We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Street, Chalfont Saint Peter SL9 9RA, England
Hotel amenities
The Greyhound Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Greyhound Inn to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
T C Godalming, United Kingdom
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    28
    24
    18
    10
See reviews for
14
41
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (111)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Godalming, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed lunch with a couple of our friends, Saturday lunchtime. The food was very good and the service was excellent, particular thanks must go to Jamie. It was a very pleasant afternoon, not being rushed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. it is always nice when customers commend staff so that is much appreciated. We wish you all the best for 2015. More 

Warminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an interesting, very old building on the edge of the town and very convenient for everything. The bar was welcoming with a couple of real ales on offer and easy chairs and log fires to relax in front of. We made our way to our room and as we opened the door were met by a noticeably cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The housekeepers should have left the heating on - I am sorry about that. We do have twin rooms, so i am not sure why you were allocated the king/twin bed, though it is the largest room. We wish you all the best for 2015. More 

Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 via mobile

We actually got engaged here 32 years ago and were quite excited to return. The place has all the ingredients to be a very special place but is lacking in the most important. Good front of house and staff who enjoy their work. Also very average food, but certainly not the worst we have experienced. Advice to the owners. Be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I am sorry you found it disappointing. I take on board your comments regarding the TVs, but it is hard to balance the style to serve a broad community. It is very hard to be a niche pub in a small village. We do show some sport at weekends, but reserve the restaurant area... More 

Travelers are raving about these Chalfont Saint Peter hotels

Amersham
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

It's really puzzling when you visit a place and find that your experience is at odds with those of other reviewers on TA. We booked a table for 2 and duly arrived. It was our anniversary dinner. The greeting was at best luke-warm bordering on rude with a resigned "where d'you want to sit?". The restaurant was deserted, the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. I will be meeting the manager tomorrow to go through it in detail. I am aware we have just gone through a staff turnover phase, which happens as students start university. However, some courtesy and attention with the odd smile goes a long way. I appreciate the detailed feed back you have given us. More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This was a return visit to the pub/restaurant which maintained its average standard. The wait time had reduced considerably and we were served very quickly (albeit on a very cold and wet Tuesday evening in August). The large family group (7) enjoyed the 2x meat platter and were not disappointed, the pate and olives being the firm favourite. The main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback, which I will review with the manager. The glassware needs regular treatment with a chemical to remove the stains. Clearly this has fallen off the routine, so we will fix that! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Fantastic visit at a great country pub on the edge of the Chilterns. I Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, would struggle to find fault in any aspect. A special mention should be extended to the staff who were incredibly outgoing, in particular the young lady on reception with dashingly long eyelashes who could not have been more charming and helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words - we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

london
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Lovely pub with great decor. We were greeted by a barmaid that had a rather miserable face and it looked like her false eyelashes may drop off at any moment but despite this she did change all 4 of our glasses which were filthy dirty. Not the best start but the food came out quickly and was delicious. (Greyhound Burgers,not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your food. We do have some staff with quite an individual look shall we say.... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you are looking for a friendly, well kept inn then you have come to the right place. The inn was very welcoming both from the point of view of the atmosphere of the bar and the attitude of the staff. The approach to check-in was informal in the right way - we had already reserved our room with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind words. We are about to do a spot of refurbishment - curtains, throws, cushions etc., which will give the rooms a bit of a lift. More 

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Lovely hotel & pub in a beautiful location. Service was excellent with helpful and attentive staff at any hour of day or night! Rooms were very well maintained and bathrooms well equipped. I've been twice now & the experience was excellent both times...highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review - why not come and stay a third time? We have just refurbished the bar area and are about to spruce up the rooms. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a great little hotel run by a really enthusiastic young team. The atmosphere was just great. Lots of locals and visitors, a great mix. The food was excellent at both breakfast and dinner. Would really recommend this old inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review - we hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn

Address: High Street, Chalfont Saint Peter SL9 9RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chalfont Saint Peter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Inn Chalfont Saint Peter, England

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay