We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Street, Chalfont Saint Peter SL9 9RA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Greyhound Inn to your Saves list
The Greyhound Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
53%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Tkirkbri Pretoria, South Africa
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    27
    23
    17
    10
See reviews for
14
38
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a return visit to the pub/restaurant which maintained its average standard. The wait time had reduced considerably and we were served very quickly (albeit on a very cold and wet Tuesday evening in August). The large family group (7) enjoyed the 2x meat platter and were not disappointed, the pate and olives being the firm favourite. The main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback, which I will review with the manager. The glassware needs regular treatment with a chemical to remove the stains. Clearly this has fallen off the routine, so we will fix that! More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Fantastic visit at a great country pub on the edge of the Chilterns. I Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, would struggle to find fault in any aspect. A special mention should be extended to the staff who were incredibly outgoing, in particular the young lady on reception with dashingly long eyelashes who could not have been more charming and helpful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words - we look forward to seeing you again soon. More

london
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Lovely pub with great decor. We were greeted by a barmaid that had a rather miserable face and it looked like her false eyelashes may drop off at any moment but despite this she did change all 4 of our glasses which were filthy dirty. Not the best start but the food came out quickly and was delicious. (Greyhound Burgers,not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your food. We do have some staff with quite an individual look shall we say.... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you are looking for a friendly, well kept inn then you have come to the right place. The inn was very welcoming both from the point of view of the atmosphere of the bar and the attitude of the staff. The approach to check-in was informal in the right way - we had already reserved our room with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind words. We are about to do a spot of refurbishment - curtains, throws, cushions etc., which will give the rooms a bit of a lift. More

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Lovely hotel & pub in a beautiful location. Service was excellent with helpful and attentive staff at any hour of day or night! Rooms were very well maintained and bathrooms well equipped. I've been twice now & the experience was excellent both times...highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review - why not come and stay a third time? We have just refurbished the bar area and are about to spruce up the rooms. More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a great little hotel run by a really enthusiastic young team. The atmosphere was just great. Lots of locals and visitors, a great mix. The food was excellent at both breakfast and dinner. Would really recommend this old inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review - we hope to see you again soon. More

chalfont st peter
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great overnight stay. Good sized rooms with large comfortable bed. Nice size bathroom. The building is old, so the floors are not level, but it adds to the quirkiness. I am not sure it was full, but the rooms were quiet . All the staff were very young, and all very attentive and polite except the young man in reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind words. I will be speaking to the team about reception skills as this was poor and almost rude. I do apologise. More

Coventry
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed at the Greyhound Inn very last minute as we were going to an event at Wembley. Every single one of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and recommend this little gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the review. More

Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in May visiting friends- nice room, clean and tidy, food at breakfast nice- pub food good too and staff all friendly. the only slight problem was Wi-Fi in the room wasn't working. They need to sort that if they advertise it. Other than that -I will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We have increased the booster stations for the wi-fi, so it has improved. More

Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on Friday/Saturday in May 2014. The room we had was small but adequate enough. Bathroom was nice and tidy, clean, and the bed was particularly comfortable. We were worried about the 'noisy room' comments from other reviewers but we felt it was fine. You could hear the bar area downstairs only slightly but that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this review - you seem to have captured the exact vibe that we are trying to achieve. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Greyhound Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn

Address: High Street, Chalfont Saint Peter SL9 9RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chalfont Saint Peter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Inn Chalfont Saint Peter, England

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)