We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Meppershall hotels

The Airman Hotel

16 Hitchin Road, Meppershall SG17 5JF, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (94)
  • Photos (23)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
The Airman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Meppershall
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Meppershall
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    16
    21
    35
See reviews for
20
32
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent 3 nights there but would not consider a return any time. I must say from the start that the staff were very good; always smiling and helpful...so no complaints there. List of problems: The hotel is very run down and needs a good face lift. seals and grouting in bathroom had been repaired several times; wallpaper tatty; plaster... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mayenne, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have never stayed at a hotel like this. It made Fawlty Towers look like the Ritz. On booking we asked if it was suitable for people with mobility problems. They said "Yes, no problem". On arrival we were asked to pay for the total stay up front. Never, ever, had to do that before. Our room was at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

NO, NO, NO! I have a dog,'Hugo' and as the website stipulates 'pet friendly' After having directly booked, reception confirmed my booking and knowledge of my companion, took my credit card details as guarantee.. Having travelled many miles, was expecting, at least a shower and bed for the night.. Upon arrival, was greeted with hostility and ignorance! I was refused... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheAirmanHotel, Manager at The Airman Hotel, responded to this review

We do welcome small dogs to the hotel. This is with advanced bookings where arrangements are made and one of our 4 ground floor rooms would have been allocated. Our booking records showed no record of the large dog coming to stay and we have also checked with the staff member who took the booking, who also was not informed... More

bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately we were daft enough to book the dinner& breakfast deal. This is not value for money. Although chef tried his best -dinner menu poor. Although breafast was vastly better-selection of cereal for me :) and good looking fry up for the other half. Rooms clean but could do with a good freshen up. Tv-very small so you better sit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheAirmanHotel, Front Office Manager at The Airman Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our full menu was available that evening but we did also have a large function of over 200 people in house. I have liaised with our chef regarding these issues and he has informed me he personally came out to your table to check your meal was... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently stayed at the airman. The room was large clean and good value and free tea and coffee in the room. I tried the food and was supprised that it was propper food no frozen rubbish here and the guest beer on tap was very nice. Will defanatly stay again when in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

After booking this hotel late after being let down by another local hotel it was welcome It was late when I arrived so I can only review the room. It was a huge size, nice bed and clean. Like so many hotels in England I have stayed recently it was a bit tired looking, the extractor fan in the bathroom,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend. The hotel is a lovely old building but everything is very tired and worn. Had a meal in the pub.. Again the decor was absolutely atrocious, tables and chairs not very good either.. Food wasnt bad but no steak knife brought with the meal, asked for mayo but practically finished the meal before it arrived.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Unfortunately the airman hotel ruined what should have been an enjoyable birthday meal. Firstly they didn't understand that 'apple cider' is just normal cider... oh dear! They then forgot to serve the starters, so straight to the main meal.. They didn't have a lot of what we wanted for main course, no grilled chicken? They brought out sweet potato chips... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Its the first time of writing a report as I wanted to comment on our experience. Four of us came for lunch on Mothers Day and appreciated that it would be busy. (you would be worried if it wasnt) Our meals were all delicious and the steak cooked to perfection. The staff seemed professional, friendly and hardworking and my only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Warwick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We were taken to the airman hotel for Mother's Day lunch the food menu was a little restricted but for the cost per head it was ok, why complain about the couple of hours, do people not talk to each other and who wants to be rushed in and out, I spoke to the new Manager (a young blond girl)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Airman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Airman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Airman Hotel

Address: 16 Hitchin Road, Meppershall SG17 5JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Meppershall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Meppershall

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Number of rooms
21

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added The Airman Hotel to your Saves list