We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
290 High Street Solway, Masterton 5810, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed with my 2 daughters. The rooms were very big with quality fittings, a fantastic bathroom with spa bath, huge living room with large flat-screen TV, ceramic cooktop, dishwasher, excellent WIFI (3 of us streamed movies simultaneously with no issues) and a separate master bedroom with doors which opened to our own outside table and chairs. All spotlessly clean.... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeterHHPeter
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice interior, big rooms. Friendly service. Nice clean bathrooms, outside a little dated, but dont be deceived. Really enjoyed our stay and would consider staying again if we head back to Masterton. Thanks!

Helpful?
Thank cathydmnz
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

We stayed with our two young daughters in a room with two King beds. It was lovely and spacious and the whole place was spotlessly clean and nice and quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The free wifi worked well. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank shellburn
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

Deb, the manager was super friendly and we upgraded for a small fee to a suite which was just lovely . Thick, plush towels and crisp sheets. The amazing bathroom with spa was fabulous . The furnishings were cozy and the room spotless. Would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Linyep
GatewayInnNZ, Manager at GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Halson family, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you have an awesome time while you are in NZ! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

The Gateway Boutique Hotel was very pleasant. The overall experience was made even better by Debbie the Manager who went out of her way to make us comfortable and to find us a restaurant for dinner. Thanks Debbie!

Helpful?
1 Thank Dale S
GatewayInnNZ, Manager at GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Mr and Mrs Stokes, It was my pleasure. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! Next time you come our own restaurant should be open, too :) More 

Guilsborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

Excellent place to stay. Very well equipped, spotlessly clean and the staff very welcoming. We only stayed for one day but regret not booking for longer. Outside patio with furniture, free wifi and breakfast if you wish.

Helpful?
Thank EAPearse
GatewayInnNZ, Manager at GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou so much Mr and Mrs Pearse, we enjoyed meeting you both and hope to see you back again soon. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

The newly managed Gateway Motor Inn is certainly one to remember when visiting Masterton. We were made to feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were immaculately clean and very spacious. Large comfortable beds and crisp white linen.........lovely. The motel is ideal for those with poor mobility or wheelchair users with excellent access and egress to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carole B
GatewayInnNZ, Manager at GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for the great review Carole. It was great meeting you, please come again soon. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

The service at Gateway was faultless, we were very impressed by Debbie's willingness to assist us in any way. Our suite was fabulous, spacious, clean, well appointed, a private garden area, spa bath and shower, couldn't have asked for more. We were a short drive from the central Masterton area, and had a great breakfast at a cafe over the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary I
GatewayInnNZ, Manager at GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Mary, it was our pleasure. See you ladies for the 61st! More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

Room was amazing - newly renovated with everything you need for the night. New bathrooms and amazing attention to detail. The host, Debbie, greeted us with a smile and was always more than happy to go the extra mile for us.

Helpful?
Thank pennymumma
GatewayInnNZ, Manager at GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Pennymumma, it was our pleasure. Hope to see you again, next time with the whole family :) More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

Positives: Rooms well appointed, clean, comfortable, warm and inviting. The hosts hospitable and nothing was too much. The breakfast, well cooked, and value for money Could do better: Entrance signage, dish towels I would happily return or recommend to others.

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masterton
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
19.5 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
19.0 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
South Park Motel
South Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#3 of 11 in Masterton
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
1.4 mi away
Highwayman Motel
Highwayman Motel
#4 of 11 in Masterton
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay