We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Turangi Bridge Motel

Hotel website
4600 State Highway 1 | P.O. Box 42, Turangi, New Zealand
Announcement
Free Unlimited Wi-Fi
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turangi Bridge Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Turangi Bridge Motel
Review This Hotel

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    34
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
43
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (102)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We spent two nights at this motel and enjoyed every aspect of it. Friendly staff and owners, comfortable beds and an outstanding restaurant. The best steak I have ever had! It was entertaining to watch the anglers fishing in the river.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There was nothing to complain about. Staff was very kind and helpfull, the room was clean, had everything we needed, the room was serviced daily, there was a restaurant just near to the motel and possibility of spa. Nice motel near the river, we liked that stay very much!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. Our on site restaurant is a Turangi favorite and having a fully licensed bar & restaurant on site is great for travelers who need a good meal and a warm bed. More 

Lexington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just returned from a four-week stay in New Zealand in which we stayed at 11 hotels ranging from city hotels to country resorts. This was our favorite. It wasn't pretentious, but it was comfortable & well-located. There were picnic tables overlooking the river, which made a great place to gather for an evening drink with our fellow travelers. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

I'm of the view that Internet Access is like running water now, a basic necessity that should be available as part of the standard rate and not an add-on you pay for. It's a pity it's so expensive in NZ which is the main reason a lot of places don't offer it for free. We're glad you enjoyed your stay... More 

Neptune Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this motel for 2 nights before and after hiking the Tongoriro Crossing. It's in a great location and was clean and comfortable. We were able to grab a beer and dinner at the cafe and then relax in the hot tub after our hike and that was wonderful! I forgot a bag at the hotel that contained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

I'm glad you received your belongings OK. Happy to help. It's a great spot for staying while you hike the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and the complimentary hot tub is always in high demand from those that have just completed the hike. The tub was out of action for a couple of days this week while I dismantled the pump and... More 

Whitianga, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the approach the Motel does not look inviting but drive around to reception and the perspective changes. Adjacent to the river, the Motel is well situated, grounds well kept, rooms comfortable and clean. All-in-all a good stay and a place to which we would return

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We agree it is a bit of a hidden gem and doesn't look like much from the big carpark outside but once you come in and see the wide open spaces and huge (usually green but currently quite brown) grassed areas it becomes very inviting. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night on our way to Wellington. Very clean comfortable unit. Great to have a restaurant on site after a long drive and for breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Our on-site restaurant is definitely a bonus. It's a bit too popular at times and we have had to turn some people away who hadn't booked a table. We hate to do that and we do our best to accommodate all diners but it just can't be done all the time. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A comfortable motel, with an excellent restaurant attached. Helpful staff. My only, but significant criticism is that the kitchen area of our room was very poorly equipped - in fact the poorest we encountered in around 5 weeks of touring in New Zealand. Perhaps this is a slightly cynical ploy by the motel to 'encourage' guests to use the restaurant... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review & we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Your comments regarding the lack of kitchen facilities being a deliberate ploy to encourage restaurant use could not be more incorrect. For an additional $10 a night you had the option of booking a Kitchen Studio with a fully equipped kitchen with hot plates, an oven, a microwave and... More 

London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came out of season with a very reasonable rate...for a small family run business it is very professional with friendly, helpful staff. The fresh, home-cooked food was incredible and to a very high standard. A bonus was the private spa which was lovely after a long drive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. It may be out of season in the UK but February is peak time here in NZ :-). January is a busy time for local holiday makers but February is the business month of the year here. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and our well priced services. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Comfortable, reasonably modern motel units. Absolutely great as gateway to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing or National Park. Bar and Restaurant on site, and very friendly, new owners. They picked me up and dropped me off at the local airfield, which was a very welcomed bonus in the miraculously taxi free environment of Turangi. The motel is next to the road,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I think a taxi might struggle to make money here in Turangi. Most of the rides would be less than 10 minutes! We're always willing to do that little bit extra whenever we can and we've picked people up from the Turangi Airfield on a number of occasions. Glad we could be of assistance and we'd... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Its right next to the street so you wouldn't think it would be cozy and quiet but it was. Its walking distance to the river. Perfect for people like me just passing by. But I hear there are lots of fishing activities that people come to the area for.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. The noisiest thing we have here is the sound of the river roaring by which is not a bad thing at all. There are plenty of fishing activities available yes as well as a wide range of other outdoor based activities such as rafting, hiking, biking, skiing and many more. There's lots to do for those... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question