We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

THB Tropical Island

3.0 of 5
C/ Fragata #2 | Urb Costa Papagayo, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sun Tropical Island Resort)
Hotel amenities
THB Tropical Island
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
jimbob240
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    466
    266
    133
    101
See reviews for
641
272
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1262)
  • Mar-May only
    (279)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (422)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (281)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (280)
All months
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is on the outskirts of the town and is a fair walk into the main town, its all downhill though and a taxi back is reasonable. The apartments were clean and were done regularly but everything in the room was very dated. The pool was freezing and should of been really heated during the time we visited. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

On arrival we walked towards reception, the area looked very untidy and tired with debris scattered around, The man on reception was very abrupt to the point of being rude, we were given our room key and went to the room, the lock on the door was broken and was loose and once we had opened the door could not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed her for one week about a week ago. Positives first.... The staff are very hard working and the premium rooms are comfortable. The adult only area is very beautiful and serves the best drinks. The food is plentiful and well presented.premium gusts get a good WiFi service for free. And there is a very quick taxi service that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear Gya, Many thanks for raking us is this web site. Sorry about the inconvenience caused to you with the main pool closure, but due to a broke pipeline we urgently closed it and reparation work is taking place now, to get it repaired as soon as possible, by the way we have 14 more pools in the complex that... More 

Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went with an open mined due to reading reviews but found everything was absolutely fine for a family all inclusive holiday. apartments clean complex clean and plenty of choice of food. good location friendly staff couldn't find fault with this complex

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear Christ, Thank you very much for your positive review concerning your visit here at the Hotel THB Tropical Island. We are glad for hearing you had a very enjoyable stay with us. This is exactly what we try to achieve with every single guest, as we know that holidays are a special time one keeps in fond memory. With... More 

Armagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed in the TBH Tropical Island in March 2015. This complex is like a small village and positions itself as an all inclusive resort. We were self catering. 1.Getting there: I was making my way by car picked up at Arrecife airport. I had printed off a map however the SatNav took me by another route and resulted in my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrey, Firstly we would like to convey our sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations. We work hard every day to make us worthy of the trust of leading National and International tour operators and agencies. I will find out from where the smell come from, id you had reported that when you were here for... More 

Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 1 week in July last year, it's a huge resort with two sides, our apartment area had its own pool with sun beds which was great as the main pool area was always busy and we couldn't get sun beds there, each apartment block had either their own pool, playground or a couple of spa pools which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear Alisoun, thank you so much for taking your time and post your opinión about us. It is very important that we know how guests felt during their stay here in THB Tropical Island. Sorry about the inconvenience caused to you about the hairdryer, were are replacing them and in few days will be done for all rooms. We are... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There were 11 people in our party - 8 adults, 1 child and 2 babies. We stayed for 9 nights and 10 days. Reviews of the hotel were mixed so we went with an open mind. We were checked in promptly on arrival and had 4 rooms between us with interconnecting doors. The rooms, whilst well used, were immaculately clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear Becca, Thank you very much for comments, these are very important for us in order to get a service guaranteed, always following the clients opinion. We hope you will visit us again have a lovely summer!!! Kind Regards More 

Tetbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went for 12 days to THB Tropical Island through Thomas Cook. On arrival of seeing the room it was very clean, apart from we have a 5 year old and her bed was the sofa or the pullout bed under the sofa. She wouldn't have stayed in the lounge on her own, plus if you want to watch TV... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear Stacey, we want to thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your time and post your comments in this web site. We are glad to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in Thb Hotels. Best Regards. The Management. More 

Mold, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just come back from a week at THB Tropical Island resort, and thought I would leave some comments that I hope people find helpful. The main pool was closed while we were there so I cant comment on that, but I do want to add that the other pools on the complex were FREEZING, my daughter refused to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, thank you so much for your comments. Just tell you that the only pools that are not heated are the main pool (closed in reparation now) and the only adult premium pool. All the rest are heated and at 24ºC every day and checked daily by our manteinace equipment. But the way this winter has been too could... More 

Cardiff
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a 8 night stay in a Premium room having had our original booking at the THB Royal switched just before arrival. The complex is very large, with plenty of swimming pools. Despite the main pool being out of action due to refurb work (nearing completion now) it did not impact on our holiday as there were plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear JT, we feel great to hear from you that you had a wonderful stay with us. We write down your comments about premium zone area, terrace chairs and sofa bed, all guest comments hepl us to keep improving every day. We wish you a wonderful summer and hope to see you back soon. Best regards. The Management. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

707 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (431)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (113)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (66)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (11)
Viewed
Other (129)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (263)
Viewed
Amenities (58)
Viewed
Apartment (54)
Viewed
Pool (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question