We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

3.0 of 5 Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    19
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
46
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

our second visit to this wonderfull eclectic country house hotel arrived new years eve for a two night stay as usual the welcome was warm and welcoming with roaring log fires and freindly atmosphere John and the team making everyone feel at home exellent food very comfortable rooms and the team are always helpfull with ideas for sightseeing in this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

All the best to you both for 2015!!! Thanking you kindly for the very positive review you have given of your stay over Hogmanay, we are so pleased to learn that your stay was enjoyable & we hope to see you sooner rather than later this year. Kindest Regards All at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel More 

Doncaster
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

We spent two nights at the Kirkconnel Hall on the 10th & 11th May 2014 . This is a great old-fashioned hotel with a friendly ambiance. John and the staff really looked after us, John is only to happy to help and answer questions about the local area give you ideas where to go etc he is a really amazing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I will endeavour to get the clocks sychronised for your return!!! Wishing you a lovely Christmas & all the best for 2015! More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Thanks to john babs and all staff for a wonderfull stay. 4 Wifi boxes great signal. Close to ecclefechan nice village. Grounds need more maintainance. Food is great. lovely place to have a break. Stayed in nearby hotels before and this is my favourite.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you ever so much for your most kind review, it did put a smile on my face for you to say that Kirkconnel Hall was your most favourite hotel.......in this area!!! We hope you will visit us again in the near future & we will endeavour to putsome work into the grounds for your return. Thank you ever... More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed recently in the chalet. It is very tired and needs a good clean and redecorating everywhere. Expensive for the standard. Pictures do not show hall how it is now. Trains very noisy. Owner was pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us & even more disappointed that you did not give us the opportunity to remedy or rectify any of the issues you have raised. As you can see from the number of positive reviews we have had of our chalet, it did... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stopped off here to break the journey from the Scottish Highlands to Cheshire with our dog, it turned out to be the just what we needed. The building itself is full of character, the owner was very helpful and the food (traditional fare) was of really good quality, and was plentiful. As dog lovers we think this place is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review of our property & in particular our dog friendly policy. We do hope you will vist us again in the near future. Thank you. More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hotel was nice enough, lots of history to look at (Though the strange mannequins dotted around were quite out of place), the grounds were nice to walk through too. The rooms were a little rustic but the beds were comfortable enough for me and my wife to get a good nights sleep before continuing on our journey up to Scotland.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & we will certainly take on board your comments regarding the continental breakfast & look at introducing some additional items. We do offer the option of a full cooked breakfast but you possibly did not want something as substantial. We... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I couldn't fault this place really, I said for 2 nights for a wedding in gretna with the groom family, the couple that run it were friendly and made a real effort to talk to us and accommodate us. The 3 dogs that live there were also great! Beautiful surroundings and a very quirky style hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your most kind review of our property. We are so pleased you enjoyed our hospitality & facilities & hope you will visit us again soon! More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

When you go thorouh the front dorr, you are confronted with a couple of manneguins sitting on chairs in the hall. There are other similarly bizarre touches around the public rooms but our bedroom was perfectly normal and functional. Unfortunately there was a machine rumbling in the early morning near our room. The food was ok and good value but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed you did not completely enjoy your stay with us, the hotels character & interior has been part of its appeal & attraction for a lot of our patrons. However we understand it will not be to everybody's taste & that is something we will take onboard and address for the future.... More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Not sure if this is the place to write this review as ours was not an overnight stay. I ran a small business meeting for one day (second time we have been there). Only a dozen or so of us. Pre meeting, the gear I required was sorted out, only a relatively small deposit was required, the requirements for coffee,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Karl, Thanks for the fantastic review of our hotel!!! I did at first think it was my funny ear your were referring to however LOL......:) We are so pleased all was too your liking & hopefully we will welcome you back to the Kirkconnel Hall Hotel again in the near future. All the best! More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights the room was comfortable clean and the bath was a nice deep large one big enough for 2 ;) the owner and his employees could not be more helpful and the food in the restaurant was excellent value. We will certainly stay again when we get the chance

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely & positive review of our property, both myself & my team are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kirkconnel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Address: Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkconnel Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kirkconnel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay