We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vila Gale Ericeira

Certificate of Excellence
Praca dos Navegantes, 1, Ericeira 2655-320, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vila Gale Ericeira
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Vila Gale Ericeira
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    158
    46
    12
    7
See reviews for
100
148
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (320)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (112)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel location close to town, restaurants, bars and beach. Fantastic views of the ocean, especially with the choice of balcony (extra charge definitely worth it!) Easy to reach surf schools, board and bike hire. NaOnda surf school was great and the surf instructor Joau really helped us learn the skills and strengths of surfing, great week !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tacoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

The staff was nice. Room spacious enough, mini fridge, beds very comfy, splurged the extra 10euros for a terrace ocean view...no brainer. Came during low season, not crowded at all. Many places to walk from hotel, 5 minute walk to town center, breakfast was included which made this a good value, however we are switching to a guesthouse for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Vila Galé Ericeira and we hope that we can welcome you again on a near future. Thank you for the time taken to post your review. See you soon, Albano Silva Manager More 

RAK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We stayed in the hotel only for a night, so very unfortunately one night only as I was in Lisbon for only a day! My partner had suggested this hotel as the most amazing one in Ericeira and he was right! This was a rainy day, so we stayed indoors most of the time watching waves from the balcony. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Vila Galé Ericeira and we hope that we can welcome you again on a near future. Thank you for the time taken to post your review. See you soon, Albano Silva Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Selected a sea-view room with balcony. Big mistake. This is not a gentle lapping seashore, the constant crashing of the waves will keep any light-sleeper awake all night, walls are also very thin and noise from next door is very obvious. That said, the hotel rooms are very spacious and comfortable and looked very nice. The location is excellent for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Vila Galé Ericeira and we hope that we can welcome you again on a near future. Thank you for the time taken to post your review. See you soon, Albano Silva Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel the last week in September and the weather was beautiful. I used the two outdoor pools, and the Sauna, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath. Although the hotel was full, there weren`t many people using these facilities, so it was quiet and relaxing. Some of the reception staff were lovely and helpful. I upgraded to a room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Vila Galé Ericeira and we hope that we can welcome you again on a near future. Thank you for the time taken to post your review. See you soon, Carlos Alves Manager More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a super location but the food is not worthy of a 4 star hotel. The pool area is lovely and clean with plenty of room and the views and the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks stunning. With only a short walk to the town this hotel is in an ideal position.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We always appreciate the feedback received and welcome every opportunity to improve, therefore we thank you for your review. We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Ericeira or in any other Vila Galé Hotel "always close to you". Best Regards, Carlos Alves Manager More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

the hotel was lovely and it was clean and tidy. had a great location and we were able to walk out to the little town which was lovely. Considering this is a 4 star hotel, the food on the buffet was quite frankly, awful. It was more often than not cold and lacked any imagination. Considering the local shops sell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for the time taking in posting your comments about your saty in Vila Galé Ericeira. We are surprised about your comments regarding the food quality because normally is one of the highlights made by our guests. We hope that we can welcome you again so you can gives one more opportunity. Best Regards, Carlos Alves... More 

Sintra Municipality, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

An imponent, romantic vintage hotel, near the Atlantic Ocean. Pros: Classic and beautiful hotel. Incredible room with an ocean unforgetable view. Nice and simple breakfast. Super professional staff. Cons: None

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Vila Galé Ericeira and we hope that we can welcome you again on a near future. Thank you for the time taken to post your review. See you soon, Carlos Alves Manager More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

We stayed four days in this hotel in late August. We booked a balcony room with a seaview, and were very glad we had - the balcony was lovely and had a gorgeous view. The hotel is spotless, although some may find it a bit old-fashioned, I really liked the typical Portuguese decor. Although the hotel seemed to be fully... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We always appreciate the feedback received and welcome every opportunity to improve, therefore we thank you for your review. We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Ericeira or in any other Vila Galé Hotel "always close to you". Best Regards, Carlos Alves Manager More 

Bussum, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

With a sea view room on upper floors one will be happy. But the downsides are: hardly any parking space, old, portuguese style hotel with furniture and decoration alike. Very spacious room with 'classic' furniture and beds: Portuguese like 'em hard. Bathroom has it all but is also a bit outdated. But all very clean. Airconditioning works but at night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and for the time taken to post them. Vila Galé Ericeira is an hotel that opened on the lates 1940's and therefore when Vila Galé came wanted to preserve some of that age ambience that the furniture or the high ceilings were typical. We were glad to ear that you have enjoyed the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

543 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
1:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (365)
Viewed
Amenities (73)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (63)
Viewed
Standard Room with Balcony Sea View (28)
Viewed
Standard Room with Land View (30)
Viewed
Standard Room with Sea View (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities