We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

4.5 of 5 Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    171
    89
    44
    26
See reviews for
64
315
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (436)
  • Mar-May only
    (133)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (138)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

2 couples joined us for a birthday dinner at Miha restaurant on a beautiful summers evening. We had attended a conference at the hotel 30 years ago and enjoyed the great views over Pauanui but the trees have grown so big it was hard to see anything of the beach at all. The restaurant looks to have had a makeover... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There are no signs until you are nearly upon Puka Park (we has to ask at the service station) so make sure you print out the map with directions (we didn't -- our fault). You can drive to Reception, then after that, must leave your car in the carpark below, but there is a golf buggy to ferry you and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi Margaret2037, thank you for your review. It's good to see our locals helping you out with directions, the signage rules are a little tough here, but we will keep working on getting some more up soon. Thank you for all your feedback and we hope you had a safe journey back to Australia. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Three of us recently dined at Miha restaurant on a Wednesday night as there was no where else in Pauanui open. We were lucky everything else was closed because otherwise we wouldn't have given ourselves the chance to have such a beautiful meal. From the moment we arrived upstairs at the restaurant we were given wonderful polite informative and friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jan P, thank you for that rave review. We' re always open, 7 nights a week, so look forward to welcoming you back again soon More 

Tairua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent the night at Puka Park and were treated extremely well. They knew we were celebrating our anniversary and there was chocolate in the chalet for us. We had a lovely Peruvian buffet for dinner and were given Cocktails. We ordered dessert which came on a plate decorated with Happy Anniversary all these extras were much appreciated. Thanks Puka... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello BettyOudney, thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. It's great to have our locals celebrating such special occasions with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the second stop on our tour - we spent 4 nights at the resort - the accommodation we beautiful especially the bathroom. It was like staying in a very posh tree house. As some of the other view have commented the reception area is a little odd. The bar and restaurant lacked atmosphere. We only ate there in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello Nuttytroll, thank you for your review of our very posh tree house... I love that description!! Your feedback is appreciated. We do have WIFI available in our main lodge and restaurant areas as well as two computers available for public use. Our reception team are always on standby to help you plan your day as well. I hope you... More 

London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed there in Jan 2015 for our honeymoon travelling around New Zealand. We spent 2 nights and were really impressed with the staff, quality of accommodation (like tree house chalets!) and excellent food. It is a little hard to find as area as a whole doesn't have a great amount of signs but once you're there it's a lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello keentraveller084, thank you for your review. It's great to see that you enjoyed your time here. We are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed a relaxing getaway. More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The reception area is bizarre, it looks like a temporary area is being used with an old wooden desk. The restaurant was very average, it looks as if it has had some recent refurbishment but its an odd mix of the old wooden ceilings and pillars with some more contemporary fixtures. Not very appealing to the eye and very gloomy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello GoodTriptips, it always nice to hear individual opinion on our refurbishment, thank you for sharing yours. Our designers did a great job at keeping the history of the building whilst adding in the modern comforts we all enjoy. I appreciate your feedback regarding the issue with the milk, we will fix this. Thank you again for taking the time... More 

London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A really lovely hotel. We had a lodge in the trees. It was very high quality and the service and staff were excellent. The food was superb and we would recommend this hotel highly. There is a lovely beach just a 3 minute drive from the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello Frank M, thank you so much for your feedback. We certainly enjoyed having you stay with us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday and have a safe journey home. More 

Whitianga, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are locals and decided to dine here last night. It was DIVINE. We will definitely become regulars here. We started with sushi for the husband and prawn dumplings for me. Very tasty and balanced. Followed by the steak mains. hubby had 26 day old aged fillet mignon and I had the smoked rib eye fillet. Absolutely melt in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi JulieHewison thank you so much for your fantastic review. Thomas Briggs, our head Chef, and the team have been doing an amazing job in Miha Restaurant. It's great to hear that you enjoyed everything. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, New Zealand

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay