We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Airman Hotel

16 Hitchin Road, Meppershall SG17 5JF, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Airman Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Airman Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    20
    22
    26
    45
See reviews for
27
41
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

After booking here for Sunday Lunch, we arrived only to be taken to a dirty table in the pub area! We asked to be moved to a clean table preferably into the restraunt. Despite advertising a choice of two meats with a side of potatoes, Yorkshire pudding & vegtables, the roast dinner was actually beef only (two thin chewy pieces)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Glad to be only staying there for 1 night. The whole hotel was shabby, in big need of a refurb! The room was basic. Carpets were dirty. The shower and bath needed a good clean. In the bar area, the tables were very sticky.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Meppershall hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Looks nice on arrival, ok for one night stop, didn't eat evening meal or breakfast which is extra. Room was ok with en-suite all very basic Mirror horribly cracked in bedroom, beds clean and comfy. Bathroom needs repairing, toilet flush broken, sink taps awkward to turn on and plug didn't stop water flowing away in plug hole. Staff friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed once before as was the closest hotel to our required destination, wasn't the most pleasant of stays but rebooked the next time we were in the area because it was the cheapest hotel around on that particular date - we arrived to only be told our booking was 'not on the system' and there was no rooms spare to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

I don't really understand the terrible reviews for this place. I had a perfectly good 3 night stay for business last week. Why would the fact it has contractors staying put people off ? They're working people like me ! I t's not 5 star, but look at the price. It's good value, good food, clean with decent rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Due to a wedding, the bridal party made a group booking at this hotel for two nights, due to its proximity to the wedding venue. Unfortunately, they did not read the reviews before booking. The rooms are tired and dirty. The surfaces are sticky, the walls have stains and the curtains are filthy. The doors do not lock, the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheAirmanHotel, Manager at The Airman Hotel, responded to this review

This guests threatened that if a full refund was not given for their stay that a bad review would be put on TripAdvisor. The rooms are being decorated, however because we are in the busy summer season we have not been able to undertake this renovation fully. However we are value for money hotel and we try to do our... More 

Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015 via mobile

Drove past this a few times and thought would pop in and try. Breakfast advertised but finished at 9.30! Service was good and decided to try lunch. I ordered the ham, egg and chips and my partner the bbq hamburger. We also ordered two lattes. It didn't start great as the coffee was awful, which i think is hard to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
York, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

Hotel needs 100% refurb. Rooms,bathrooms & corridors very scruffy.Beds have had it and windows didn't even close. Food in bar average and breakfast must have all been cooked hours before we got it at the table. Staff were very friendly but didn't to want to book us a taxi when we said we were going elsewhere to eat on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
fluffybops
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Staff were friendly, from looking at hotel from the outside it seemed well set up, but inside the room was in need of some tlc. There was a leak in the bathroom and was dusty. But... for a cheapish stay and locationwise was good for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

The fact that you have to pay for your accommodation before you are given your key should tell you something! First room offered,hot, no opening window, strong smell of tobacco. Old tired varnished brown furniture. Second room, family room on ground floor- double bed with the cheapest mattress ever seen- springs very visible and surely felt. Stained carpet. Equally dreadful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meppershall
4.3 mi away
Tudor Oaks Lodge
Tudor Oaks Lodge
#1 of 1 in Astwick
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
5.0 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
7.4 mi away
The Knife & Cleaver
The Knife & Cleaver
#1 of 1 in Houghton Conquest
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 16 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 2 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
9.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay