We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Turangi B&Bs / inns

Ika Lodge

Save Saved
You added Ika Lodge to your Saves list
155 Taupahi Rd, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Ika Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Turangi B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Turangi
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
54 hotel reviews
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Ika Lodge is one of those B&Bs that you are occasionally very lucky to find. It definitely deserves an 'excellent' rating. Margaret and Ken are outstanding hosts and extremely helpful in organising trips or dinner bookings. Margaret was even able to arrange a massage which resolved my wife's hip pain ... the treatment enabled her to complete the Tongariro Crossing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you and it was a pleasure to have you both stay, trust the rest of your NZ holidays was a memorable experience. More

norwich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is the best B & B we have ever stayed in. Margaret and Ken are perfect hosts. We stayed 2 nights to be able to complete the Tongariro Crossing. Ken organised it all for us with early weather forecasts, bus booking, early call and early breakfast, packed lunch etc. The house and rooms are delightful and tea in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments we are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that the rest of your visit to NZ was as memorable More

Klosterneuburg, Austria
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
79 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this outstanding place run by Margaret and Ken who couldn´t do a better job as hosts. Of course breakfasts are excellent, rooms are perfect and surrounding gardens are lovely and quiet- but it´s Margaret´s and Ken´s personality making the difference. They really manage to make you feel like home. No matter travelling south to Wellington, east... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we love what we do and all the great people that we meet and hope that this goes someway to ensuring our guests have a memorable experience at Ika Lodge. We trust that your holiday in NZ was all and more than you expected. More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having spent a month travelling NZ including staying at the Wellington Club and Larnach Castle, the breakfasts Margaret provided excelled them all. The room was also always stocked with delicious home made biscuits AND there was a decanter of port! Margaret and Kenneth were incredibly helpful at short notice in booking transport for the Tongariro Crossing, providing packed lunches for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks, we like to think that breakfast at Ika Lodge is a meal that sends our guests off on the right foot for another day of exploration, it is nice to know that it is enjoyed. More

Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
360 reviews 360 reviews
128 hotel reviews
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a large modern, clean room, with cookies and tea on arrival, and port with glasses in a small anteroom for use later. The bed is large and comfortable, and the bath and shower are excellent. There is excellent wi-fi, and plenty of room for your laptop at the dining table--if you brought one. Margaret makes an excellent made-to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we have analysed the cost of credit card transactions and realised that with a small operation the costs were disproportionate, a number of similar operations to ours do not accept credit cards and also most hotels, airlines and petrol/gas stations levy a surcharge. We faced the choice of perhaps increasing our rates, which have been... More

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in the apartment and from the moment we arrived we knew we had made a perfect choice!! We were greeted by Margaret and Ken, who are the perfect hosts .. Always there for advice and assistance, but never in the way of privacy. The apartment is stunning, with a warm, welcoming lounge, great kitchen and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this review

We are please that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy the peaceful environment and some of the outdoor activities we offer in the area. It is very pleasing to hear that the effort we put in is appreciated and makes it all wothwhile. More

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Me and my wife stayed only for one night in December at Ika Lodge but it was a very pleasant stay. Margaret and Kenneth were lovely hosts and they helped us with preparations for Tongariro Crossing. Unfortunately, the weather turned out to be so bad we couldn't go but luckily there were other activities available. Margaret suggested we should try... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you and I am afraid mountain weather is unpredictable but we are glad we could suggest alternatives that highlighted the variety available in the Tongariro/Turangi area to our first Finnish guests. More

Deming, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We only stayed one night but I wish it had been longer. We were two couples who were referred here by another Turangi establishment that was full, and we are happy we were. Kenneth and Margaret's home, literally on the banks of the Tongariro River and near a great hiking trail, is spotlessly clean and beautiful. Their breakfast was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The owners, Kenneth and Margaret, went way above and beyond for us! The week before we arrived to hike the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, the volcano erupted and the crossing was closed down. After a few emails back and forth, we decided to come anyway. We could not be more pleased with our decision! By the time we arrived, they had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whylla, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Ika Lodge, it was lovely to have met fellow foodies and although disappointing not to be able to do the crossing we were glad that you enjoyed some of the other fantastic walks and scenery available in the Turangi/Tongariro area. More

Gleniffer
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This house is certainly beautiful and well appointed. It's location, adjacent to the walking track along the Tongariro river is handy for walks and still close to town. The breakfasts are probably the best we've encountered in New Zealand and we've had a few good ones. The rooms are spotlessly clean the guest lounge is very comfortable and attractive. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage Ika Lodge?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ika Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ika Lodge

Address: 155 Taupahi Rd, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay