We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Airman Hotel

16 Hitchin Road, Meppershall SG17 5JF, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Airman Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Airman Hotel
Add Photo

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    20
    21
    25
    43
See reviews for
24
40
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I don't really understand the terrible reviews for this place. I had a perfectly good 3 night stay for business last week. Why would the fact it has contractors staying put people off ? They're working people like me ! I t's not 5 star, but look at the price. It's good value, good food, clean with decent rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Due to a wedding, the bridal party made a group booking at this hotel for two nights, due to its proximity to the wedding venue. Unfortunately, they did not read the reviews before booking. The rooms are tired and dirty. The surfaces are sticky, the walls have stains and the curtains are filthy. The doors do not lock, the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAirmanHotel, Manager at The Airman Hotel, responded to this review

This guests threatened that if a full refund was not given for their stay that a bad review would be put on TripAdvisor. The rooms are being decorated, however because we are in the busy summer season we have not been able to undertake this renovation fully. However we are value for money hotel and we try to do our... More 

Travelers are raving about these Meppershall hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Drove past this a few times and thought would pop in and try. Breakfast advertised but finished at 9.30! Service was good and decided to try lunch. I ordered the ham, egg and chips and my partner the bbq hamburger. We also ordered two lattes. It didn't start great as the coffee was awful, which i think is hard to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
York, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel needs 100% refurb. Rooms,bathrooms & corridors very scruffy.Beds have had it and windows didn't even close. Food in bar average and breakfast must have all been cooked hours before we got it at the table. Staff were very friendly but didn't to want to book us a taxi when we said we were going elsewhere to eat on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
fluffybops
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff were friendly, from looking at hotel from the outside it seemed well set up, but inside the room was in need of some tlc. There was a leak in the bathroom and was dusty. But... for a cheapish stay and locationwise was good for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The fact that you have to pay for your accommodation before you are given your key should tell you something! First room offered,hot, no opening window, strong smell of tobacco. Old tired varnished brown furniture. Second room, family room on ground floor- double bed with the cheapest mattress ever seen- springs very visible and surely felt. Stained carpet. Equally dreadful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shefford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

I came to the airman hotel earlier this week for a meal with my boyfriend and the food was amazing! We were seen as soon as we sat down even though the bar was fairly crowded, our food came out promptly and our waiter was polite and was sure to help in any way he could,it was unfortunate that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
high wycombe
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Stayed here and what a complete mistake,, if you are not a workman then don't stay!!! room very tired,,, walls between rooms very thin,,,, as I was kept awake on the top floor all night by profanity and drunkeness coming from workman,, who didn't know how to shut doors quietly,, no phone in room so I could not complain,, food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stondon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I needed to find a hotel near the A1(M) j.10 and tried Baldock Services. The hotel there had no suitable rooms and could only offer a family room (for 1 person) at an uplifted rate. I backtracked along the A507 until arriving at the Airman just past Henlow - warm welcome, good spacious room, comfortable, clean, nice tea-tray and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

The Airman can best be described as functional. This was a two night business trip and there were few alternatives as conveniently located. The positives; room was good and everything worked, bed OK, plenty of hot water, free wi-fi, bar menu was reasonably priced and quite extensive, early breakfast start. Downside, bar area was not terribly well looked after by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay