We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

Woolsington | Ponteland, Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8DJ, England
Hotel amenities
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woolsington
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
gordonmaximus York, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

681 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    72
    157
    153
    132
    167
See reviews for
122
303
39
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (681)
  • Mar-May only
    (152)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (200)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (197)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (132)
All months
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Halfway through her meal my friend turned to me and said 'someone's taken a bite out of my burger'.... I really wish I could say she was joking but she wasn't! The room was clean enough though so all I'd say is if you stay here then avoid eating the food or trying to deal with the weirdly angry bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Karen C, Thank you for your feedback, our meals are checked prior to leavibng the kitchen however, if theres something wrong we will be happy to replace items, we dispute that food was eaten prior to serving to guests. Your comments regarding bar staff have been passed onto the food and beverage manager to address directly with his team.... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived on the 28th July 2015 coming back from our holiday .The staff were nice , the room was very basic a bit like a b+b in Blackpool the curtains had holes in them and I would not have used the shower . There was a sock over our smoke alarm so the room did not smell very nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear beverley m, Thank you for your feedback, we are disappointed the hotel didnt meet your expectations, we would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you again when you are next flying from Newcastle Airport Kind regards, Dean Routledge Operations Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Woolsington hotels

Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We normally book the Doubletree Hilton at Newcastle airport when we have an early flight but could not get booked this time so we booked the Brittania hotel. Never ever again!!!! It was disgusting!!! From the outside driving up it looks like a filthy old 60s building with scruffy net curtains. At the entrance we were greeted by an array... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear joyd, Thanks for your feedback, we are disappointed you werent happy with the hotel. The first floor rooms have been redecorated this year. We have redecorated the hotel bar within the last 2 week so we are disappointed you felt this was grubby. We do hope you will reconsider and stay with us in the future Kind regards, Dean... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is the prefect example of the saying 'You get what you pay for'. I arrived late at the Newcastle airport with an early morning flight out. How bad could it be? Well... At least it was mostly clean. The hotel is old and needs a remodel. The room was tiny and had no air conditioning which made for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear flyairdave, Thank you for your feedback, unfortunately our bedrooms dont have air conditioning however a member of the team would have been happy to provide a fan upon request. We appreciate your time and do hope to welcome you again in the future Kind regards, Dean Routledge Operations Manager More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed overnight prior to flying to Malaga. Have to say some of the reviews do not do this place justice. I have stayed at other Britannia airport hotels and they were far worse. The reception very good and friendly, the room clean tidy and comfortable. Initially going to have bar food, but choice is not much to offer so went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Gordonmaximus, Thanks for your positive feedback, we are thrilled the hotel and staff met your expectations, unfortunately not all positive feedback is relayed on tripadvisor. Our team do work very hard to meet and exceed guest expectations and we are continually working on our appearance in public areas and bedrooms. We look forward to welcoming you again when you... More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a family room for four - one double bed and a bunk bed. The room was very small and not what you would expect for £106 a night room only! The bunk beds were terrible. You could feel the springs poking up in the mattress (room 115 if management interested). Paid extra for breakfast but cooked food was swimming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Cyberstu, Thanks for your feedback, we are disappointed you werent happy with the bunk beds in 115, all bunk beds have been replaced and came with new mattresses. Our opening times are dictated by head office and unless there is demand the bar will close at 11pm, breakfast timings are slightly different on Sunday morning. We do hope to... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Usually stay the night at premier inn before flying the next day, but was offered this package for hotel and car parking so I decided to book a family room and use of car park while away on holiday. Wish I hadn't bothered. Have to say I wasn't impressed is an understatement. Family room was double room jammed in with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Claire M, Thanks for your feddback, we are sorry the room wasnt suitable for you however, all of our family rooms consist of double or twin beds with bunk beds. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future Kindest regards, Dean Routledge Operations Manager More 

Villanueva del Trabuco
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights recently, mostly selected the hotel close to the airport as we had an early flight to Malaga after our two nights, also it is close to transport links for Newcastle etc. We found the hotel very 'tired' and dated, old fashioned décor, the en-suite bathroom has extremely poor water pressure and the knob was missing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear barbieno1, Thanks for your feedback, we are disappointed you werent happy with Room 200, this was redecorated last than a month ago and was only added to our bedroom stock within the last 4 years so all fixtures etc are relatively new, welcome trays are made to a company standard however, upon request we can provide more and this... More 

west lothian
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival after a 3 hour drive was greeted by female receptionist who informed us that she had done nothing for the past hour and she was just about to go off shift and was knackered!!!!! Immediately felt we were an inconvenience!!!!!! Not a good first impression!!!! THE ROOM..........My husband said 'mmmmm Art Deco!!' (Room 227) stained walls, bath, bathmat,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear garywestlothian, Thanks for your feedback, we are disappointed that the hotel didnt meet your requirements, I will personally address the comments regarding our receptionist and carryout refresher customer service training with her. Guests are the blood line of our business and most definately not an inconvenience, I apoloise sincerely if you were made to feel this way. We would... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here as we were flying out early morning. Arrived about 4pm, checked in, dropped bags in the clean modern room and came down for a few drinks and booked a table for dinner at 6pm. The drinks promo was good value but the kids put a £1 into the pool table before I noticed the rip on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Doolybhoy, Thanks for your feedback, we apologise sincerely there should have been an out of order sign on the pool table. The repairs have been organised and the bar staff would have been happy to refund £1 immeditately. We have just redecorated the bar this week so we do hope guests like the changes. Please accept our apologies and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport
2.8 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#33 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport - South
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#35 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
3.8 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay