We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Rhayader hotels

Brynafon Country House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Street, Rhayader LD6 5BL, Wales
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Brynafon Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Brynafon Country House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
59%
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Rhayader
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
liza861 Birmingham, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (204)
  • Photos (40)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (62)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    63
    50
    28
    7
See reviews for
19
127
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

we visited the Gigrin Farm Red Kite Centre which is only 200 yds from this lovely hotel. we arrived at 4pm on a Monday afternoon and wanted afternoon tea. The lady was fantastic in the restaurant and although not booked for their formal high tea they were able to give us beautifully presented and wonderfully tasting sandwiches of our choice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great position to explore the area. Good food and beer. Very friendly staff. Shower looked grubby . Kettle lid covered in dust. Hotel tired in places. (Otherwise would rate it as very good). Room spacious, very comfortable and linen was spotless. No problem staying again and we shall. Good value for the money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was a pleasant stay but overall it needs some tlc. Our main concern was the slow service for dinner. One and half hours was too long! The reception area is in desperate need to be cleaned and made welcoming!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camberley UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in the belfry room on the top floor which was clean & newly decorated but quite small it had all that you needed tea, coffee and biscuits. The room was warm the window was open & we left it open at night to keep the temperature down which worked but you suffered the road noise. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gerry W, Owner at Brynafon Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay, the discounted voucher deals work well for us as it brings people to the area that would not normally visit Mid Wales and its all true; the scenery, walks and rivers are stunning and the Red Kites centre just at the top of the hill is a must for all visitors. Mid Wales is a... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We Have just returned from a fabulous 3 day break at this gorgeous hotel, we stayed in gables 3 which was huge, spotless clean and views to die for,we had a really large bathroom with both a bath and a shower and the toiletries and towels were refreshed every day. The staff (especially Elaine) couldn't do enough for us and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Gerry W, Owner at Brynafon Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and in particular the comments about our staff. Its great for everyone of the team to know that they are doing a good job and they are appreciated. It is like a family and everyone gets annoyed with bad reviews, even if they are fair, its just human nature, but super reviews we... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is a little piece of history an old workhouse and as so is still a work in progress .we had the den which is lovely clean and spacious and this hotel takes a dog in certain rooms my little yorkie loves it . we had breakfast and our evening meals here as it was convenient the meals were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gerry W, Owner at Brynafon Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, including your Yorkie!. We decided some time ago that the fact people brought pets should not mean staying in a poor quality rooms so we renovated three rooms which are dog friendly, they are the Den, Rowan2 and the Hafod. We hope to see you again... More

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights for the second time in this hotel. This time is top floor with four post bed. Lovely room but the bathroom definitely needs upgrading as the sink and bath are both coming away from the wall. However, it is in a brilliant location to Elan Valley and breakfast was delicious. Staff are very nice and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Gerry W, Owner at Brynafon Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments about our team, I am always onsite but often in the kitchen cooking and on these long shifts I hear about all our guests and we always try our best to please. I believe the room you stayed in does need a revamp and we are just considering how we might tackle the problem.... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the hotel on 25/7/14 - probably the hottest day of the year. when we arrived we were taken to a lovely room on the top floor and it was boiling - unfortunately, one of the windows did not open and as it was in the eaves it was sweltering. The man who had taken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel appears to be a work in progress. There are some beautiful aspects to it but also some awful ones! The building is lovely, with plenty of space, patios and slate floors. However, the bar area was scruffy and very poorly stocked and the dining room was dated (twee and olde worlde). Our room (Gables 3), was spacious with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I make no apology for another review for this hotel. We have just returned from a second visit to Brynafron. Yes the hotel does need work doing, it is a little tired but it is very old. However it is clean, comfortable and value for money, especially if you can get a deal (we used KGB deals) It is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Brynafon Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Brynafon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynafon Country House Hotel

Address: South Street, Rhayader LD6 5BL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brynafon Country House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Brynafon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynafon Country Hotel
Brynafon Country House Hotel Rhayader, Wales, UK

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Rhayader with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
18

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brynafon Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer