We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel De France

Certificate of Excellence
7 rue Chanzy, 33500 Libourne, France
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel De France
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel De France
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    22
    15
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
7
25
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Brussels, Belgium
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booking.com made an error with our reservation, splitting our two rooms over two weekends. Since this was an impossibility, we tried to cancel directly with the hotel and booking.com but the hotel refused to waive the cancellation fee for the impossible night's reservation, even with the knowledge that we were to arrive and use two rooms the following weekend. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eugene
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We booked Hotel de France on the fly on our recent trip to France. The online booking mechanism wasn't working, so I called and was assured we have a room for three - we did. I really appreciate that they were able to help at the last minute and suffer through my poor attempts at French and speak English with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed one night at Hotel de France on our way to Duras. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon at a time when the hotel is normally closed (2pm) we were greeted by Claire who was most welcoming after our very long trip from Melbourne Australia. The hotel was a very short walk from the train station and also very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel and room was charming, but breakfast not available if you have to leave early. As no alternative was proposed we found a local bakery on the square instead. The minimalist service turned grudging and unhelpful when we realised we had left a thermos in the room and asked if it could be posted at our expense. "I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel De France for Vinexpo (June 15th till June 20th 2013). Quiet and clean hotel. Very calm at night. Had good sleep (for me it's hard to fall asleep quickly at a new place but here it was good). Very close to the railway station and the town center. The room was being cleaned up every day.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

When organising wine holidays in France, I look for three star hotels of character with a French rather than an International ambience. I also look for good buffet breakfasts, and reasonable proximity to restaurants. My own room and that of our coach driver was of the basic 'confort' class and was clean, spacious and comfortable. Both the driver and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel De France in Libourne, France for 5 nights from Sunday 9th June leaving Friday morning 14th June. The Hotel is classed as a 3 star hotel and certainly isn't worth any higher rating than this. The Hotel is on a Bed and Breakfast basis and the continental breakfasts are adequate but don't expect any toast!!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Wow how do we start. We arrived early and was greet with distain as are room was not ready. Come back to be given a shoddy second class disable room with windows opening on ground level to a busy road. Bathroom was a portaloo style room with poor quality towels etc. we asked if we could change rooms and was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jojoLibourne, Gérant at Hotel De France, responded to this review

Dear Miss, First,I want to personally thank you for your rather "candid opinion" that will, at least, provide the opportunity to clarify a few points... You booked you room through the internet: you chose, to be specific, a "comfort room" for 2 persons(67€).Consequently, you were full aware that we propose 3 different kinds of room standarts: -"comfort room" for 2... More 

London UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My partner and I had wanted to stay in Saint Emilion, but that's one popular place, and as we hadn't pre-booked and needed somewhere with parking, we ended up looking at nearby towns, which is how we ended up in Libourne. The hotel is in the Michelin guide and our room wasn't a let down. We had a "chambre luxe"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Little room, bad smell of cigar/cigarettes, mini-bathroom. OK breakfast. For app. 72 Euro per night, it's expensive stay. I won't recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Libourne
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Libourne Saint-Emilion
1.0 mi away
Kyriad Libourne - Saint Emilion
0.4 mi away
La Tour du Vieux Port
La Tour du Vieux Port
#4 of 9 in Libourne
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Bon Duc
4.4 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay