We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Founders At Turangi

253 Taupahi Road, Turangi, New Zealand
Founders At Turangi
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
96 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Very nice set up you at this B&B - lots of common area to enjoy; lounge, outdoors and TV room - as well as comfortable rooms and friendly owners. Breakfast was nice and it was good overall. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
pukekocentralNI, Owner at Founders At Turangi, responded to this review

Thank you ! Glad you enjoyed your stay at Founders. It was a pleasure to meet you both. Kia Ora , Peter and Chris. More 

Hampshire England
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Stayed here for one night on our way to Napier. The house is spotless and well kept. We had the twin bed room which was spacious and very comfortable giving us the first proper nights sleep since we arrived in NZ. We also had use of a large guest lounge, ideal for a glass of wine in the evening. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pukekocentralNI, Owner at Founders At Turangi, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review ! It was a pleasure to meet you both and so glad you enjoyed your stay at Founders. Kia ora and thank you, Peter and Chris More 

Boston
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

An early November 2014 stay at Founders was an enjoyable experience except for the weather (which of course couldn't be controlled by the hosts). Chris and Peter provided a nice breakfast, interesting conversation and helpful insight into our planned hike on the Tongariro Crossing including assistance with scheduling the shuttle and updates on weather. Unfortunately, we decided against the hike... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pukekocentralNI, Owner at Founders At Turangi, responded to this review

Hello Scott, A few things in your review of our property were not correct. Our bedrooms are all a very good size rooms (no other complaints in 15 years ) AND you had exclusive use of a large modern lounge and a separate TV/Library room. I did not arrange transport for you to The Tongariro Alpine Crossing and you did... More 

Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our group of 6 stayed with Chris and Peter for 4 nights in Feb 2014. It was our first stop on a three week tour of NZ and it was a great one. Chris prepared a fantastic breakfast with fresh fruit and a choice of made to order hot entrees. She and Peter were very helpful in pointing out the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pukekocentralNI, Owner at Founders At Turangi, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you all stay and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our home in Turangi !! Kia Ora, Peter and Chris. More 

Ludlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed with Chris and Peter for 4 nights In February 2014. It was excellent - very comfortable, spotlessly clean and wonderful breakfasts. Chris went to a lot of trouble to work round our dietary restrictions so we ate very well indeed. She was also really helpful in suggesting excursions and booking restaurants, although, by then, we were so well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pukekocentralNI, Owner at Founders At Turangi, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us ! We enjoyed meeting you both ! Kia ora and thank you, Peter and Chris More 

Molndal, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

During our two days´ stay at Founders Turangi B&B we had a very good time. Chris and Peter were perfect hosts, very kind and helpful. The accommodation was nice, and clean and the beds were very comfortable. We specially admired and enjoyed Criss´ appliqués. A B&B we would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
pukekocentralNI, Owner at Founders At Turangi, responded to this review

Thank you for lovely review ! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and my quilts !! Thank you for your recommendation.We enjoyed meeting you both! Kia Ora and thank you, Peter and Chris. More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

So good we didn't want to leave! Clean, comfortable, quiet and very welcoming. Lovely chocolates each night at our bedside. Delicious freshly prepared breakfasts. Chris kindly reserved tables for our meals out during our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
pukekocentralNI, Owner at Founders At Turangi, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and your breakfasts in our home ! It was a pleasure to meet you both. Kia Ora and thank you, Peter and Chris. More 

Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Chris and Peter are friendly and very nice. We had access to their laundry facilities, which was a big help. It was just like being guests in their home. We had the living room to ourselves, very nice place to relax on a warm day. Close by running behind the house is the Tongariro River with a lovely public river... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pukekocentralNI, Owner at Founders At Turangi, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us! We are so glad that your stay with us was enjoyable and convenient for those doing The Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Great that you all enjoyed breakfast @ Founders!! Kia Ora and thank you , Peter and Chris. More 

Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at Founders for two nights, it is a great place in a great location,very convenient if you intend to walk the Tongariro Crossing.The rooms are spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The owners Chris and Peter are just the best, they are lovely people and it was a delight to spend time with them. Breakfast was first class, fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pukekocentralNI, Owner at Founders At Turangi, responded to this review

Thank you, to all of you, for your great review !! We enjoyed meeting you all and having you to stay ! Enjoyed some good laughs ! So glad, you had perfect weather to tick The Tongariro Alpine Crossing off your bucket list !! Hope the rest of your holiday in NZ goes perfectly ! Kia Ora and thank you,... More 

Wilmot47
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the lovely Founders at Turangi for four nights in February/March 2014 and enjoyed the experience immensely! From the warm welcome we Aussies received from Chris and Peter to the well appointed room with high quality and very tasteful furnishings this was an experience to savour. Turangi is a lovely small town in a great location on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pukekocentralNI, Owner at Founders At Turangi, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a great and very informative review! We loved meeting you both and having you to stay was a real pleasure. Thank you for sharing your catch of the day with us and other guests, staying at our place --- a real treat ! Hope to pop into see you when we are in Brisbane next... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question