We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Woolsington hotels

Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woolsington | Ponteland, Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8DJ, England
Hotel amenities
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woolsington
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    124
    129
    112
    150
See reviews for
101
251
34
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (574)
  • Mar-May only
    (112)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (164)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (196)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (102)
All months
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Enforced stay due to early morning flight, Adequate room all that was necessary was there, a very dated establishment. Average pub meals, breakfast good, though we were rushed for time and service was a little slow

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear krh01309, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future Kind regards, More

Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

the hotel rooms maybe slightly dated but it was clean. The check in staff were lovely and polite, and the reception area clutter free. Even though there was an airport across the road you wouldn't know due to the sound proofing. The hotel also provides guests with free parking. We stayed here for a concert at the metro arena so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Katherine B, Thanks for your feedback, we are thrilled the hotel met your requirements and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future Kind regards, More

Wishaw
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed last night prior to our flight this morning. Having read previous trip advisor review we were a little anxious until we walked through the front door and were met with a warm welcome. We had arrived at 10.30pm and therefore missed the dining room so cannot comment on this. The reception staff were very helpful and advised us of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Wishaw_11, Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future Kind regards, More

Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here whilst attending a 2 day course for work. On arrival I thought it was a pretty average hotel for a stay over airport hotel. Our room was very dated and the carpet was marked. Furniture was old and furnishings looked like they'd seen better days. The bedding was clean and we got quite a good nights sleep (as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Stephs11_11, Thanks for your observations, these can be used to improve the service we offer. Our New years eve function is not to be missed, the majority of our New year's guests return year after year and have a fantastic night. Kind regards More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is brilliant if you're flying from Newcastle airport. If you search online you can usually get a really good deal for one night's accommodation with fifteen days car parking. It takes all the stress out of traveling to the airport and gives you an extra night added to your holiday. There's plenty of parking spaces and the rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear wanderingminstral10, Thanks for your positive feedback, we are pleased the hotel met your expectations, if you havent done so we'd suggesting signing up to our email club for the best deals sent straight to your inbox, you can decided if you'd like to receive them daily, weekly or monthly depending on the frequency of your travel. Simply log onto... More

Gibraltar
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Must rank as one of the worst hotels I have every stayed. The bedrooms are small, the furniture is dated, the TV has only 5 channels and the bathroom was worn out. Make this hotel your last choice and only if all the hotels at the airport and in Tyne and Wear are fully booked.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Tyrone M, Thanks for your feedback, we are disappointed that you werent happy with the hotel, our rooms are purpose built, all of a similar size. We are in the process of replacing our older TV's with flatscreen which will have more channel choice and this is being done in stages. We offer value for money accommodation and our... More

Travelers are raving about these Woolsington hotels

Brough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arriving at the hotel I was very dissapointed as were expecting to stay in a hotel by the sea,however this had been cancelled as I was part of a national holidays coach trip.I personally dislike modern hotels with no atmosphere.But on walking in it wasnt half as bad as it looks from outside.The decor is colourful and clean,check in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear 650kate, Thanks for your honest opinion, we appreciate the time taken. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. As a standard welcome trays have a set amount of items on each, the team will refresh these daily however our housekeeping team are happy to leave additional stock upon request. We look forward to welcoming you again in... More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night while visiting friends in Gosforth. Let's put it this way "The cover was slightly better than the book" The yellow don't slip cones at the entrance were confusing, let alone the posters telling you that there is no cash on the premises overnight. Guests carry cash?? The room 29 was appalling, no bedside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Russell B, Thanks for your comments, our wet floor signs are placed at the entrance to warn guests that the area may be wet and slippery. This is for guest safety. We are in the process of replacing our old style tv's with flat screen (some with freeview) and this is being done in stages. A member of the... More

Langholm, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at this Hotel on many occasions, with no problems but in November/December 2013 we booked by 'phone for one night before flying out to Malta, 30 days parking and one night on our return. This at a price of nearly £200. On our return at midnight we were told we had no booking and what's more the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Ruth m, Thanks for your feedback, we are sorry you experienced issues with your reservation. Our central team do handle most reservations for our hotels and as standard should have issued a reservation number upon completion of the reservation. If the booking was made via our central reservations number please contact our customer service department with the telephone number... More

Northumberland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The good thing about the Hotel is that it is only three minutes from,Airport terminal. The Restaurant was not open but restaurant menu was supposed to be available in the Bar unfortunately only one menu on the surrounding tables had a single written page, so had two Steaks off the Specials board, they were cooked ok medium rare, spoilt by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear F00dman, Thanks for your feedback, we offer our restaurant menu in the bar when the hotel is quiet, each table in the bar should have a bar menu/ala carte menu and specials. I will identify this to the Food & Beverage manager to ensure his team provide the correct information at all times. Thank you once again Kind regards, More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

Address: Woolsington | Ponteland, Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay