We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

Woolsington | Ponteland, Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8DJ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

779 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night before an early morning flight. The hotel is ok, but the service when ordering food and drinks was very slow, despite the fact that there was hardly any customers. This hotel does, however, offer a good value package for a one night stay with parking, and is a 2 minute walk to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shelleypops
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Shelleypops, Thanks for your honest opinion, we apologise if the service was slow. Your comments will be forwarded to the Food & Beverage manager to address with his team. Thank you for your constructive feedback, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future Kindest regards, Dean Routledge Operations Manager More 

Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Yes the place needs updating a bit, but everything works and I got a quiet night, which was surprising so close to the runway. The only noise that disturbed me was other guests returning late and talking loudly in the corridor outside the room. Tea/coffee provided, hot shower, TV and bed. All good. 5 minute walk to the terminal building,... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelTrax1
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear TravelTrax1, Thanks for your comments, we are so pleased the hotel met your requirements and we look forward to welcoming you again soon Kindest regards, Dean Routledge Operations Manager More 

Workington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just the job , landed , got bag , over the road, checked in and in bed within 20 mins , lovely buffet breakfast which was very busy although you wouldn't have known it due to staff clearing tables and resetting, loads of choice , would stay again as it was very handy , clean and comfortable and staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fi0na2o15
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Fi0na2o15, Thanks for your feedback, we are thrilled that your enjoyed your time with us. Our team will be very happy with your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you again soon Kindest regards, Dean Routledge Operations Manager More 

Langholm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a room with parking included prior to flying to Gran Canaria for £71. The check in was quick and painless, our room was clean but so hot it was like a sauna! We went to reception to ask if anything could be done and was told that the duty manager would be with us directly. No sooner had my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane M
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Jane M, Thanks for your comments, we are very sorry the first room was too hot, maintenance have contacted our plumbers to organise repair of the radiator valves. Once reported our team will endeavour to resolve any issue quickly as was the case and your feedback will be forwarded onto Leanne. We look forward to welcoming you again in... More 

wigton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a package with 8 days parking and evening meal for two for under £100. This was a very clean and comfortable room. The tv wasn't working but they sorted it within minutes. The bar was very reasonable and spacious.The restaurant was quiet and served a reasonable hot meal . the parking was at the hotel and within a couple... More 

Helpful?
Thank ken w
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear ken w, Thanks for your feedback, we are pleased the hotel met your requirements and that once reported the tv problem was rectified for you. We look forward to welcoming you in the future Kindest regards Dean Routledge Operations Manager More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 1 night due to late flight next day. They made me wait for 2 hours in lobby until the 1st minute of check in time. (which can't blame, but I would guess they had rooms waiting for guests so would be a big deal for them to allow in a little earlier). Nothing special. It is near airport so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adilkhan K
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Adilkhan, Thanks for your feedback, we are very sorry you couldn't immediately be checked into your bedroom however when the hotel is busy the night before its not always possible and the team will check you in as quickly as possible. Its fair to note that check ins prior to 2pm should incur an early check in fee of... More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The bed was clean and was comfortable. However the rooms were really dirty and dusty and could tell they were really old. The bathroom was horrible and had hairs all over as well as a musty smell to it. The breakfasts were standard for value. The staff were pleasant and were good... More 

Helpful?
Thank James C
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear James C, We are very disappointed with your comments regarding our bedrooms, the team work very hard to ensure they are cleaned to a high standard. If we have missed something then once told a member of the team would be more than happy to rectify it for you to ensure you were happy during your stay. We strive... More 

Travelers are raving about these Woolsington hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a long day and wanted a bath. First off I couldn't even undo the taps they were screwed that tight! Had to ask for help to untwist it! Managed the hot water one but not the cold. There were lots of random hairs lying around in and around the bath some looked like pubic hair. Began to fill... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zoe H
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Zoe H, We are very sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your room, I have to say that if you were struggling with anything we are more than happy to assist upon request. Maintenance can quickly rectify any issues with stiff taps and from what I can see of the "bits" it appears to be sediment from... More 

Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I spent two nights here using a voucher deal. It was meant as a base for a shopping trip and was certainly ideally situated being less than 30 mins. into the city. We found the saff very friendly and helpful. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. The food was good and realistically priced. The breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnJohnson65
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear JohnJohnson65, Thank you for your positive feedback, we are so pleased the hotel met your expectations, as discussed on departure we do offer 4,8 or 15 day stay and fly packages. For the best deals check out the Britannia website, earn points as you stay by joining our Grand rewards too. We look forward to welcoming you again soon... More 

Bellingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this hotel because of the deal with long term airport parking and a stay on first/last night, which was quite good value. The hotel is a very short walk from the terminal and saves all the waiting for shuttle buses etc. Check in on our departure morning was very quick and straightforward and the staff seemed friendly and efficient.... More 

Helpful?
Thank michael p
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Michael p, Thank you for your feedback, we are very sorry that you found aspects of the hotel displeasing, if I remember correctly I was on reception the morning you departed on your inbound trip. Hotels in England can still allow smoking in designated bedrooms so guests do still need to make a request, as discussed on check out... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (122)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
2.8 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#42 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#31 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#41 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay