We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

THB Tropical Island

C/ Fragata #2 | Urb Costa Papagayo, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sun Tropical Island Resort)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
THB Tropical Island
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,461 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    346
    533
    320
    148
    114
See reviews for
762
321
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1461)
  • Mar-May only
    (329)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (572)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (281)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (279)
All months
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Have just returned from a ten day stay. Nine of us in all.Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Rooms basic and clean but what more do you need liked having a kettle and a fridge. Pool is fantastic and plenty of activities if you want to get involved. The food was fine and found something everyone liked most days and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear Ckaty, thank you so much for taking your time and post your opinión about us. It is very important that we know how guests felt during their stay . We do every hard work training our staff to be better. Thank you very much for enjoying your stay. We hope to see you son with us. Kind Regards. More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arrived late on the Saturday due to bad weather, but was warmly greeted by the reception staff, supplied information, provided hire towels, safe and rear gate keys, all with deposit but knew about that. Room I304 was our room, ground floor and was perfectly adequate for myself and 2 kids 10 &12. We went half board as we like to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear Gazz, On behalf of the entire team of the THB Tropical Island I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We would like also to thank you for recommending our hotel to families. With delight we read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. This is exactly what we... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having previously stayed here for Christmas 2014, we decided to return during the summer. I'm so pleased we did, we avoided the delay at the airports for transfers and got a taxi to the resort. Upon arrival, at reception, the staff immediately recognised us and greeted us, we got the keys to our room and headed off. Room 508 was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear Tim, First of all we would like to thank you for your comments. We work hard day by day to offer a great stay to our guests and we are glad reading that you enjoyed the facilities, as pools, the food, entertainment, ... and that you spent a lovely holidays with us. Once again thank you for recommending us.... More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I couldn't put good so have marked this as average as I couldn't hand on heart class it as very good. It's such a shame that this hotel clearly is trying to cut back on staff overheads. The whole place just cries out for 50% more staff to cope with the demands of such a large hotel. I cannot fault... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear Jamie, Firstly we would like to convey our sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations. We work hard every day to make us worthy of the trust of leading National and International tour operators and agencies. We hope you give us another opportunity to rebuild your trust in us. Yours sincerely; The Management More 

Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife (64) my grandchildren (5) (10). My daughter & husband & myself (65) have just returned on the 20th of August 2015 after a two week holiday & here is my honest review. ACCOMODATION:- I booked this hotel on an A.I. package in November 2014 after reading a lot of reviews & had a fair idea of what I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear John, First of all we would like to apologize because we did not reach your expectations. We would like to let you know that we had opened another pool bar at the main pool and that we have more staff working at the dome and restaurants. We are working hard to improve our services to provide a better service... More 

Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we have just returned from the THB tropical Island.the hotel is nicely layed out, with nice rooms and pool. ( we stayed in room I 205)that is the best bit. two days before we arrived one of the generators had blown up and the rooms given to us had no aircon. dispite promises from the hotel managers it took 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Meat,, first of all we would like to apologize for not reaching your expectations. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your report about your stay and letting us know about your comments, so we can work on them to improve our services. We did our best in getting back the aircon fixed... More 

Travelers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort is amazing and completely lives up to the pictures. It is really clean and all the staff work so hard. People have been complaining about electric going off and air con but they cannot help accidents and there was a fire in the generator room. it did not effect our holiday at all electric going off in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear Kez, First of all we would like to thank you for your comments. We work hard day by day to offer a great stay to our guests and we are glad reading that you enjoyed the facilities, as pools, the food, entertainment, ... and that you spent a lovely holidays with us. Once again thank you for recommending us.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Taxi journey from airport to hotel took about 30 minutes and cost about €40 per journey. We arrived quite late at the hotel and there were still a couple of staffs at the reception. We stayed at the 'Tropical' side and were lucky enough to have a room right next to the pool and right opposite the food centre. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of the entire team of THB Tropical Island, we would like to thank you for your nice report of your stay. We are really glad reading that you spent an amazing holiday. Thank you again for your special comment. Best regards. More 

swnasea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed there in July 2015, we were a large group of various ages, 6 days after we arrived the generator caught fire, leaving half the hotel complex in darkness, no electricity for nearly 24 hours!,We had to call the maintenance man to open the safe, as this was run by electricity then the following day no electricity for 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear Tinkerbell, first of all we would like to apologize for not reaching your expectations. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your report about your stay and letting us know about your comments, so we can work on them to improve our services. We did our best in getting back the aircon fixed and... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here for a week from the 6th-13th August under a family of 7. I never write reviews but this place is amazing! From the word go, it was out of this world. From the hotel staff to the animation team, everyone worked so tirelessly to ensure everyone was enjoying there holiday! Laura in restaurant is a great worker, Vanessa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Director Tropi... T, Director General at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your fantastic hotel review in Tripadvisor. Your opinion in very important to the whole THB Tropical Island Team, in order that every staff member will know about it. We are more than pleased that you liked the food as well as the service provided by our staff! Such comments, makes us try to improve every... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

858 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (573)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (90)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (129)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (61)
Viewed
Family/play areas (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Other (207)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (263)
Viewed
Amenities (58)
Viewed
Apartment (54)
Viewed
Pool (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.9 mi away
THB Corbeta
THB Corbeta
#25 of 35 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 35 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#26 of 35 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#13 of 35 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 stars 919 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rio Playa Blanca Hotel
Rio Playa Blanca Hotel
#22 of 35 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#5 of 35 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 stars 2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay