breakfasts freshly quoted & very good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in a fantastic setting, just below the Red Kite feeding centre at the foot of the mountains. The hotel could do with a bit of TLC and could do more to realise it's full potential e.g. make the immediate surroundings more comfortable with soft seating particularly when in the long summer evenings when it's hot and sunny... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel plenty parking space. Lovely big building. Very old decor but it's adds to the hotel features. Lovely spacious clean rooms and great comfy bed, we stayed in the rookery room which was fab. Can't fault anything staff friendly yes bit tatty round edges but adds to the rustic charm. But worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I had planned a short break at Brynafon, spending a couple of nights there. The generous parking area was a bonus. We found the place quiet and restful, which was just what we wanted. We were surprised to have been given the family room, which was spacious and comfortable, and it was useful to see the bunk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Armagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here with my husbands work on Friday & Saturday night mid-june as it was a base to walk Elan valley which we done on the Saturday. The room we got was very spacious, more like an apartment, it was clean but definitely in need of modernisation. The staff were very friendly & couldn't do enough for you. Food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Flintshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel when visiting Gigrin farm, Quite expensive hotel but very close to the farm. The smell of damp hits you as you walk in ,staff very pleasant, room very dusty ,thick dust on top of wardrobes , very dirty under the bed,bedroom window rotting and when I opened it a few wood lice tried to come in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is pretty run down. The accommodation was very dirty, the electrics are hazardous. It seems to be a natural habitat for mold. The website is not representative of the truth. Frankly, although the staff are trying hard to please their guests, the place is horrible. It is very pricey!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Gerry W, Owner at Brynafon Country House Hotel, responded to this review

We don't accept the rating given on this review. We do accept that the entrance to the Rowan rooms needs attention, we do accept that Rowan1 needs work to bring it up to Deluxe standard. We don't accept it's terrible, or there is any long term issue with mold. The heavy rain at the start of the year combined with... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Brynafon Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Brynafon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynafon Country House Hotel

Address: South Street, Rhayader LD6 5BL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brynafon Country House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Brynafon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynafon Country Hotel
Brynafon Country House Hotel Rhayader, Wales, UK

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Amenities

Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
18

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer