We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Ecclefechan B&Bs / inns

Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kirkconnel Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
Ranked #2 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
FionaDC London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (81)
  • Photos (19)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
43
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When you go thorouh the front dorr, you are confronted with a couple of manneguins sitting on chairs in the hall. There are other similarly bizarre touches around the public rooms but our bedroom was perfectly normal and functional. Unfortunately there was a machine rumbling in the early morning near our room. The food was ok and good value but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed you did not completely enjoy your stay with us, the hotels character & interior has been part of its appeal & attraction for a lot of our patrons. However we understand it will not be to everybody's taste & that is something we will take onboard and address for the future.... More

Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Not sure if this is the place to write this review as ours was not an overnight stay. I ran a small business meeting for one day (second time we have been there). Only a dozen or so of us. Pre meeting, the gear I required was sorted out, only a relatively small deposit was required, the requirements for coffee,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Karl, Thanks for the fantastic review of our hotel!!! I did at first think it was my funny ear your were referring to however LOL......:) We are so pleased all was too your liking & hopefully we will welcome you back to the Kirkconnel Hall Hotel again in the near future. All the best! More

Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights the room was comfortable clean and the bath was a nice deep large one big enough for 2 ;) the owner and his employees could not be more helpful and the food in the restaurant was excellent value. We will certainly stay again when we get the chance

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely & positive review of our property, both myself & my team are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future! More

Linlithgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I spent two nights at the Kirkconnel Hall. This is a great old-fashioned hotel with a friendly ambiance. John and Babs look after you, with laughs! Around every corner there is something to look at, sometimes with amazement. Lots of clocks, none of which show the correct time! Two lovely dogs keep you company in the bar where I enjoyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for kind review & we are so glad your stay brought back some lovely memories from the past. As always our two dogs seem to be the most popular attractions within the hotel, slightly jealous! If you visit us again & I sincerely hope you do I will ensure at least one of the many clocks show the... More

Stockport , England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stopped here for 2 nights on the way back from Perthshire. It was our second stay here and we absolutely loved it both times. The owners are really friendly , enthusiastic and make you feel really welcome. Rooms are comfy and the food in the Restaurant is just amazing. We stay at a lot of hotels and I don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review of our hotel. It is even more satisfying to know that you have returned to stay with us again, it lets us know we are doing something correct. I have informed Babs of the "Best Food in Britain" comment & I am slightly worried she is considering challenging Gordon... More

Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is a large old manor house with lots of history. The innkeepers, John and Babs, are great. This B&B was centrally located for the places we wanted to explore - Johnston Clan, Hadrian's Wall, and the lands of Robert the Bruce. John and Babs have an establishment that feels like home away from home. Coming back each evening from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our property, it was much appreciated. We are overjoyed to hear you enjoyed our hospitality, food & most importantly - alcohol!!!!! Hoping you will visit us again in the not too distant future & we will ensure a glass of your favourite tipple is ready & waiting! More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a weekend . Was lovely place atmosphere lovely . Food was really delicious . Only thing was my parents room was above laundry room and noise was really bad did advise owner but was advised would be off soon . Next morning again noise was shocking. Otherwise stay was lovely only draw back with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are really pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere & friendliness of our hotel. I do apologise about the noise your parents experienced during their stay, I believe it may have been the kitchen extraction system which was the source of the noise. Unfortunately it is a health & safety requirement that we have the... More

Derby
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Again we headed north for a trip into Scotland, I was wanting somewhere to stay for a couple of nights before heading up into Argyll, the borders in Dumfries and Galloway have always been a particular favourite of mine, more importantly was the need for a dog friendly establishment. Kirkconnel answered all my requirements. John the proprietor met us on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property, although can I just point out that we are the Kirkconnel Hall Hotel & not the Ecclefechan Hotel. I do hope your superb review was meant for us...............we are taking credit for it anyway!!! We do hope you will visit us again in the future... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay, first impressions were great, beautiful real fire burning and met with 2 lovely, friendly dogs and John the owner. Check in was very quick and managed the maize of stairs to our room. Room was nice with big bathroom, bit chilly at times, ok when heating was on though. We had dinner both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review & we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies for the periods you felt cold, if you had informed us of this we could have put in a convection heater into your room which would have taken any chill away. (Let us know next time!) Babs has a smile... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed with my girlfriend using a voucher from one of the online discount websites. After We had a fright on arrival at a sign on the hotel front door stating that "we are closed due to unforeseen circumstances"! Turned out the owners were out getting supplies. Check in was smooth and we were directed up to our room. Just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, we apologise for the rather alarming note on the door, however running out of bacon & eggs is an emergency for some!!! In terms of the maze of stairs & corridors, we do our best to signify directions but needless to say I still get lost, so I feel your pain! We... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kirkconnel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Address: Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkconnel Hall Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kirkconnel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
11

See which rooms travelers prefer