We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Residence Zanzibar

Certificate of Excellence
Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Residence Zanzibar
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

649 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a few days vacation as a very last minute trip decided on the Residence in Zanzibar for 6 nights. We are very much independent travellers and organised the hotel directly and the transfers. The trip for the airport is fairly long 1hour + and a little bit of unpaved roads but was fine. First of all we were... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Simon W
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived after a long and tiring safari trip in this wonderful property on the magical island of Zanzibar. We had expected a truly five-star experience. Interestingly my parents had booked their trip via a Swiss tour operator. They paid in excess of 1500$/night for a full all-inclusive stay including a private butler service which was nowhere to be found.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Docsalsa
LisaJacksonTRZ, Manager at The Residence Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Residence Zanzibar on Tripadvisor and sharing these comments with me at lunch. As you know, I have just started my tenure, this past Monday and as I mentioned to you, I am aware of the highlighted challenges that you have raised. I am most... More 

devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First visit to Zanzibar and was not disappointed in this lovely setting, each villa is spacious,immaculately looked after, and to top it all you have your own private pool. A perfect location for relaxation and peacefulness,not the place to go if you are looking for lot's of noise and distraction. Only had one small problem, which was soon sorted in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank holidayfanDevon
TRZ2014, General Manager at The Residence Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your time to post a review. I look forward seeing you again at The Residence by Cenizaro. Regards, Julian Burton More 

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed in July 2015 and I am sorry it's taken me so long to write this. We were the luckiest people on the planet as when we stayed only 8 villas were occupied so the service was amazing! On our first evening we were a little disappointed with the lack of sea view from our villa... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs C
TRZ2014, General Manager at The Residence Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I will share your great review with all my managers and staff. We wish you a safe return and we look forward seeing again at The Residence by Cenizaro. Regards, Julian Burton More 

UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came in December with my sister to celebrate my birthday and RELAX, which was just what we did..... excellent hotel and excellent staff, can't name them all but they all went out of their way to make sure we had a great time and were looked after. I see some people complaining about slow service on here, but you are... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Digs00
TRZ2014, General Manager at The Residence Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were delighed to see your review. Hope to see you soon back at The Residence by Cenizaro. Regards, Julian Burton More 

europe
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

1 hour drive or so from zanzibar city. the place is somewhat secluded and perfect for travellers looking for relaxed holidays. there are some tours organised and a small village at 3 km but most guests seemed to enjoy staying in the resort, around the pool. First, staff is really nice with outstanding service. Second, the resort is nice, everyone... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank patricetrotter
TRZ2014, General Manager at The Residence Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review. I will discuss them with our management team and we look forward seeing you again at The Residence by Cenizaro. Regards, Julian Burton More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The resort was spectacular with amazing accommodation, activities, entertainment and staff. The views were out of this world and service with a smile seems to be the order of the day. The private pool and beaches were well worth it. A special thank you to Charles, Rahul and Julian for making our stay as five star as five star can... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lahldas
TRZ2014, General Manager at The Residence Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review. I will pass your compliments to all staff mentioned and we look forward having you back at The Residence by Cenizaro. Regards, Julian Burton More 

Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Rooms are great, pool very nice, service generally very helpful with just the occasional miss-fire. Evening entertainment was enjoyable. Cocktails and bar good. Beach very tidal so don't rely on swimming. Food tended to get a bit repetitive. Bikes were a nice touch. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Helpful?
3 Thank JonnersB
TRZ2014, General Manager at The Residence Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your great review. Yes, low tides sometimes affect the Indian Ocean specially during periods of Full moon. We look forward having you back at The Residence by Cenizaro. Regards, Julian Burton More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

Having travelled to various locations in the Indian Ocean we wanted somewhere different and decided on Zanzibar and we were not disappointed. The hotel is around an hour from the airport and we were collected in the hotel Range Rover which was a great way to travel after the flight from the uk The roads are not perfect by any... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie B
TRZ2014, General Manager at The Residence Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your extensive comment on Trip Advisor. I will go and show your review personally that all the staff mentioned. We look forward having you back at The Residence by Cenizaro. Regards, Julian Burton More 

South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

The hotel is in a beautiful location. I and my husband both had the most beautiful, peaceful and an excellent friendly service. Everything was perfect. The food was fantastic. The Grounds were beautiful and the Villa was amazing and super private. Special Thanks to Mr Julian - you did a lot for us and made our stay unforgettable. Staffs are... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank zubeda2015
TRZ2014, General Manager at The Residence Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you. We all look forward having you back at the Residence by Cenizaro. Regards, Julian Burton More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

718 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (599)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (143)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (238)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kizimkazi
32.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
30.3 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 159 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
48.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
16.2 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
16.3 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#2 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay