We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Street, Chalfont Saint Peter SL9 9RA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Greyhound Inn to your Saves list
The Greyhound Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
53%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Dave B
  • Overview
  • Reviews (106)
  • Photos (38)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (24)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    27
    22
    17
    10
See reviews for
13
38
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic visit at a great country pub on the edge of the Chilterns. I Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, would struggle to find fault in any aspect. A special mention should be extended to the staff who were incredibly outgoing, in particular the young lady on reception with dashingly long eyelashes who could not have been more charming and helpful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words - we look forward to seeing you again soon. More

london
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely pub with great decor. We were greeted by a barmaid that had a rather miserable face and it looked like her false eyelashes may drop off at any moment but despite this she did change all 4 of our glasses which were filthy dirty. Not the best start but the food came out quickly and was delicious. (Greyhound Burgers,not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your food. We do have some staff with quite an individual look shall we say.... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you are looking for a friendly, well kept inn then you have come to the right place. The inn was very welcoming both from the point of view of the atmosphere of the bar and the attitude of the staff. The approach to check-in was informal in the right way - we had already reserved our room with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind words. We are about to do a spot of refurbishment - curtains, throws, cushions etc., which will give the rooms a bit of a lift. More

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Lovely hotel & pub in a beautiful location. Service was excellent with helpful and attentive staff at any hour of day or night! Rooms were very well maintained and bathrooms well equipped. I've been twice now & the experience was excellent both times...highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review - why not come and stay a third time? We have just refurbished the bar area and are about to spruce up the rooms. More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a great little hotel run by a really enthusiastic young team. The atmosphere was just great. Lots of locals and visitors, a great mix. The food was excellent at both breakfast and dinner. Would really recommend this old inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review - we hope to see you again soon. More

chalfont st peter
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great overnight stay. Good sized rooms with large comfortable bed. Nice size bathroom. The building is old, so the floors are not level, but it adds to the quirkiness. I am not sure it was full, but the rooms were quiet . All the staff were very young, and all very attentive and polite except the young man in reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind words. I will be speaking to the team about reception skills as this was poor and almost rude. I do apologise. More

Coventry
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed at the Greyhound Inn very last minute as we were going to an event at Wembley. Every single one of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and recommend this little gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the review. More

Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in May visiting friends- nice room, clean and tidy, food at breakfast nice- pub food good too and staff all friendly. the only slight problem was Wi-Fi in the room wasn't working. They need to sort that if they advertise it. Other than that -I will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We have increased the booster stations for the wi-fi, so it has improved. More

Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on Friday/Saturday in May 2014. The room we had was small but adequate enough. Bathroom was nice and tidy, clean, and the bed was particularly comfortable. We were worried about the 'noisy room' comments from other reviewers but we felt it was fine. You could hear the bar area downstairs only slightly but that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this review - you seem to have captured the exact vibe that we are trying to achieve. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I made a telephone booking with a very confused man on the other end of the phone - he wasn't quite sure how much he should charge me for my stay & whether he could take my credit card. This set alarms bells ringing before I actually arrived! On check-in to my room, I discovered I was directly above the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. It is a pub with rooms, rather than a hotel so there is some noise from the bar, that is inevitable. I also accept the rooms at the back do look over the kitchen area, that too is inevitable. We are refreshing the window box there in order to improve the... More

Travelers are raving about these Chalfont Saint Peter hotels

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Greyhound Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn

Address: High Street, Chalfont Saint Peter SL9 9RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chalfont Saint Peter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Inn Chalfont Saint Peter, England

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Greyhound Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer