We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Cliffs Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Cliffs Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
White Cliffs Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    77
    71
    30
    6
    9
See reviews for
49
100
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (193)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This Hotel has the feel of an old fashioned inn, the restaurant and bar areas are furnished in a cosy home from home style and very nice to chill out with a nice drink from their well stocked bar. I thought the menu was a little pricey at first but the quality of the food was excellent. The young team... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
timoleague
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our stay at this hotel was pleasantly managed by a disorganised establishment. The wifi promised didn't work, the tea service in the room came without milk and our booking was mislaid . When we arrived we were too that we hadn't made a reservation, which we were certain that we had. After a fifteen minute nail biting wait it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walletts, Manager at White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

We all love to work together as a team to ensure our guests are really happy. We do have a very clever state of the art online reservation system and mistakes are few and far between. We urge all of our guests to use our own online booking page on our website for best available room rates. If you have... More 

London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The water pressure was not strong enough for a shower. Damp on the wall in the bedroom and the bathroom (see photos). However, the place is charming and excells in other areas. I would most probably go back to this place if I was in the area. Got the cheapest room and went with low expectations. Was initally dissapointed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walletts, Manager at White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your useful feedback. You may have read in a previous review that we have plumbing issues recently and it took a little while to find the leak. We also recently had a summer deluge of very heavy rain which caused some gutters and roof valleys to overflow into The Loft Apartment. This did leave some stained areas on... More 

harrogate
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Stayed for one night in one of the outside rooms ( lighthouse). The staff and food were faultless in every respect, however the rooms cleanliness was an issue. Several cobwebs around the room together with dead insects were one issue and the other is decor, the room desperately needs a refurbish! Even just repainting would suffice. Apart from the above... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Walletts, Owner at White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

I love living in this lovely leafy village, every morning I awake to the sound of the dawn chorus of the birds in the tops of the magnificent trees that surround our hotel. Summer time brings with it all sorts of visitors from near and far; swallows swoop down in the pastures, skylarks hover high over cornfields, bees buzz around... More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

Wanted a 1 night stay whilst visiting friends in the area, i called the hotel rather than my usual book online as we now have a 19th month old baby and ideally wanted an additional attached room so we didnt have to goto bed at 7pm! Im glad i did, the lady on the phone was so helpful, it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Great place, off the beaten track, nice rooms great staff, very friendly. Rooms are modern and well equIpped , the restaurant is small but seating was comfortable, we all had a very enjoyable meal, steak, fish etc, the pricing was just right in our opinion and breakfast was an unhurried affair and again met our expectations . The true test... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dartford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

We have recently returned from a weekend at The White Cliffs Hotel in St. Margret’s at Cliffe. We chose this hotel because of the good reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel and grounds are exquisite. The staff are polite and professional. We booked a table in the hotel restaurant for Saturday night. The ambience for dining is ideal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Only stayed 1 night but was superb. Very friendly greeting on arrival, straight forward check in before being led to our room. The room itself was excellent, booked the four poster room, lovely bed and room, good views onto garden and church. Well appointed room. Excellent restaurant serving locally sourced food and drink with a good selection on the menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Stayed overnight in this hotel whilst visiting Dover. We stayed in the 'mews' which were lovely and seemed to have been recently decorated - very bright, clean and comfortable. The bar was welcoming (including a wood burner, which was not alight but would be an added bonus on a cold evening) and we received a friendly welcome on arrival. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Spent a long weekend here on a walk weekender stay with 10 friends who also stayed at the hotel. Breakfast and dinner were unbelievably good. We also has a substantial packed lunch as part of the weekend walker's package which contained a choice of salmon or ham or cheese. Im sure we could have asked for different fillings but why... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
3:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
0.6 mi away
Wallett's Court Hotel
Wallett's Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover - Eastern Ferry Terminal
2.8 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#3 of 11 in Dover
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East
3.8 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay