We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa

Certificate of Excellence
Convento das Chagas - Terreiro do Paco, Vila Vicosa 7160, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    61
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
76
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Carcavelos, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a group of people on a retreat from work, spent 3 nights at this Pousada and used their meeting room (beautiful old hall) and enjoyed the lunches, coffee breaks and buffet breakfast. This is a wonderful place to have a calm time to reflect, discuss and relax. The personnel is very professional and dedicated. The rooms are adorable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandria, Va
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here in April 2015. I love the architecture of Portugal's pousadas, and this converted convent did not disappoint us. We had a nice large room with a view overlooking the town. It is next to the palace and opens onto the large square, so it is very quiet at night. Breakfast was plentiful and the staff was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_DJoao, Manager at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your comments about Pousada Convento de Vila Viçosa. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Pousada, our services and the location. Regarding the pool, it is drained due to an intervention that we are holding for improvement. We hope that it ends as soon as possible to fully satisafzer our customers.... More 

Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Just to let you know, this pousada's sign on the front states it is the Pousada D. Joao IV. The name of this pousada on hotels.com is Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa. So don't think there are two pousadas at Vila Vicosa like I did. Also, it is located right next to the Ducal Palace. Our GPS had it a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_DJoao, Manager at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your comments about Pousada Convento de Vila Viçosa. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, namely our location, breakfast, staff friendly and Easter activities - Egg Hut. Is very important for all team, know that we have reached the client expectation, I am certain that this will serve... More 

Linschoten, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Made a trip visiting 5 different pousadas in Portugal. The site is very interesting. The room we had was very disappointing, small (just enough for a large bed) and with a nasty smell (sewer). Also the bathroom was not comfortable, no space to store our things. From the other two couples of our company we learned that we were just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_DJoao, Manager at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your helpful review. With that we are able to improve our services in future. Allows to mention that Pousada de Vila Viçosa have a strong characteristic in its labyrinth themed rooms, the Nun´s cells were recovered and turned in to rooms where we try to maintain the same environment. We really expect to... More 

Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

If you are into highspeed wifi and small box like rooms this is not the place for you. The rooms are large furnished with period style furnish and comfortable beds, good bathrooms with plenty of hot water. The staff are very helpful and friendly but remain polite. The self service style breakfast is plenty full and has a great variety... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_DJoao, Manager at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your comments about Pousada Convento de Vila Viçosa. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Pousada and our services as the breakfast and the Staff performance. Regarding the internet, we are pleasure to inform you that we are improving the wi-fi service during the current year, so, in your next visit,... More 

Albufeira, Portugal
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

This was a good choice! i was a bit worried after reading some reviews. But this old classic Pousada was worth it the rooms were well heated clean and fairly large the breakfast choice was excellent with hot and cold food with various homemade or local breads,cakes and jams staff on reception were good even allowing for a mix up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_DJoao, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this review

Dear Mr Millar, Thank you so much for sharing your comments with other travelers. We are glade to read that we meet Your expectations. Your comments are really important and allows us to improve every day. We look forward to welcoming you back at Pousada Convento de Vila Viçosa. Best regards, More 

Orillia, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Wonderful converted Monastery. Incredible room #111 is the Professors Room with its own jail cell( too tough to explain, must be seen.) Fabulous principal rooms. Great morning breakfasts and excellent dinner menu . This is a Must Stay if you're in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014 via mobile

wife and I visited here for just one night . The staff were particularly friendly and helpful and our room was large had a big comfy bed was well decorated and equipped . The place has been beautifully renovated and we would have liked to have stayed longer . Great breakfast all in all well worth a visit and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oeiras, Portugal
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
36 hotel reviews
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

The building is very interesting, the swimming pool area is very nice, staff are friendly (but you feel there's not enough of them), especially at the reception. The rooms are large, but really look old. We stayed in a huge room in the 2nd floor, with a bathroom that was the size of a "roman bath", but equipment is old-fashioned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We spent only one night in this hotel but it was so nice. The staff is friendly and eager to help. The building is very well maintained and decorated. The swimming pool and its surroundings are perfect to relax and the town is just lovely. We had a delicious diner in the "claustro" of the hotel in a warm summer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (123)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay