We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    47
    98
    43
    18
    7
See reviews for
65
71
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in a family unit down the back and booked for 5. Arrived and only enough beds for 4, had to make up 5th bed. Looks like this unit had not been used for a while. Cobwebs criss crossed the bathroom ceiling, lights out in the kitchen and dirty sheets on one bed (looked like bird poo). Asked for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed twice at this hotel for business. The first time I stayed in a superior room and was very pleased with the layout, cleanliness and general presentation. The superior room was lovely and met all my expectations. Last week I stayed in the standard room and all my good impressions of the hotel were banished. The chairs were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived before noon and were told our room was not ready. Lucky to be able to get into another room, thanks to LeeAnn. The heating was on and no complaints about the room, very happy. We both had noticed a sign outside the restaurant with the special of the month, lamb shanks our favourite. Also, advised to book which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelleKirkpatrick, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi Chrismish, Thank you for the review following your stay recently. We are very happy to hear that your room was comfortable and that Leeann could accommodate you prior to the 2pm check in time. In regards to the meal we have spoken to the kitchen to try and sort out what happened with your meal. We do apologise that... More 

Welly
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

So as FOTY I don't take my kids to Disneyland or Pacific Island for the school holidays, I take them to MASTERTON! For 3 whole days...and Solway Park was a cracking place to stay. We stayed in a junior suite which is not part of the main complex (but easy access), it was clean, tidy and large enough for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi zesdead23, Thank you for the stunning review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found plenty to do with the chilly weather outside keeping us all bundled up inside. It sounds like your room was comfortable and pleasant and we are glad that the whole family enjoyed the experience. We can't wait to have... More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

this hotel was very easy to find for a non local. The staff were very accomodating and helpful and the room was really warm. We would stay here again. If i had any fault it would be the large cigarette box outside. it smelt and looked ugly. thank you for a nice stay and we found masterton a lovely place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi Bronwyny52, Thank you so much for the review regarding your stay. We are very pleased to see that your stay was comfortable and warm. It sounds like overall the staff and room were pleasant and that's great to hear. Thank you for the comments and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. With Regards, Jerry Crump... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with another family. The room was okay but quite small. Internally to get from your room to the pool or restaurant was a nightmare. Signage was poor. Kids loved the pool though surprised they hold outside swim lessons in the pool on Sunday. Spa was like warm. Our evening meal was slow though they remove a bit of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi HolidayBliss11, Thank you for taking the time to review. We are pleased to see that the children enjoyed the activities at the hotel. It's unfortunate that you found it difficult to navigate but we can take a look at the signage. We will also be speaking with the restaurant and looking into what may have caused the evening meal... More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We've stayed here about three times, but think we may look elsewhere the next time we're staying the Wairarapa. This is partly due to the room we stayed in starting to look pretty tired, but also our teen isn't interested in what this hotel offers to families of younger children. If your kids are primary-intermediate aged, then they will love... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi FlowerNapier, Thank you for the kind comments regarding our staff and your interactions with them during your stay. It is true that our activities here are quite suited to younger children and the focus on keeping them busy and entertained. We are sorry that you found your room to be a bit tired. We are in the process of... More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We stayed just 1 night but could have easily stayed longer. This was great value. We stayed in what they called an apartment. There were 2 rooms, a large master bedroom with the bathroom and loads of space, there was a living room / kitchen that had 3 beds in. The kitchen had a hob, microwave, fridge and a dishwasher... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi NZMacLeods, Thank you for your review following your visit to the Copthorne Solway Park. It's very good to see that you enjoyed your stay regardless of the weather we were having. We will look into the spa and see if we can get it a bit hotter than it was during your visit. We hope that you can join... More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

My brother-in-law, with whom we were travelling, had stayed here before, and had said it was a good place to stay, not too expensive, but not too shabby, and he was right! We walked in off the street, and were served by a polite young man behind the desk, who found us two rooms next door to one another. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi Lehrerin, Thank you for the outstanding review and we are very happy to see that the hotel and our staff exceeded your expectations. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests are comfortable and enjoying their stay. Thank you for the comments regarding the outdoor seating, we will have our Housekeeping Manager look into the seating arrangements... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Went here during the school holidays with the kids for a quick getaway. Lots of things to do with the kids, including BBQ, Tennis, Volleyball, Cricket and even Golf Range for the parents or the older kiddies. There are also two swimming pools and a spa for the kids to play all day. Nice and leisurely stay. Would highly recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi tuspan, We are so happy to see that you and your family had the chance to getaway to the Wairarapa and enjoyed your stay here at the Copthorne. We always like to hear that we are a great destination for families and everyone enjoyed the facilities and the rooms. We look forward to having you visit again in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

244 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (225)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (67)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (60)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masterton
19.1 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#1 of 4 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.2 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Masterton
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#2 of 11 in Masterton
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
1.2 mi away
Highwayman Motel
Highwayman Motel
#5 of 11 in Masterton
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
1.1 mi away
South Park Motel
South Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay