We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 St Margaret's at Cliffe hotels

White Cliffs Hotel

High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added White Cliffs Hotel to your Saves list
White Cliffs Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
L R London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (148)
  • Photos (65)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (32)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    56
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
34
82
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in a great location but for the price I expected much more. Our room (and small double bed) was very small and the window did not open which in July meant we had a stuffy night. The walls and floors of the annexe building are so thin we heard our neighbours' TVs, conversations and footsteps constantly. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walletts, Manager at White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we're not sure why you couldn't open your windows as all rooms have large opening sash windows. We've been around all rooms this morning and checked to see if any are that are sticking. The hotel is over 400 years old and in hot humid weather the timber-framed buildings can swell. We have sound-proofed all rooms... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I visited Dover to meet our daughter's future in laws. The area around the hotel is gorgeous with a lovely walk down to St Margaret's Bay. Dover Castle is amazing. Sandwich was my favourite town, so quaint and picturesque and Broadstairs is good for seaside (but no dogs allowed on the beach May to Sept). We stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tunbridge wells, uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel because we were attending the Deal Music Festival (which was excellent). We asked for a quiet room and got one - and very comfortable it was too. One of the comfiest beds I've had the pleasure of using. The staff we found to be approachable and extremely willing to help. We were pleased to note... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is perfectly placed for a stay before a Channel crossing, which is why we went there. We had contemplated doing so a few weeks before, but found the staff who dealt with us on the telephone rather unhelpful, so gave it a miss. Indeed, they were little better second time around, but we thought we'd nonetheless give it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walletts, Manager at White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for your helpful and extensive review. We've checked through our website and our dinner, bed and breakfast package is listed on our tariff page and special breaks page with accompanying detail of what is included in the rate including dinner allowance and breakfast. We include an all you can eat Continental buffet breakfast with Dorset... More

York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

One night stay before sailing to France. Ran out of food on the evening before sailing, staff arrived late in the morning then no power in the kitchen so no cooked breakfast or coffee. Shame because all the reviews were very positive. I understand the unexpected electric failure but just a little disappointed about the evening meal and lack of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Walletts, Manager at White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

I have spoken with the team and established what went wrong with this stay to ensure we don't make the same mistakes again. We managed to restore power to the kitchen after just a few minutes interruption due to a fault and the rest of our guests were able to enjoy coffee and breakfast at 7.15am when we ordinarily open... More

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

had a 2 night special, and will return if offer is repeated. nothing at all to complain about. evening meal was enjoyable and relaxed, breakfast lovely and fresh and apetising, buffet was plentiful, with beautiful tasty ham & cheese. no need to add the cooked meal, but we did pay the extra £2.50 on the last day, to set us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

A peaceful location with all the comforts required. Restaurant reasonable, bar okay and bedroom comfortable. I stayed for three nights whilst at a conference nearby. It would have got five stars if my room provisions were replaced as required (shampoo and tea/coffee). The three breakfasts were good, one dinner was excellent. The bar had a good stock of bottled real... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a lovely hotel. My Canadian friend and I had one one of the family apartments so we could have a room each. It was perfect with a lovely comfortable kitchenette and sitting area separate to the bedrooms. The staff were all so lovely and the restaurant was great. Breakfast was delicious especially the croissants. A great location in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed in the Gull room, last weekend, it was really lovely. The food was excellent, the Romney Marsh lamb and the breakfast was all local food and very well cooked. The hotel itself looks really nice, and the staff were friendly and welcoming. I would suggest you bring your own hairdryer though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I took my husband away for a night as a treat for his birthday and we weren't disappointed. The room was lovely and clean, the staff very friendly and the food in the restaurant was fantastic (particularly the chocolate brownie!!). I would definitely stay again. The only slight disappointment was that our bed sloped slightly due to the floor, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage White Cliffs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to White Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Cliffs Hotel

Address: High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Priceline so you can book your White Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
3:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Cliffs Hotel is set in the heart of the picturesque village of St. Margaret's-at-Cliffe under a mile from the beautiful beach at St. Margaret's Bay in celebrated White Cliffs Country. This is the closest hotel in England to the coast of France at Calais 21 miles away and is just seven minutes drive from the port and Cruise Terminal at Dover. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer