We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Turangi Bridge Motel

3.5 of 5 4600 State Highway 1 | P.O. Box 42, Turangi, New Zealand
Hotel website
Announcement
Free Unlimited Wi-Fi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turangi Bridge Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Turangi Bridge Motel
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    32
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
40
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night on our way to Wellington. Very clean comfortable unit. Great to have a restaurant on site after a long drive and for breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A comfortable motel, with an excellent restaurant attached. Helpful staff. My only, but significant criticism is that the kitchen area of our room was very poorly equipped - in fact the poorest we encountered in around 5 weeks of touring in New Zealand. Perhaps this is a slightly cynical ploy by the motel to 'encourage' guests to use the restaurant... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review & we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Your comments regarding the lack of kitchen facilities being a deliberate ploy to encourage restaurant use could not be more incorrect. For an additional $10 a night you had the option of booking a Kitchen Studio with a fully equipped kitchen with hot plates, an oven, a microwave and... More 

London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We came out of season with a very reasonable rate...for a small family run business it is very professional with friendly, helpful staff. The fresh, home-cooked food was incredible and to a very high standard. A bonus was the private spa which was lovely after a long drive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. It may be out of season in the UK but February is peak time here in NZ :-). January is a busy time for local holiday makers but February is the business month of the year here. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and our well priced services. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfortable, reasonably modern motel units. Absolutely great as gateway to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing or National Park. Bar and Restaurant on site, and very friendly, new owners. They picked me up and dropped me off at the local airfield, which was a very welcomed bonus in the miraculously taxi free environment of Turangi. The motel is next to the road,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I think a taxi might struggle to make money here in Turangi. Most of the rides would be less than 10 minutes! We're always willing to do that little bit extra whenever we can and we've picked people up from the Turangi Airfield on a number of occasions. Glad we could be of assistance and we'd... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Its right next to the street so you wouldn't think it would be cozy and quiet but it was. Its walking distance to the river. Perfect for people like me just passing by. But I hear there are lots of fishing activities that people come to the area for.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. The noisiest thing we have here is the sound of the river roaring by which is not a bad thing at all. There are plenty of fishing activities available yes as well as a wide range of other outdoor based activities such as rafting, hiking, biking, skiing and many more. There's lots to do for those... More 

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Turangi for a Hot Rod Swap meet and chose to stay here. Warm welcome comfortable beds yummy breakfast and so close to the river we got up and straight to the river to watch the fisherman awesome thank so much will stay again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Sitting on the river bank watching the fly fishing is a great relaxing thing to do. We do it ourselves when we get the chance. Thanks for the review and we'd love to have you stay with us again. More 

Auckland. NZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Brian and Kaye with their staff looked after us perfectly. Great home style meals, blackberry/ boysenberry crumble was delicious , free internet in all areas. Relaxing on the deck in late afternoon sun was a good way to socialise and share our experiences .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Free unlimited wireless internet is a must these days in our opinion and was the first thing we installed when we bought the business last September. We're pleased you enjoyed our value for money meals too. More 

Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So impressed with this facility. Owners so helpful to our group of 32 people. Location great and the food was fantastic. Loved the river and hiking trails. Rooms clean and neat and would definitely recommend for any traveling in this area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting a review. We enjoyed hosting your group and we're pleased you had such a pleasant experience. The walks around the area are often listed as a highlight and it's great that they are so accessible. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I staying at this motel as a stop over on our trip to Wellington for a Wedding. We were very impressed when the owner, Kaye showed us to our unit and then carried my bag into the unit. The unit was very neat and tidy and comfortable. It was a lovely quiet place to spend the night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind comments. Kaye is very helpful and obliging. I guess that's why I married her all those years ago! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Brian More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great not too expensive place to stay especially after you just finished hiking the Tongariro alpine crossing trek. Not a lot of restaurants near by though. There's no AC but you don't need it cause it cools down a lot in the evening.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting a review. Our guests find them very helpful. AC would be nice but the climate is generally quite temperate and there are only a few days a year when it's that hot AC would be truly warranted. We do have good heating though as we definitely need that in the winter! Brian More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Turangi Bridge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turangi Bridge Motel

Address: 4600 State Highway 1 | P.O. Box 42, Turangi, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turangi Bridge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Turangi Bridge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay