We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Settlers Motel

3.5 of 5 24 Arahori Street, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Hotel website
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Settlers Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Settlers Motel
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    31
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
30
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (89)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a 2 night stay at the Settlers over the recent long weekend. We were greeted by Helen who was very welcoming and friendly. Our unit had 2 bedrooms with everything we needed. The gardens are lovely and the area is quiet, even though it is so close to the highway and supermarket shopping across the road. We used... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our stay at Settlers was a stop over on way to Hamilton. Helen provided a friendly greeting, and ensured we had everything we needed. Our room was very clean, the shower was good and the bed was very comfy. What a treat to have full sky channels to choose from. This is a very good motel - had everything we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night as part of a North island roadtrip. Very clean room with free wifi, and magazines were a nice touch! Everything you needed in kitchen - with an outside communal bbq area, again with everything you needed such as oil. Staff asked if there was anything further that people needed - very helpful. Decor is quite dated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

It is always appreciated when our guests take the time to review their stay with us - Thank you! The Spa can be quite romantic if you care to take a glass of wine with you and imagine yourself in the beautiful areas depicted in the wall murals!! We are happy that your stay was so enjoyable and we would... More 

Alta Loma, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay at the Settlers Motel was very nice. Room is nice and has everything you nee in the kitchen. Helen was a great host and has a lot of local knowledge. Ask her about things in the area you are interested in. I found her information on the local wildlife very useful and informative. Not a luxury motel but... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay at Settlers Motel. We are certainly lucky to have so much wildlife and bird-life in close proximity, especially our endangered Blue Ducks (Whio) breeding and living just a few minutes walk from our Motel. Thank you for your review and kind comments. More 

Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Settlers Motel was a nice stopover after driving all day. The room was clean, spacious and had everything we needed. We were near the grocery store and we made a nice breakfast in the kitchen. The restaurants in town were few and not great. We ended up at Valentino's for a mediocre meal, do not waste your money going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Settlers Motel. We are pleased you found our accommodation so pleasing even if you did find our little town "strange" - small maybe but big on hospitality with a choice of 12 Motels and about the same number of Lodges/B&B's. We also have 9 Restaurants & 5 Cafes in the area - not bad... More 

Vancouver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

We extended our planned one night stay to two nights because we found that Settlers Motel was a very pleasant base from which to explore the Turangi-Tongariro area, and because we found the accommodation to be comfortable and well located. Helen and Wayne are great hosts and were most helpful. Unlike many roadside motels, Settlers is all about grassy lawns... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is always pleasing to receive such a glowing recommendation and we hope you have the opportunity to return sometime and indulge in the Spa at the end of a days activities. More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and had such a lovely relaxing peaceful stay. Our host Wayne was incredible...nothing was too much trouble...even going online to sort out my wifi problems for me...and all with a smile. Cabins are very comfortable and warm and altho not luxurious just perfect for unwinding in after a long day on the hill. The hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

We always appreciate our guests sharing their accommodation experience with fellow travellers, thank you! We are pleased that you enjoyed your break in this beautiful part of New Zealand and hope you get the chance to return sometime. More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Warmly welcomed by the hosts and an even warmer room waiting on a cold, snowy night. This was the 3rd motel that we stayed in on our trip and by far the best in terms of amenities and comfort. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Settlers Motel. We are pleased that you found your experience with us so enjoyable and hopefully we will see you back again before too long. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We found this motel to be a good place to stay. As the units were separated you get the feeling that you are staying at a "County Home Stay". This excellent. The units are very well laid out and the kitchenette has excellent bench space. The en suite is adequate, given the age of the units. The hosts are excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you have the opportunity to return in the future. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We stayed for a night after skiing at whakapapa which was only 40mins away. Lovely and clean, quite comfortable. I couldn't help feeling like we were imposing on the hosts...lots of rules posted everywhere. No water around the spa, etc . And at ten minutes before check out time ( the morning of daylight savings beginning when 10am felt like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Claire. However I would just like to clarify a couple of points. Firstly you were certainly not “asked to move along” – your mother was outside and for some time had been moving between the 3 units your extended family occupied. As it was almost 10am and we had been assured the previous night that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Address: 24 Arahori Street, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Settlers Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay