We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brynafon Country House

South Street, Rhayader LD6 5BL, Wales
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Brynafon Country House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Great value for money (£60) excellent service. They had thought of everything, we had a bag each full of breakfast (oats, croissants, cereal bar & orange juice) room was very clean! Gorgeous surroundings, great food just 2 minutes away. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank danielle J
Cheshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015

A building full history having been a work house. We stayed in the loft house room above the old stable.Fantastic amount of space and very clean. Great food and very friendly. Huge car park and well off the road.

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
Jane S, Owner at Brynafon Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Although Brynafon is no longer a hotel we hope that you will visit us again soon, and stay in one of our newly renovated holiday cottages. More 

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

We were 3 couples and all had brilliant quirky bedrooms with great facilities. The owners and staff were very friendly and efficient. The Elan Valley is great to explore and the Red Kite feeding station next door is an amazing experience, Unfortunately the hotel is being turned into self catering units, but I am sure it will still be a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff A
Jane S, Owner at Brynafon Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very good review. We also enjoyed having you and your friends to stay. As you say we have now started work on the holiday cottages and have the first available to rent. The cottages will represent excellent value for money starting at only £43 per cottage per night. We do hope to see you again in... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

We have told all our Friends and Family also our FB friends .. it a must-- they have to visit .. we had a wonderful 2 days wish we had booked the week .. our bedroom was spotless and the whole room was inviting and the bathroom (with fresh towels every day ) was excellent with a brand new window... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith W
Jane S, Owner at Brynafon Country House, responded to this review

Thank you Mari and Keith for your lovely review. If only all our guests were as nice as you. We certainly enjoyed having you. Your cheerful outlook on life made a difficult time for us so much easier to bear. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to seeing you both again. More 

Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

Some reviewers were very unkind about this hotel just because it needs renovation - which is currently well in hand. The important questions to me about any hotel are: Are the staff friendly? Is the room and bed comfortable? Is the bathroom clean? Is it quiet at night? Is the food good? Is there free WiFi in the room? And... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamHolmes
Jane S, Owner at Brynafon Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your very nice review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Brynafon and was not unduly disturbed by the restoration work. I will pass on to the staff your comments about your stay and especially your breakfast, they do try very hard to make our guesst stay memorable. I am... More 

Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

Our arrival at 3pm coincided with the feeding of the red kites at the neighbouring Gigrin Farm, so we had a spectacular view of the amazing aerodynamics of these birds. The hotel looked beautiful cloaked in ivy of great autumn reds and golds. It is an old building, a former workhouse with many quirky features. The staff here work hard... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Tracbyro
Jane S, Manager at Brynafon Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review. I shall make sure that the staff see it. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We do like having nice guests like you, luckily most our guests are really nice and its a shame that a few disgruntled ones seem to frequent here. You arrived just right for... More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

Very good weekend walking in the Elan valley. Stayed at the Brynafon Hotel, a majestic old building in a great spot, right next door to the red kites. We stayed in one of the four poster rooms which was clean and comfy with nice views. Dinner was fresh and cooked to order, as was the hearty breakfast. The staff and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank WaggyTail32
Jane S, Owner at Brynafon Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your positive review. The staff and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As you say we are ideally placed for walking and for viewing the red kites. We look forward to welcoming you again at Brynafon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Pleasant from the outside.The inside needs to be gutted and redecorated. New owners so maybe this will get done.Menu was all Italian.Went into town and had pub grub.Breakfast was the saving grace.Fresh and cooked to order.

Helpful?
3 Thank sandyoldgit
Jane S, Owner at Brynafon Country House, responded to this review

Hmm.. I don't think you quite get it! One does not 'gut' an historic building, one systematically and sympathetically restores it. One also does not usually go to a Country House Hotel in order to eat 'pub grub'. Never the less I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast. I wonder why it took you 2 months to write your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rhayader hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
england
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

It is not often I write a bad review but the owners of this place should hang their heads in shame at the way they treat their guests. The outside of the building is lovely but then you go inside. The reception consists of a dingy dark " booth", you ring a bell and it takes forever for someone to... More 

Helpful?
11 Thank moll12
Jane S, Owner at Brynafon Country House, responded to this review

Although my policy is to no-longer respond to serial complainers (judging by your previous hotel reviews) and discount seekers such as yourself, your review is such a distortion of the truth that I feel compelled to set the record straight. This historic building is beautiful both inside and out, to those who appreciate the finer things in life. The traditional... More 

Uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

This was our 2nd stay here and it is obviously under new ownership, Feb this year. The owner has a huge task ahead but is starting to upgrade the bedrooms and everything really. Our bedroom, Claerwen 1, was fine, spotless bedding and towels etc, but the en-suite was a bit tired. But the next room, Claerwen 2 had a new... More 

Helpful?
Thank pothunters
Jane S, Owner at Brynafon Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Brynafon. I will certainly have a look at the noisy fan in Claerwan 1 that is affecting Claerwan 2 and the sausage issue. We look forward to welcoming you again at Brynafon in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhayader
0.5 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
6.5 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Penralley House
Penralley House
#1 of 13 in Rhayader
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay