We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

4.5 of 5 Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    165
    89
    44
    26
See reviews for
63
307
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (425)
  • Mar-May only
    (133)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (127)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Enjoyed my stay but it could have been better, loved the surrounding and where it is located. Pauanui waterways was such a sight and made up for the little disappointment I had from this resort. Out of 10 I would give it a 6. Still worth a look

Was this review helpful? Yes
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi AbbyNarelle, thank you for staying with us and for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Please get in touch with me gm@pukapark.co.nz if there are some suggestions you have on how we can improve. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Puka Park resort in Pauanui is a great concept, but very poorly executed. Our chalet was comfortable, but the lack of air-conditioning meant that we had to keep the slatted windows and sliding-glass door open for ventilation. There were no screens on the windows or doors, however, and because the resort is located in a heavily forested area we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear Brittrav20152, thank you for sharing your opinion of our resort here. We appreciate you taking the time to express your thoughts. Whilst we generally find the natural relaxed setting we are in is appealing, and provides a well deserved break to the vast majority of our guests, from time to time we find it's just not the experience that... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great to relax, switch off and explore the Coromandel Peninsula. Cabins with large balcony are spacious and comfortable. Restaurant ambiente and food was excellent. Staff very attentative and nice to chat with. You need transport to go and see all the attractions like Hot Water beach, Cathedral Cave and other locations within a days drive. But that's what you would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello Bernie V, thank you for your review. We are so happy you were able to relax and switch off. It's exactly what we love to hear. More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A little disappointed. Arrived after a long flight/drive to wait wait wait. Noone at reception for ages. Finally got to our cabin and the bed was unready and unmade for our daughter. Despite repeated requests prior to our visit. Restaurant had amazing views, but very expensive for quality of food. Pool area old and a bit dirty. Spa very old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi June C, firstly thank you for your review. I am terribly sorry that we overlooked setting up the extra bed on arrival, please accept my apologies for this. I will have our maintenance team follow up on your comments regarding the spa. Thank you again and I hope you enjoyed your journey back to Australia. More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In Pauanui on the Coromandel there is simply no alternative to Puka Park within an hour drive. The village is almost like a suburb of Auckland where wealthy Kiwis park their plane or boat next to their holiday homes. Puka Park, therefore, has a sort of monopoly and as travelers mostly stay just a few days during a NZ trip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello Manfred H, you are correct, there is simply no better place to be in Pauanui than Puka Park. Our location and completely renovated rooms and restaurant are a standout from the rest. This is certainly something that we do not take for granted. We aim to ensure that every guests feels relaxed and is able to enjoy this completely... More 

Canberra, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Recently enjoyed a night in the hotel midweek, hotel is in a great location in a great little town. Not much else around for dining options as all just about shuts down, though the hotel has good facilities for a picnic or to make your own meals (if you prefer to do your own thing). Staff were great and helped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jackshaw3, thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it's great to hear the staff were always available to lend a hand. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here once before and though we loved it we were hugely disappointed with the chef. So, hadn't returned. We decided, as we were to be travelling through this area to give it another go. We are SO glad we did. Now this hotel destination offers everything we love. Peace, tranquility, fabulous service, amazing ambience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello Greennz, Thank you so much for your review. Our new Head Chef Thomas is doing a fantastic job and with great new concepts like our outdoor Monday night BBQs our restaurant is really taking off. We look forward to your next visit we those batteries need recharging again. More 

New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

My husband and I spent three weeks touring Australia and New Zealand. The final part of our trip was on the north island of New Zealand. We wanted to visit Cathedral Cove so we decided to stay "close by" (45 min away) at the Puka Park resort. I chose this hotel based on the exceptional reviews I read online. Let... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello John-Sadie, thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to spend the last of your vacation with us. Our team do an awesome job which is evident in reviews like this. We hope to see you again on your next adventure to New Zealand. More 

Auckland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Our review is best summed up as a mixture of good and bad; What we liked; - chocolates on arrival - quiet and private room - having our own balcony - lovely shower What we didn't like; - buffet breakfast (although Scott did remedy this so we could order from the standard menu when we raised it as an issue)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello Scotsgirl7911, thank you for your great feedback. We apologise for the housekeeping issues that you face. They have been addressed. You are correct, we are a very unique location which is why we provide a buggy service to and from room and the carpark for all our guests. I'm glad you enjoyed the peacefulness of the resort. We look... More 

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I recently organised accommodation for a group of staff and had the pleasure of dealing with Martina. She was very accommodating and helpful and kept me updated prior to the booking. Cannot speak more highly of her; would absolutely recommend - our staff also have great things to say about the hotel itself.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi Atareta, Thank you for taking the time to post this review after your recent stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It's great to hear our amazing team of staff were so helpful and accommodating. They are a brilliant team and will go above and beyond to ensure all guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The property itself... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, New Zealand

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay