We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Salt Cay hotels

Tradewind Guest Suites on Salt Cay

Victoria Street | (north section of town 1/2 block to the Deane's Dock), Salt Cay
Hotel amenities
Tradewind Guest Suites on Salt Cay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Tradewind Guest Suites on Salt Cay to your Saves list
96%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salt Cay
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014
KayakBob Saratoga CA
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (29)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Saratoga CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I recently concluded a 7-night stay on Salt Cay. Our motivation for the visit was the diving. Salt Cay is not for everyone; the island is very rustic with few activities other than diving. But we thoroughly enjoyed our week here. The Tradewinds is also a bit rustic but we were very comfortable here. The location is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
splash004, Manager at Tradewind Guest Suites on Salt Cay, responded to this review

Thanks so very much for writing a review. It really helps us better our services and make sure you were happy with your stay. You are correct, Salt Cay is not for everyone. Onlyt those who want a true experience of what the Caribbean was 25 years ago, but still is on Salt Cay. Thanks again and hope you retun More

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The tradwinds is a special remote place to me and my husband. As a board member of the Charlotte hammerheads,we made our first visit to salt cay in 2003. Debbie Manos, extrodinaire, made our trip memorable. For those that want 3,4,5 star amenities, this is not for you. This is a remote island, but such a romantic gem. We have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
splash004, Manager at Tradewind Guest Suites on Salt Cay, responded to this review

Thanks so very much for you kind review. So happy that you spent your valuable holiday time with us. Love to have you back. Have a fantastic summer and hope to see you in the near future. More

Valley Center, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The view was great, the location is very easy for getting around. It is not fancy but it was perfect for my new husband and I. It was clean and tidy. Any stuff that went wrong, Willy (and Richard at one point) took great care of us in getting things going without delay. The hammocks by the beach had mold... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
splash004, Manager at Tradewind Guest Suites on Salt Cay, responded to this review

Thanks so very much for your review. It is really helpful for us to keep in touch with how our guests feel about their lodging. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here and hope we see your smiling faces in the near future. Debbie More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We saw whales go back about 100 yards out. Debbie who runs the place is awesome. Her dive master RIchard it also great! THe accomadations are not luxgerous but we went to dive so dive vacs are not high class. The lack of people on the island is great! about 30 live there. There is not much shopping or site... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
splash004, Manager at Tradewind Guest Suites on Salt Cay, responded to this review

Thanks so very much for your kind words. There are about 101 of us locally, just feels like you own a piece of the island, so seems like fewer people. Come join us again in the near future. Debbie More

Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Tradewinds was a great place to stay on Salt Cay. Debbie made sure the unit was mopped with viniger instead of pine-sol and that no air freshers were sprayed so our sinuses would be ready for diving. Tradewinds was basic but a super value. We had everything we needed in our unit including bikes to explore the island. Having the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
splash004, Manager at Tradewind Guest Suites on Salt Cay, responded to this review

Thanks so very much for your kind review. I sure hope you had a wonderful time and will rturn in the near future. Debbie More

Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

If you are looking for a spot off the beaten path where you can dive in 77 degree water with beautiful reefs, beautiful fish and humpback whales,this is the spot. We traveled to Salt Cay during humpback whale season (we were there February 22-27, 2013) and were not disappointed. Debbie picked us up at the airport and brought us to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
splash004, Owner at Tradewind Guest Suites on Salt Cay, responded to this review

Thanks so very much for coming to visit us on Salt Cay. Loved having you and hope you had a wonderful time. Stay warm:) More

Rideau Ferry
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Tradewinds was everything it was advertised as. Good quality basic accommodation. No frills but nothing lacking either. As many have noted there is almost always a good breeze blowing through the property so we never saw a need to use the A/C, proximity to the Coral Reef Bar & Grill and Salt Cay Divers was a real plus. Dining... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
splash004, Owner at Tradewind Guest Suites on Salt Cay, responded to this review

Thanks so very much for your kind review and particularly for staying with us on Salt Cay. Loved meeting you both and hope you will return in the near future. More

Willemstad, Curacao
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had a nice stay in the Tradewinds with view of the ocean. The appartement has everything you might need incl bicycles. A very nice and relaxed stay and made it possible to go diving as much as possible !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had a fantastic 4 day stay with Debbie at the Tradewinds. Debbie picked us up at the airport, gave us a briefing on the island and showed us to our room. The room was cozy with a living area, kitchenette (Electric Stove, sink, refrigerator, utensils and dishware) bathroom, large bedroom and an ocean facing screened in porch. The breeze that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had a great stay on salt cay. Went for a diving trip and Debbie took care of everything. Makes for a worry free stay. Tradewinds is a great place for basic accommodations and is on the ocean and close to dive shop and to two (of three) restaurants on the island. Debbie runs coral reef bar and grill right by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tradewind Guest Suites on Salt Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewind Guest Suites on Salt Cay

Address: Victoria Street | (north section of town 1/2 block to the Deane's Dock), Salt Cay
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Salt Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Tradewind Guest Suites on Salt Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewind Guest Suites On Salt Cay Turks And Caicos

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay