We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Cliffs Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
White Cliffs Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    80
    73
    30
    6
    9
See reviews for
49
104
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Bedford
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights, got upgraded room a good size bathroom a little small though I'm 6ft 3 so could not get head under shower without ducking. But otherwise had a lovely stay staff were brill very helpful and polite nothing to much trouble. The hotel generally was great the bar area the dining room were lovely the outside space... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed on a mid week coastal break, dinner bed and breakfast with our dog. Comfortable room and friendly staff who provided a useful map card for walks which which we followed. Lovely location. Food and service good. Really enjoyed this hotel and would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
haverhill
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on our way to France great location lovely garden and very friendly staff found it a bit expensive for drinks and food also only a limited contineltal breakfast could do with more meats and boiled eggs and it is very much serve yourself

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed just for one night on a work trip. The young front of house staff were affable and welcoming. Room was simply furnished with nice bits of original furniture and pictures, nothing corporate which makes a refreshing change. Extremely comfortable bed and all the amenities needed. Apart from soap in the bathroom which I'm sure they would have provided if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walletts, Manager at White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks ever so much for your kind words. It's so lovely to hear that our happy young team are getting it right. Our life-long search for the perfect toaster will continue! More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for a 3 night long weekend and it was just right. Rooms are distributed in the main building and nearby annexes and everything is peace and quiet except for other visitors' kids! Food ok. An open and laid back bar area just right for chillin'.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walletts, Manager at White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

It's a beautiful thing when you guys see the positive side of what we do and make an effort to write lovely things about us. Great guests, you rock our world! More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Hotel has the feel of an old fashioned inn, the restaurant and bar areas are furnished in a cosy home from home style and very nice to chill out with a nice drink from their well stocked bar. I thought the menu was a little pricey at first but the quality of the food was excellent. The young team... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walletts, Manager at White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Super-handy review, thanks ever so much. The most important piece of the hotel jigsaw is the people that work in the place. Our happy team are a lovely bunch and it's great when you chaps give then them recognition that they heartily deserve. Also, thanks to your feedback we've seen to the bed in the 'Fossil' room and given the... More 

timoleague
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Our stay at this hotel was pleasantly managed by a disorganised establishment. The wifi promised didn't work, the tea service in the room came without milk and our booking was mislaid . When we arrived we were too that we hadn't made a reservation, which we were certain that we had. After a fifteen minute nail biting wait it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walletts, Manager at White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

We all love to work together as a team to ensure our guests are really happy. We do have a very clever state of the art online reservation system and mistakes are few and far between. We urge all of our guests to use our own online booking page on our website for best available room rates. If you have... More 

London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

The water pressure was not strong enough for a shower. Damp on the wall in the bedroom and the bathroom (see photos). However, the place is charming and excells in other areas. I would most probably go back to this place if I was in the area. Got the cheapest room and went with low expectations. Was initally dissapointed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walletts, Manager at White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your useful feedback. You may have read in a previous review that we have plumbing issues recently and it took a little while to find the leak. We also recently had a summer deluge of very heavy rain which caused some gutters and roof valleys to overflow into The Loft Apartment. This did leave some stained areas on... More 

harrogate
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Stayed for one night in one of the outside rooms ( lighthouse). The staff and food were faultless in every respect, however the rooms cleanliness was an issue. Several cobwebs around the room together with dead insects were one issue and the other is decor, the room desperately needs a refurbish! Even just repainting would suffice. Apart from the above... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Walletts, Owner at White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

I love living in this lovely leafy village, every morning I awake to the sound of the dawn chorus of the birds in the tops of the magnificent trees that surround our hotel. Summer time brings with it all sorts of visitors from near and far; swallows swoop down in the pastures, skylarks hover high over cornfields, bees buzz around... More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

Wanted a 1 night stay whilst visiting friends in the area, i called the hotel rather than my usual book online as we now have a 19th month old baby and ideally wanted an additional attached room so we didnt have to goto bed at 7pm! Im glad i did, the lady on the phone was so helpful, it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
3:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
0.6 mi away
Wallett's Court Hotel
Wallett's Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover - Eastern Ferry Terminal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#4 of 10 in Dover
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East
3.8 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay