We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Sperlonga hotels

Virgilio Grand Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Prima Romita 33, 04029 Sperlonga, Italy
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Virgilio Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Virgilio Grand Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
76%
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Sperlonga
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
7characters London
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    155
    57
    25
    11
See reviews for
92
207
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We opted to stay in Sperlonga for 2 of our 5 nights in Italy before heading off to Rome. Virgillio Grand Hotel was everything we needed: a chilled hotel, close to the beach, which suited a young person's budget. The drinks in the mini bar were free for the first day, the pool was clean and the breakfast buffet, included... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights,having spent 4 nights in Rome at the Waldorf Astoria Cavalieri (see separate review). Comparing the 2 hotels would normally be unfair but as the prices were similar we had expectations of of this hotel which were not met. Speaking of which we were not met from the train station by the car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike, we thank you for your review about your stay in Sperlonga. We are very glad to read that you appreciated the town of Sperlonga, the reception staff and the maintenance of Virgilio Grand Hotel. We are very sorry that other services have not satisfied you. We apologize and we assure you that we will do our best to... More

Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel for few days; lets start to say that for reaching it by private car you have to make a tortuous narrow private street and then go to the wrong side,,,,i think the hotel should advise! the parking is open-air and 5 euros per day,,,this should be free for guests,,,,,according to the most of the hotels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RagazzaCapricciosa, We thank you for your review about your stay at Virgilio Grand Hotel. We are very sorry to read that the hotel and all the services, including tortuous narrow private street, did'nt satisfy you. We assure you that the hotel has been built ten years ago. We try to do our best to make the stay of our... More

Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you a lot virgilio hotel to have us it was a pleasure to be there !!!! The hotel is cute and we were very happy in sperlonga gaeta terracina and ponza. Sincerly!very nice room and cute pool !!! The people are friendly and we just love it!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Client, we thank you for your fantastic review about your stay at Virgilio Grand Hotel. We are very pleased to hear and to know that you have appreciated the services, all staff of the hotel, Sperlonga, Gaeta, Terracina and Ponza. We're looking forward to welcome you again in Sperlonga and, thanking you for the preference, we remain. Yours very... More

Rome, Lazio, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Booked on line and was not informed about the room.... Attic with low ceiling ... No possibility of even opening the window . 100 degrees and malfunctioning AC!!!Old bathroom ... Very little water in evening.. The hotel lido was far away ... And an unpleasant gentleman decided who would get the best seats on the beach. Never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Spent three days at this location. We kept being badly surprised by several issues: hotel doesn't provide towels, charging 5 euros for a pool towel, 20 euros to get access to the beach with an umbrella and two chairs. The internet didn't work for the whole stay even though I complained every day and every day I was told to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you for your review about your stay at Virgilio GH on Sperlonga. We are very glad to read that some our services like the pool side and the buffet breakfast satisfied you We apologise for the inconvenient caused by internet that didn't work during your stay. It was a technical problem and we were unable to... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were given room 204, which thinking back I think I had read was not a good room. I actually had booked a Superior Double which was supposed to include a sofa bed (for the 2 kids) and a large double. There was no sofa bed. They put a small foldaway bed but the kids fell out and spent some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Client, We are very sorry to read your review about your stay in Sperlonga. We can assure you that we do our best to satisfy the wishes of clients. We apologize if it didn't happen with you and the accomodation created you some problems. Anyway, we thank you for the preference and your suggestions to offer a better accomodation... More

london
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Reasonably priced, decent sized rooms and clean. Has parking but you are charged 10 euro a day - this is not made clear on arrival. Decent pool area and hotel is 5 min walk to beach and to piazza with cafés. Breakfast is poor, we ended up going out to local cafe. Good beach club where you can pre book... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Hotel generally very clean, good sized rooms and good facilities. Great position for both beach and hilltop old town in Sperlonga. There is a shuttle service to the beach which is about 20 minute walk, but we preferred the stroll, with an Aperol Spritz on the way back! Staff generally helpful, breakfast adequate. We didn't eat here as dining room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Client, We thank you for your kind review about your stay in Sperlonga. The management and staff of the hotel are very glad to read your satisfaction and they appreciate your kind words. We do our best to render the stay of our clients the best comfortable as possible. We are also pleased to hear that you have appreciated... More

Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The hotel is located in very good place, but some facts are required to write. We had apartement in the 1st floor, far from the reception desk (which is not a problem yet). In fact that it was near the ground (and above garage) we had in our balcony and our rooms lots of red ants. When we told about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for your review about your stay in Sperlonga. We are very sorry to hear that our staff didn't help you when you contacted them about some problems with your room. We usually do our best to satisfy the wishes of our clients. This time we have failed and we apologize for the inconvenience. We hope... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Virgilio Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Virgilio Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgilio Grand Hotel

Address: Viale Prima Romita 33, 04029 Sperlonga, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Sperlonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Virgilio Grand Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Virgilio Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Grand Sperlonga
Hotel Virgilio Grand

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
0:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sperlonga with
any amenities