We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greyhound Inn

High Street, Chalfont St Peter, Gerrards Cross SL9 9RA, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Greyhound Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a great little place with lovely rooms and a great bar and restaurant. The staff who all are very young are very friendly and efficient. The food and especially the snack menu is just great. I would definitely recommend it and will be staying again in the near future.

Helpful?
Thank David A
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We have recently upgraded the rooms with new soft furnishings and this has made a good impression on our regular guests. We try to be a very friendly pub with rooms so it is great to hear that we are getting it right. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I will happily rate The Greyhound Inn located at Chalfont St Peters with 5 stars. The bedrooms throughout were clean and always made daily with replenished drink facilities and bathroom essentials. The staff were great to socialise with after a long day of driving and working. Food served was of high quality. Have and will continue to recommended to those... More 

Helpful?
Thank Threeteam
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We try to make our regular guests feel at home as it is tough being away constantly. We hope you like the new room decor. We are about to make some changes and upgrade the restaurant area to add potential meeting space and more soft seating - we will keep you informed on the... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I travel to the area every week for business, I've tried all the other hotels in the area but always default back to the greyhound, it has the right combination of food/room standards/service and friendly local pub feel to it. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Rob - thank you for the review. We really value our regular clientele- they become friends. we hope you like the new rooms decor and what we have done in the bar. There is more to come! More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a lovely old building with plenty of character inside and out. The staff were excellent and the food was superb, breakfast is included and we had dinner the night we stayed. I was very impressed. Rooms were very clean with modern bathrooms and I would highly recommend to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank Dan G
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As owners we do keep investing in the fabric of the building, new furnishings in rooms, new stools in the bar.It is great to read that along with the friendly staff, we are making the right impression. More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Reasonably friendly Inn, but our room was very cold when we first arrived, and the draft was coming in around the window. There was however a spare electric heater in the wardrobe which could be used. The shower was barely working, so we complained. It was looked at but still wasn't great. We arrived mid-afternoon and wanted a snack, unfortunately... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry not everything was quite right. We will look at the water pressure issue that you mentioned. We wish you a merry Christmas. More 

Bourne End, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2015

We stayed here ate the weekend whilst attending a wedding in the area. The rooms are smallish but really done very well maintaining all sorts of old beams and original features. We didn't eat in the restaurant but did have breakfast which was great. really young team of staff and really pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks. It is always nice to get positive feedback about our team - much appreciated. More 

Chino
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

Great old Coaching Inn with a history going back a few hundred years. Centrally located for day trips via train into London or Oxford. Comfortable, if small, rooms with beamed ceilings and ensuite facilities. Breakfast choices were varied and tasty. There is a pub off the lobby. Staff were all welcoming and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Rogue75
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for teh positive review - it is much appreciated. More 

Canberra
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

We met up with a large group of friends here last night and had an excellent time, drinking in the refurbished bar area, then eating in the very comfortable dining room, and staying overnight. The food was very good and the friendly waiter did an excellent job with a big order and slightly unruly guests! The young girls at reception... More 

Helpful?
Thank FiandRog
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review. It is always gratifying to read that the staff were on good form and helpful. More 

corfu ambiente hotel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

My wife and I have just returned from a night here on the 30th August 2015. After initially being happy to stay there again (last visit 4 years ago) and having what I have to say a lovely evening meal , things went down hill fast . On going to our room which at first looked great a little digging... More 

Helpful?
Thank rooferone
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, disappointing as it is. I will review the details with our manager as there is no excuse for teh poor clenliness. More 

Travelers are raving about these Chalfont St Peter hotels

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

The room was charming with a spacious feel, beams and high ceiling, the bed very comfortable and shower efficient. All was clean and well presented. The staff were very polite and helpful. As we came in late from a party in the nearby parish hall the noise from the bar below didn't really worry us. We would come again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine S
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for teh kind review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalfont St Peter
1.4 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
4.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ethorpe Hotel
Ethorpe Hotel
#2 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#2 of 8 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Beaconsfield
Ibis Budget Beaconsfield
#6 of 8 in Beaconsfield
3.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay