We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Airman Hotel

16 Hitchin Road, Meppershall SG17 5JF, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Airman Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    22
    22
    26
    46
See reviews for
27
43
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (130)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recurring business commitments lead me to stay at the Airman fairly regularly, my latest stay being in June 2015. A real effort is being made to improve the decor of the rooms and the outside areas and the staff were , as ever, friendly and helpful. The £77 dinner, bed and breakfast package represented good value even with a further... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stotfold, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not as bad as everyone is making it out to be you pay for what you get to be honest. I thought it was good i enjoyed my stay a lot. Might need a little bit of a refurbishment though in certain areas but its not as bad as everyone says.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No hot water in room, told management but not interested, finally plumber looked at the boiler and said it was broken, he said he would inform management to move us, waited 10 minutes in room then went to reception to find manager sitting on backside, after some pathetic excuses he finally moved us, the room he moved us to was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Meppershall hotels

Henlow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We eat at the Airman very regularly but lately the selection had become very 'samey', and quite variable in quality, but the staff are, as always, extremely accommodating and friendly. We have just had our first experience of the new chef and were very, very, happy with the two dishes that appeared. It was all home done, and very well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After booking here for Sunday Lunch, we arrived only to be taken to a dirty table in the pub area! We asked to be moved to a clean table preferably into the restraunt. Despite advertising a choice of two meats with a side of potatoes, Yorkshire pudding & vegtables, the roast dinner was actually beef only (two thin chewy pieces)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Glad to be only staying there for 1 night. The whole hotel was shabby, in big need of a refurb! The room was basic. Carpets were dirty. The shower and bath needed a good clean. In the bar area, the tables were very sticky.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Looks nice on arrival, ok for one night stop, didn't eat evening meal or breakfast which is extra. Room was ok with en-suite all very basic Mirror horribly cracked in bedroom, beds clean and comfy. Bathroom needs repairing, toilet flush broken, sink taps awkward to turn on and plug didn't stop water flowing away in plug hole. Staff friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Stayed once before as was the closest hotel to our required destination, wasn't the most pleasant of stays but rebooked the next time we were in the area because it was the cheapest hotel around on that particular date - we arrived to only be told our booking was 'not on the system' and there was no rooms spare to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

I don't really understand the terrible reviews for this place. I had a perfectly good 3 night stay for business last week. Why would the fact it has contractors staying put people off ? They're working people like me ! I t's not 5 star, but look at the price. It's good value, good food, clean with decent rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Due to a wedding, the bridal party made a group booking at this hotel for two nights, due to its proximity to the wedding venue. Unfortunately, they did not read the reviews before booking. The rooms are tired and dirty. The surfaces are sticky, the walls have stains and the curtains are filthy. The doors do not lock, the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheAirmanHotel, Manager at The Airman Hotel, responded to this review

This guests threatened that if a full refund was not given for their stay that a bad review would be put on TripAdvisor. The rooms are being decorated, however because we are in the busy summer season we have not been able to undertake this renovation fully. However we are value for money hotel and we try to do our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meppershall
4.3 mi away
Tudor Oaks Lodge
Tudor Oaks Lodge
#1 of 1 in Astwick
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
5.0 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
7.4 mi away
The Knife & Cleaver
The Knife & Cleaver
#1 of 1 in Houghton Conquest
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Menzies Flitwick Manor
Menzies Flitwick Manor
#1 of 1 in Flitwick
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 2 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
9.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay