We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    64
    22
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
22
65
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (112)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting for a wedding in the area. Interesting antiques , room very spacious and clean. Comfy bed white fluffy towels in bathroom Good meal in restaurant first night reasonably priced. Owner very helpful and friendly helped us sort the taxi to wedding venue. Loved the friendly but unobtrusive resident dogs! Good Wifi

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location for touring the Borders region of Scotland. Close to Gretna, Lockerbie and Carlyle in England. The hotel was situated on wonderful grounds, was very comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly.. Meals were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review & we are so pleased you enjoyed your short break with us. All the staff are pleased with your comments & your lovely comments regarding our food will be passed onto the kitchen brigade. We hope you will visit us again in the near future. Thank you. More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Don`t expect a modern experience,this is a very big rambling historic building of some age- but it provides a comfortable stay .The host displays the dry `Derbyshire gentleman`style of his origins-and provides exceptionally good food for his guests.He has put his flair for good taste decoration to good use in the dining rooms- which remind you of a top notch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for the review & we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you will visit us again in the near future. Thank you. More 

Selby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a two nights stay at the kirkconnel hall hotel on a voucher which was very good value for money. The owner John and his wife I think her names Babs but not sure, are really friendly, they made us feel so welcome as did their two dogs Rosie & Loui. The locals who visited the bar in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is very much appreciated. We do indeed hope you will visit us again in the near future & thank you once again for staying with us. Kindest Regards More 

Longniddry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights with voucher but were a bit disappointed. We are not dog lovers but although 2 resident dogs did not bark much or jump up I felt it was wrong that they were allowed in dining rooms and to lie on furniture in bar area. They advertise continental breakfast and feel they should stick to this as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for the review of our property & we appreciate the comments you have made & they will be used in a constructive manner as all our guests feedback is. The resident house pooches are not allowed in the dining areas, however it would appear the morning you stayed & on some other occasions they do manage to... More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights on a voucher offer and was very pleasantly surprised. If you are expecting 5* luxury, then this is not the place to stay - but if you want to stay in a clean, homely, welcoming place then you have found it! John - the owner, is always on hand to make sure you have all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review & we hope you will visit us again very soon. Thank you! More 

Northwest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Unfortunately, there is not anything really positive I can say about our experience at this hotel. I bought a voucher for a 2 night stay with breakfast and we arrived 2 weeks ago to a food delivery van in the car park and a closed and locked door with a note pinned to it, stating that they'd had to go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly we are very disappointed to note your comments on our property & we apologise profusely for any inconvenience caused. We accept the issues you have raised in their entirety & from our perspective it was simply an unfortunate chain of events which were set off by an emergency we had to leave the property for. We then got delayed... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last Friday & Saturday. We very much enjoyed our stay. The owners John & Babs were very welcoming & made us feel very relaxed and at home. They have 2 dogs Rosa & Louie who were adorable, well behaved and who gave us a lovely welcome each time we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for your most kind review of our property, it is very much appreciated. We thank you for your kind comments & are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including our more than hospitable resident friendly dogs!!!!! We hope you enjoy the rest of your year & look forward to welcoming you to the Kirkconnel... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

My husband and I as well as our two friends Stayed at this lovely country house hotel for two nights using an voucher deal it is very quirky lots of beautiful features the double room we had was very comfortable with the usual tea coffee bathroom was a nice size with an over the bath shower lots of hot water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your very complimentary review of our property & we hope you will visit us again in the near future. More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Spent a very enjoyable and relaxing 2 night stay at this lovely hotel. Rooms were clean and comfy and nicely decorated. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. John was friendly and sociable. His two dogs are well behaved and loved a pat on the head. Would have no hesitation in returning and hope to do so later in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your kind review & do indeed hope you will visit us again in the near future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay