We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostellerie La Farandole

Certificate of Excellence
140 Chemin de la Plage, 83110 Sanary-sur-Mer, France
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostellerie La Farandole
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    149
    128
    57
    23
    4
See reviews for
37
242
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (361)
  • Mar-May only
    (102)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (115)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Location and appearance are very nice. The rooms are clean and in good shape. It is on a small beach and the view is beautiful. However, the service does not match their price level. We arrived at 2 pm so their restaurant was closed for lunch. Instructions for finding a meal were confusing and I had to ask for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MONTREAL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been to Cannes, Nice, Monaco and eastern part of the French Riviera, many times. But this was our first time west of Toulon. What a great discovery it was!!! Of all the times we've been on the French Riviera, we never swam on any of its beaches, for most have "gallets" (rocks), water is dark navy blue due... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is fab, situated directly on the sandy beach. The staff were friendly although language skills did not extend to English, I believe mainly French and Russian from what I could experience. It was spotlessly clean which is very important to me. They have a lovely private sundeck and outdoor pool. Everything is very well kept.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this hotel at the end of a tour of the south of France. We had originally booked for four nights but at the last moment decided to reduce our stay to two nights - and we were so glad that we did. Although the building and rooms are attractive the service at the hotel was unprofessional - within... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampton Court
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We made a point of not reading any of the reviews before deciding to stay here for 4 nights on an 8-day holiday on the French Riviera. However, now that I have, the majority of criticism seemed to be about the level of service, attention to detail etc and it was interesting to read management responses to those. Sadly, despite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

The Farandole is brilliantly situated on the Bay of Bandol and sits right in front of the beach, which means that rooms with a sea aspect have a quite fantastic view. We had such a view, although no balcony - in fact, many of the rooms lack a balcony, so make sure you take that into consideration when booking. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy M, Responsable relations clients at Hostellerie La Farandole, responded to this review

Dear wem62, Thank you for sharing your experience, we are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and all the facilities. Our hotel is indeed very well located, nestling on the bay of Bandol, apart from all the crowd, and at the same time, close enough to reach the town centers in a 5 minutes drive. There are... More 

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

This hotel positions itself in the boutique segment and sets its pricing accordingly. But while the setting and decor is excellent the service falls short of achieving the necessary level. This is the conclusion that we reached within just a few hours of arriving. Firstly the desk clerk could hardly speak English (and told us so). Secondly the bar /... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy M, Responsable relations clients at Hostellerie La Farandole, responded to this review

Dear RCH1708, Thank you for sharing your feedback, which pointed out different aspects of our services where it legitimately seemed that we need to improve. I personally am concerned and I am going to discuss this with our direction, to make sure that everyone from each team of our staff works to provide the best services. Hopefully, for your next... More 

Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Stayed here three nights. What a location! It's located on the beach and I could only imagine how pleasant this would be in summer. Nicely decorated and good spacious rooms. Staff was helpful and friendly. Only big minus was the food. Hard to understand. Totally not in comparison to what you could and should expect. Real bummer

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jeremy M, Responsable relations clients at Hostellerie La Farandole, responded to this review

Dear Coutchi, Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings, it is a real pleasure to know that you had a great stay in our hotel and enjoyed all the facilities. We also aprecieate your feedback regarding the staff, sharing it with them will help keeping the same eager to help and make every stay unique. We really... More 

Geneva
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

This hotel is ideally located, the view is breathtaking and definitely worth the stay for a romantic weekend or with friends. The restaurant is quite disappointing so best to head to Sanary or Six Fours les Plages for meals

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jeremy M, Responsable relations clients at Hostellerie La Farandole, responded to this review

Dear Wishyouwerehere_xx, We are really delighted to know that you enjoyed your time in our hotel. It is, indeed, a unique and magical place to stay, even more for a romantic moment to share with your special one. We wish that we will have the chance to welcome you again every year now ! More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

A wonderful hotel building with excellent rooms and views - well situated for exploring the coast from Marseille eastwards along the Cote d'Azur. Be aware that, if not visiting in summer, the hotel restaurant is closed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy M, Responsable relations clients at Hostellerie La Farandole, responded to this review

Dear Bob H, Thank you for sharing this feedback about your stay in l'Hostellerie La Farandole. We are really glad that you enjoyed it, and could not agree more with you regarding the location. Your advice is very relevant, as our restaurants are not opened during the whole year, though our reception team is always eager to share nice places... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanary-sur-Mer
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Soleil et Jardin
BEST WESTERN Soleil et Jardin
#3 of 7 in Sanary-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Synaya
Hotel Synaya
#1 of 7 in Sanary-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ile Rousse Hotel Thalazur Bandol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Le Delos
Hotel Le Delos
#1 of 1 in Ile de Bendor
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dolce Fregate Provence
Dolce Fregate Provence
#4 of 8 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Helios
Hotel Helios
#1 of 2 in Ile des Embiez
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay