We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greyhound Inn

High Street, Chalfont Saint Peter, Gerrards Cross SL9 9RA, England
Hotel amenities
The Greyhound Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015
RoverPete Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    24
    20
    10
See reviews for
16
43
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (118)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for a family lunch today, greeted with only 2 menus for a table of 5. The menu was poor with very little choice and only one vegetarian option. We waited forever for our drinks and the food was average. The vegetarian option of risotto was both cold and under cooked. The service was very slow and the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to read of your poor experience. If you could let me know which date this was it would help as I need to review this with the General Manager and the head chef. Please contact me on p.stlawrence@btinternet.com Many thanks More 

Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

Visited for lunch with our dog. Friendly helpful staff who provided a bowl of water for our dog. Can highly recommend the club sandwich which is stacked full with chicken bacon and egg. and fries - delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad you liked the Club sandwich. I insist on it being on the menu, despite perhaps being a bit old fashioned, because it is a great classic. Do come again. More 

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

We had a buffet celebration for our Golden Wedding Anniversary at the Greyhound on Saturday 11th April. The staff were very helpful and pleasant, the buffet was excellent and all our guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Would definitely recommend having a function there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Diana - many congratulations and thank you for the great review. Peter More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We organised for a couples get together last evening and turned out to be a disaster! We were met at the reception by a very tired and frazzled young lady who was definitely not interested in serving customers. We were seated and then she started to rush us. We asked for some guidance on the specials but she asked us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

I am really sorry to read this and will take this up with the manager. I do apologise and we will work to train the staff and improve the service. More 

Travelers are raving about these Chalfont Saint Peter hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

We were a pre-booked group of 22 for Dinner on a cold wednesday evening.The Greyhound was very welcoming and warm, with a nice roaring log fire. Two tables had been nicely set up for us in the dining area. .We all had drinks at the Bar and ordered the two reasonably priced South African house wines- white Chenin Blanc &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us and for the kind words. Do come back soon. More 

Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Thank you to Greyhound restaurant staff who catered for our large group last Weds.. We had a very convivial evening in lovely surroundings with good food at a very reasonable price and pleasant, helpful service. We were made very welcome, not hurried and the dining room was arranged suitably for a large group.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

We really appreciate the review - glad the meal went well. Do come back! More 

Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

A bit late with my review but we organised our ladies tennis Xmas do here on a Monday night in December 2014 as it's very difficult to get all 12 of us all free on any other day of the week so close to Christmas. This made no difference as there was also another group having their meal so the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for remembering and posting a review from December. It is always good to read that we got things right, especially in such a busy period. More 

Godalming, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We enjoyed lunch with a couple of our friends, Saturday lunchtime. The food was very good and the service was excellent, particular thanks must go to Jamie. It was a very pleasant afternoon, not being rushed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. it is always nice when customers commend staff so that is much appreciated. We wish you all the best for 2015. More 

Warminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
48 hotel reviews
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

This is an interesting, very old building on the edge of the town and very convenient for everything. The bar was welcoming with a couple of real ales on offer and easy chairs and log fires to relax in front of. We made our way to our room and as we opened the door were met by a noticeably cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The housekeepers should have left the heating on - I am sorry about that. We do have twin rooms, so i am not sure why you were allocated the king/twin bed, though it is the largest room. We wish you all the best for 2015. More 

Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 via mobile

We actually got engaged here 32 years ago and were quite excited to return. The place has all the ingredients to be a very special place but is lacking in the most important. Good front of house and staff who enjoy their work. Also very average food, but certainly not the worst we have experienced. Advice to the owners. Be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I am sorry you found it disappointing. I take on board your comments regarding the TVs, but it is hard to balance the style to serve a broad community. It is very hard to be a niche pub in a small village. We do show some sport at weekends, but reserve the restaurant area... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay