We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Ecclefechan B&Bs / inns

Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kirkconnel Hall Hotel to your Saves list
78%
Ranked #2 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014
Mark A
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    18
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed recently in the chalet. It is very tired and needs a good clean and redecorating everywhere. Expensive for the standard. Pictures do not show hall how it is now. Trains very noisy. Owner was pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us & even more disappointed that you did not give us the opportunity to remedy or rectify any of the issues you have raised. As you can see from the number of positive reviews we have had of our chalet, it did... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stopped off here to break the journey from the Scottish Highlands to Cheshire with our dog, it turned out to be the just what we needed. The building itself is full of character, the owner was very helpful and the food (traditional fare) was of really good quality, and was plentiful. As dog lovers we think this place is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review of our property & in particular our dog friendly policy. We do hope you will vist us again in the near future. Thank you. More

Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hotel was nice enough, lots of history to look at (Though the strange mannequins dotted around were quite out of place), the grounds were nice to walk through too. The rooms were a little rustic but the beds were comfortable enough for me and my wife to get a good nights sleep before continuing on our journey up to Scotland.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & we will certainly take on board your comments regarding the continental breakfast & look at introducing some additional items. We do offer the option of a full cooked breakfast but you possibly did not want something as substantial. We... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I couldn't fault this place really, I said for 2 nights for a wedding in gretna with the groom family, the couple that run it were friendly and made a real effort to talk to us and accommodate us. The 3 dogs that live there were also great! Beautiful surroundings and a very quirky style hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your most kind review of our property. We are so pleased you enjoyed our hospitality & facilities & hope you will visit us again soon! More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

When you go thorouh the front dorr, you are confronted with a couple of manneguins sitting on chairs in the hall. There are other similarly bizarre touches around the public rooms but our bedroom was perfectly normal and functional. Unfortunately there was a machine rumbling in the early morning near our room. The food was ok and good value but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed you did not completely enjoy your stay with us, the hotels character & interior has been part of its appeal & attraction for a lot of our patrons. However we understand it will not be to everybody's taste & that is something we will take onboard and address for the future.... More

Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Not sure if this is the place to write this review as ours was not an overnight stay. I ran a small business meeting for one day (second time we have been there). Only a dozen or so of us. Pre meeting, the gear I required was sorted out, only a relatively small deposit was required, the requirements for coffee,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Karl, Thanks for the fantastic review of our hotel!!! I did at first think it was my funny ear your were referring to however LOL......:) We are so pleased all was too your liking & hopefully we will welcome you back to the Kirkconnel Hall Hotel again in the near future. All the best! More

Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights the room was comfortable clean and the bath was a nice deep large one big enough for 2 ;) the owner and his employees could not be more helpful and the food in the restaurant was excellent value. We will certainly stay again when we get the chance

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely & positive review of our property, both myself & my team are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future! More

Linlithgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I spent two nights at the Kirkconnel Hall. This is a great old-fashioned hotel with a friendly ambiance. John and Babs look after you, with laughs! Around every corner there is something to look at, sometimes with amazement. Lots of clocks, none of which show the correct time! Two lovely dogs keep you company in the bar where I enjoyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for kind review & we are so glad your stay brought back some lovely memories from the past. As always our two dogs seem to be the most popular attractions within the hotel, slightly jealous! If you visit us again & I sincerely hope you do I will ensure at least one of the many clocks show the... More

Stockport , England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stopped here for 2 nights on the way back from Perthshire. It was our second stay here and we absolutely loved it both times. The owners are really friendly , enthusiastic and make you feel really welcome. Rooms are comfy and the food in the Restaurant is just amazing. We stay at a lot of hotels and I don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review of our hotel. It is even more satisfying to know that you have returned to stay with us again, it lets us know we are doing something correct. I have informed Babs of the "Best Food in Britain" comment & I am slightly worried she is considering challenging Gordon... More

Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is a large old manor house with lots of history. The innkeepers, John and Babs, are great. This B&B was centrally located for the places we wanted to explore - Johnston Clan, Hadrian's Wall, and the lands of Robert the Bruce. John and Babs have an establishment that feels like home away from home. Coming back each evening from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our property, it was much appreciated. We are overjoyed to hear you enjoyed our hospitality, food & most importantly - alcohol!!!!! Hoping you will visit us again in the not too distant future & we will ensure a glass of your favourite tipple is ready & waiting! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kirkconnel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Address: Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkconnel Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kirkconnel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay