We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Best Western to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

433 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    229
    129
    54
    13
    8
See reviews for
91
137
14
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (433)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (125)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The apologies started at check-in where they apologised for not being able to book a table in the restaurant for that evening but suggested we eat in the village pub (sound advise that with hindsight we should have heeded). Next up was the waiter serving us afternoon tea who apologised for the tea simply being a couple of tea bags... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James G, We were disappointed to read of your experience and we note with some trepidation that to date you have only posted extremely negative reviews here at Tripadvisor. We were aware of a technical issue in Flame restaurant over the weekend that significantly impacted our normal service. One of the extraction units failed in the kitchen rendering a... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A large best western plus hotel, plenty of free parking , leisure facilities ( if you have the time) , mine was a business trip , arriving late the staff were excellent, my room was in the Eco complex (which I think they call the pavilion b,) away from the original building ,a cracking room, spacious with a balcony and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vernon L, Thank you for taking the time and effort to review Blunsdon here at Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and in particular your stay in the Pavilion. Our customer feedback is very important to us and your comments will be shared with the team at our weekly meeting. We do... More 

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had to arrange to take a couple of clients somewhere in Swindon for a Lunch meeting and thought I would give the Flame Grill a go. They do a very nice looking Carvery at Lunchtime alongside a Lunchtime Grill Menu which looked really good and was great value for money at £12 for two courses. I opted to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharna70, Thank you for taking the time to review Blunsdon House. We are delighted to read that your client lunch in Flame was a success and that you enjoyed several items from the new menu. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Chris Clifford Ownership Family For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd More 

Shirley, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had three Pavillion rooms for two nights during the Fairford Airshow weekend. There were a couple of small problems, which stop me giving this hotel 5 out of 5, but I was happy with the response from reception/housekeeping and secondly the restaurant manager in dealing with these issues. I'm not even going to say what they were as dwelling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cliff36, Thank you for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive review of Blunsdon House Hotel, here at Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read your many positive and astute observations of the property. You quite right to comment about the hotel being full, this presents an additional strain on the team and facilities. . Its great that you... More 

Province of Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The impression from outside is fantastic, beautiful location on top of a hill with we'll maintained garden, but has some key defects for what it aims. The bed is really gummy what a pain in the back at wake up!!! Breakfast no choice for continental, only to at bread and that's it, croissant of poor quality no ham or serving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fil R, Thank you for reviewing us here at Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you found Blunsdon to be naturally beautiful but fear some of your review contents may have been a little lost in translation, but would like to respond as follows. Our beds have Hypnos mattresses which prove very popular with our customers we are... More 

Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a bit worried about staying in a Best Western hotel again (due to poor standards of service and sub-standard accommodation in the past ... in the UK. Although, it’s fair to add that we’d love to use a Best Western hotel in the U.S.)... So we almost did not book the Blunsdon House Hotel, because it is part... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neilmach_Uk Wow! Thank you for such a comprehensive and complimentary review of Blunsdon House. Naturally we were delighted to receive your comments. Blunsdon is like a much loved family-hotel because that is precisely what it is. Whilst we are a member of Best Western hotels, we are a fully independent hotel and have been since the hotel's inception (by... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Positive: beautiful room, quiet bars, beautiful grounds, good facilities Negative: staff serving breakfast seemed to have too much to do (not enough to cover the workload) which meant breakfast wasn't smooth and staff didn't have time to spend with guests. I found many of the public areas of the hotel very noisy and busy - music very loud. It reminded... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cath W, Thank you for sharing you opinion of Blunsdon House Hotel with the greater community here at Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you found the grounds, rooms and facilities beautiful and to your liking. We are sorry that you found the hotel to be too busy for you to properly enjoy it. The facilities we provide appeal to... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My folks and I always choose this hotel when we visit the Cotswolds. The staff are friendly and attentive, the rooms are a generous size and there is a fantastic choice of eating venues and bars. The leisure facilities are fantastic and we were pleased to see that they had refurbished their tennis court. Dinner in the Flame restaurant was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Briansquest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Blunsdon House here at Tripadvisor. It is particularly pleasing to note that as a loyal customer you have returned to us once again and we have, in your estimation, improved our product markedly since your last visit. It is great to see that you enjoyed Flame restaurant,... More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is staffed by polite and courteous staff. Unfortunately, it has all the appeal of a 1980s nursing home, with its drab and outdated decor. The rooms are of a good size, however both taps in the bathroom were lose. The dressing gown looked like the cats had used it as a scratching pole. Overall, not bad but could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hulk-0927, Thank you for taking the time to share your rather colourful opinion of the hotel here with the Tripadvisor community. We are glad to read that you found our team both polite and courteous. Blunsdon house has always appealed to a wide customer audience because it successfully blends both modern and traditional design elements. Naturally we disagree with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
3.9 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#2 of 30 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
5.1 mi away
Marriott Swindon Hotel
Marriott Swindon Hotel
#9 of 30 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
7.1 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Village Urban Resort Swindon
2.0 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#18 of 30 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay