We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Woolsington hotels

Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woolsington | Ponteland, Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8DJ, England
Hotel amenities
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woolsington
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    127
    130
    114
    150
See reviews for
102
254
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (581)
  • Mar-May only
    (112)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (164)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (198)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (107)
All months
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

paid about £85 for the night room only but with 8 days parking. the room was ok , but the bed was small and pillows rock hard. if you order breakfast the night before its £7, and I think £10 on the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for a long weekend in October half term. Basic but very clean room. Staff friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was average but for the price and location it's definitely good value for money. If we go to Newcastle again we will not hesitate to book at this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Groningen
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
94 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we got stucked in at Newcastle airport and the airline company arranged this hotel for us. We arrived at 22.30 hrs and the restaurant was already closed, despite that they had about 100 additional guests. The hotel is on walking distance of the airport and that is about the only benefit. It is old and in poor condition. My colleague... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Normandic, Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate that you may have been placed at the hotel at short notice however the hotel are notified at the same time as yourselves. Our team will assist guests as quickly as possible, if the hotel are notified later than the food service times we advise the handling agent of the facilities we... More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here the day before our flight, excellent location and easy enough to find. Check in was easy, the receptionist was chatty and give some tips on where to go and what to see while we had a free day (100% for customer service) found that all staff we saw were friendly. Hotel bathroom was a bit tired looking but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Freda23, Thanks for your positive feedback, we are pleased the hotel and team met your expectations, fried eggs are part of our breakfast spec and would be replenished throughout service. I will address this with the Head Chef. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future Kind regards, More 

Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent location but hard to find - no signs until you get to car park! Very dated, tiny family room with bunk beds & 2 narrow single beds. Not what I was expecting. Old portable TV out of the ark with poor reception. Tired bathroom. Food fried & overcooked. Never again! On the plus side EVERY single member of staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear 999lulu, Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate the time taken. Our rooms are all a standard size with the exception of 2 rooms however for overnight/fly out. As mentioned in previous responses we are currently in the process of changing televisions to flat screens and this is being done in stages. Thank you for the positive comments about our... More 

Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for a weekend break into Newcastle. no pavement to the metro, you had to walk up a grass bank,through the shell garage and across busy road until you got to a pavement.metro is a brilliant service and is 10 minutes walk away.we had no problem with the plane noise despite facing the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Peterd555851, Thanks for your comments, by your description is seems you have taken a wrong exit towards the airport. There is a purpose made pathway as you walk outside of the main entrance, take a left then follow the zebra crossings towards the airport. The airport installed safety barrriers a few years ago due to the increase in traffic... More 

East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really great low priced room,clean if slightly dated,but major problem with the heating in that it is centrally controlled and was on overdrive when we arrived.Only way to cool room was to open the double double glazed windows,but that would not be an option whilst we were sleeping.Reported this to very friendly reception staff but room was still rather too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear lindachambers, Thanks for your feedback, we apologise you had issues with the heating in your room, our maintenance team do monitor the heating daily and reduce it where possible throughout the building. We do hope to welcome you again in the future Kind regards, More 

Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enforced stay due to early morning flight, Adequate room all that was necessary was there, a very dated establishment. Average pub meals, breakfast good, though we were rushed for time and service was a little slow

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear krh01309, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future Kind regards, More 

Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

the hotel rooms maybe slightly dated but it was clean. The check in staff were lovely and polite, and the reception area clutter free. Even though there was an airport across the road you wouldn't know due to the sound proofing. The hotel also provides guests with free parking. We stayed here for a concert at the metro arena so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Katherine B, Thanks for your feedback, we are thrilled the hotel met your requirements and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future Kind regards, More 

Wishaw
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed last night prior to our flight this morning. Having read previous trip advisor review we were a little anxious until we walked through the front door and were met with a warm welcome. We had arrived at 10.30pm and therefore missed the dining room so cannot comment on this. The reception staff were very helpful and advised us of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Wishaw_11, Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future Kind regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

Address: Woolsington | Ponteland, Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay