We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Certificate of Excellence
448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend and I booked the 4 share. It was dirty and smelled very bad. The mattresses weren't on the beds and when we wanted to put them down we found rotten food on the bed board. When we came to complaint they were very rude and mean and we ended up crying cause they were so disrespectful. We ended... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank מיכל ד
regan a, Manager at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. You made me aware that you were not happy with your room by storming into the office as if you were heading into battle. I calmly told you the options which were #1 stay in the room that you have booked as we are full and I can't move you to another room ( which by... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a couple of nights here during our road trip around NZ. Positivies: Room was a good size with a VERY comfortable bed, very functional kitchenette and a smallish bathroom. We had a great view out to the water from our upper level room which was unexpected as i had booked a ground floor room! Hosts were great, informative,... More 

Helpful?
Thank HTGTS
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service is great. Regan was very helpful. Rooms are clean, bedding is nice and comfortable. Brilliant water pressure in the showers and taps. Good facilities including kitchen facilities. Nice Spa and pool, although the pool is a little small Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank aneelravji
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice timber chalets situated in an attractive location. The chalet was nicely furnished and decorated, although our bathroom was a bit basic. We chose to include breakfast which was a standard fruit juice, cereal, fruit, bread to toast etc offering delivered to your room but if I was to stay there again (and I would) I think we would take... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin A
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed over Christmas and were warmly welcomed by the hosts. Very comfortable accommodation , we had room 20. Very modern and nicely furnished. , rooms very well equipped . We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here with other family members. Over the Christmas period. The children all enjoyed the swimming pool and heated spa. A beautiful place set amongst the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 187Kelly
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

A very attractive motel with timber chalets set among natural-looking plantings and overlooking the harbour. The accommodation was all that you would expect with pleasant balconies and a glimpse of the view while sitting up in bed.

Helpful?
Thank Fran S
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

Spent 2 nights here in a dorm. As a middle aged woman I was a little apprehensive at first, but it turned out very well. After 9 pm the place is quiet and I slept very well in a comfortable (bunk) bed. Facilities are clean and the kitchen well equipped. The place has a nice terrace with a beautiful view.... More 

Helpful?
Thank aichadeviAmsterdam
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015 via mobile

This is a nice place to stay for a pit stop. It's situated a few minutes walk to town and 10 minutes drive to either Driving Creek Railway or The Water Works. However the room we stayed at was very small, it had a double bed that you had to get in from the bottom as the side's of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

Clean, comfortable, friendly and easy walking distance to township. There is an outdoor pool and spa. With a pleasant shady deck at the rear of No 6 Studio Unit for enjoying a cool evening drink, or sit on the front deck to enjoy the sun. Apart from the noisy occupants next door, [who were quiet by 10 pm,] our stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phyl450
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

went down to anchor lodge for three nights as a honeymoon getaway, absolutely loved it. Staff were friendly and the units beautifully serviced daily. The small town is great too.Food tastes good in Coromandel.Hoping to go back next year for first year anniversary. Thanks Anchor Lodge for the memorable stay, you guys do a wonderful job!

Helpful?
Thank skipps9
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
12.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
14.2 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#1 of 6 in Thames
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
12.7 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay