We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Pauanui hotels

Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort to your Saves list
63%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
stgeorgesonthebend Hastings, New Zealand
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    159
    86
    43
    25
See reviews for
60
295
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (407)
  • Mar-May only
    (133)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (116)
All months
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went there and stayed at one of the newly refurbished RIMU Chalets. The room was spacious, grand and very private. Nice balcony but no views - but lots of native bush right up to the rail. Great bed and very mondern bathroom with free-standing bath. The lighting in the bathroom was not very good (dimable) when needing the mirror. The... More

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi stgeorgesonthebend, Thank you for taking the time to post this review after your recent stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It's great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Our newly refurbished apartments really are beautiful, and the surroundings are certainly tranquil and private. It is quite a unique property and, being built into the... More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very pretty resort, very pretty and very hilly! The single chalets give a sense of tranquility and peace but if you've got a lot of luggage or you're not feeling fit, you may need to wait for staff with a buggy or choose somewhere else. While there is no wifi in the chalets, there is a lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi MarlzL, Thank you for taking the time to post this feedback after your recent stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We're very glad to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. It really is such a beautiful and unique location with fantastic food and amenities available. It is disappointing to hear that you had a problem with wait... More

Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service and attitude of the staff made this a bad bad experience, not inline with our expectations for a 4-star accor hotel, 'grand mercure' even. This is a hotel made up of chalets - so there is lots of walking involved as you cannot park your car close by, plus no wifi in the chalets. This is perhaps part... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are sincerely sorry that you did not have the experience that you had hoped for. The hotel has been designed so that the rooms are nestled in the bush and as part of the architecture of the chalets there are cathedral ceilings with 2 triangular... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This the best place to be if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle. We booked in a Rimu Suite for two nights over a wet weekend and what a great get away. We were in Chalet 49, which had our own private balcony looking right into the bushes. We didn't have a great view of anything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi ClaudiaJHunt, Thank you for taking the time to post feedback after your recent stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It's great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. It really is a beautiful, tranquil location, which is perfect for a quite getaway at any time. With such a great location, and fantastic, newly-refurbished apartments overlooking the... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

The chalets were very nice and luxurious, we had 28 and 29. The only negative was the accessibility. We had to park in the car park and walk uphill to our chalet. This wasn't a comfortable walk at all and became very annoying, very quickly. Despite being advised we must park in the car park, not all guests followed these... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi Nicole S, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It is certainly a unique property, and after our recent refurbishments, the chalets now have a very luxurious feel, which we are glad you enjoyed. To accommodate the amazing views from the property,... More

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the Puka Park resort recently whilst on honeymoon in New Zealand. We stayed in one of the log cabins which we found extremely luxurious and felt so close to the rainforest and the wildlife outside - it was an awesome experience. Similarly excellent was the quality of the restaurant, where we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear David D, We are pleased that you had an "awesome experience" in your luxurious accommodation set amongst the rainforest & wildlife outside, and thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It's great that you found the staff friendly and welcoming. We look forward to hosting you again. More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We bought GRAB ONE vouchers to spend 4 days here for my husband's birthday....what a good decision. The chalets have been recently up-graded and are delightful. B/fast is quite like normal hotel fare, but better quality, loads of choice, extended times and on sunny mornings it is lovely to sit outside amongst the trees and listen to the birds. Dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear Hopeave, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It's fantastic that you enjoyed your stay for your husband's birthday and appreciated the refurbished chalets, the unrushed breakfasts in the sun, and the beautiful scenery. We look forward to your return visit. More

Brisbane
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the luxury appointments in the room/suite provided. We had a lovely dinner, the only difficulty was the walk from the room to the complex, however it am sure they would arrange transport if needed. Similarly, moving luggage to the room and distance to parking was an issue.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear fdKen, We are pleased that you enjoyed the luxury appointments in your room, and the lovely dinner, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. Due to it's location, it can be difficult to walk around, but our staff can always assist guests with the golf buggy. We look forward to welcoming you back. More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Loved this place and all it's character. Staff are very helpful, the room we had was warm, well appointed and felt very comfortable and the food is sensational, both dinner and breakfast. Some fittings are a bit outdated e.g the spa which is pretty underwhelming but overall I do recommend a getaway here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear mountlocal, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It seems you really loved the unique character of the property, together with the well appointed accommodation and sensational food. We would love to host you again. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, New Zealand

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay