We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greyhound Inn

High Street, Chalfont Saint Peter SL9 9RA, England
Hotel amenities
The Greyhound Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
gourmandise London
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    30
    24
    18
    10
See reviews for
14
41
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a pre-booked group of 22 for Dinner on a cold wednesday evening.The Greyhound was very welcoming and warm, with a nice roaring log fire. Two tables had been nicely set up for us in the dining area. .We all had drinks at the Bar and ordered the two reasonably priced South African house wines- white Chenin Blanc &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us and for the kind words. Do come back soon. More 

Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you to Greyhound restaurant staff who catered for our large group last Weds.. We had a very convivial evening in lovely surroundings with good food at a very reasonable price and pleasant, helpful service. We were made very welcome, not hurried and the dining room was arranged suitably for a large group.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

We really appreciate the review - glad the meal went well. Do come back! More 

Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A bit late with my review but we organised our ladies tennis Xmas do here on a Monday night in December 2014 as it's very difficult to get all 12 of us all free on any other day of the week so close to Christmas. This made no difference as there was also another group having their meal so the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for remembering and posting a review from December. It is always good to read that we got things right, especially in such a busy period. More 

Godalming, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We enjoyed lunch with a couple of our friends, Saturday lunchtime. The food was very good and the service was excellent, particular thanks must go to Jamie. It was a very pleasant afternoon, not being rushed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. it is always nice when customers commend staff so that is much appreciated. We wish you all the best for 2015. More 

Warminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

This is an interesting, very old building on the edge of the town and very convenient for everything. The bar was welcoming with a couple of real ales on offer and easy chairs and log fires to relax in front of. We made our way to our room and as we opened the door were met by a noticeably cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The housekeepers should have left the heating on - I am sorry about that. We do have twin rooms, so i am not sure why you were allocated the king/twin bed, though it is the largest room. We wish you all the best for 2015. More 

Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 via mobile

We actually got engaged here 32 years ago and were quite excited to return. The place has all the ingredients to be a very special place but is lacking in the most important. Good front of house and staff who enjoy their work. Also very average food, but certainly not the worst we have experienced. Advice to the owners. Be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I am sorry you found it disappointing. I take on board your comments regarding the TVs, but it is hard to balance the style to serve a broad community. It is very hard to be a niche pub in a small village. We do show some sport at weekends, but reserve the restaurant area... More 

Travelers are raving about these Chalfont Saint Peter hotels

Amersham
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

It's really puzzling when you visit a place and find that your experience is at odds with those of other reviewers on TA. We booked a table for 2 and duly arrived. It was our anniversary dinner. The greeting was at best luke-warm bordering on rude with a resigned "where d'you want to sit?". The restaurant was deserted, the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. I will be meeting the manager tomorrow to go through it in detail. I am aware we have just gone through a staff turnover phase, which happens as students start university. However, some courtesy and attention with the odd smile goes a long way. I appreciate the detailed feed back you have given us. More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This was a return visit to the pub/restaurant which maintained its average standard. The wait time had reduced considerably and we were served very quickly (albeit on a very cold and wet Tuesday evening in August). The large family group (7) enjoyed the 2x meat platter and were not disappointed, the pate and olives being the firm favourite. The main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback, which I will review with the manager. The glassware needs regular treatment with a chemical to remove the stains. Clearly this has fallen off the routine, so we will fix that! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Fantastic visit at a great country pub on the edge of the Chilterns. I Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, would struggle to find fault in any aspect. A special mention should be extended to the staff who were incredibly outgoing, in particular the young lady on reception with dashingly long eyelashes who could not have been more charming and helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words - we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

london
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
11 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Lovely pub with great decor. We were greeted by a barmaid that had a rather miserable face and it looked like her false eyelashes may drop off at any moment but despite this she did change all 4 of our glasses which were filthy dirty. Not the best start but the food came out quickly and was delicious. (Greyhound Burgers,not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your food. We do have some staff with quite an individual look shall we say.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn

Address: High Street, Chalfont Saint Peter SL9 9RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chalfont Saint Peter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Inn Chalfont Saint Peter, England

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay