We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel De France

Hotel website
7 rue Chanzy, 33500 Libourne, France
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel De France
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel De France
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
23
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Eugene
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We booked Hotel de France on the fly on our recent trip to France. The online booking mechanism wasn't working, so I called and was assured we have a room for three - we did. I really appreciate that they were able to help at the last minute and suffer through my poor attempts at French and speak English with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed one night at Hotel de France on our way to Duras. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon at a time when the hotel is normally closed (2pm) we were greeted by Claire who was most welcoming after our very long trip from Melbourne Australia. The hotel was a very short walk from the train station and also very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel and room was charming, but breakfast not available if you have to leave early. As no alternative was proposed we found a local bakery on the square instead. The minimalist service turned grudging and unhelpful when we realised we had left a thermos in the room and asked if it could be posted at our expense. "I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel De France for Vinexpo (June 15th till June 20th 2013). Quiet and clean hotel. Very calm at night. Had good sleep (for me it's hard to fall asleep quickly at a new place but here it was good). Very close to the railway station and the town center. The room was being cleaned up every day.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Penrith, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

When organising wine holidays in France, I look for three star hotels of character with a French rather than an International ambience. I also look for good buffet breakfasts, and reasonable proximity to restaurants. My own room and that of our coach driver was of the basic 'confort' class and was clean, spacious and comfortable. Both the driver and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel De France in Libourne, France for 5 nights from Sunday 9th June leaving Friday morning 14th June. The Hotel is classed as a 3 star hotel and certainly isn't worth any higher rating than this. The Hotel is on a Bed and Breakfast basis and the continental breakfasts are adequate but don't expect any toast!!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Wow how do we start. We arrived early and was greet with distain as are room was not ready. Come back to be given a shoddy second class disable room with windows opening on ground level to a busy road. Bathroom was a portaloo style room with poor quality towels etc. we asked if we could change rooms and was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jojoLibourne, Gérant at Hotel De France, responded to this review

Dear Miss, First,I want to personally thank you for your rather "candid opinion" that will, at least, provide the opportunity to clarify a few points... You booked you room through the internet: you chose, to be specific, a "comfort room" for 2 persons(67€).Consequently, you were full aware that we propose 3 different kinds of room standarts: -"comfort room" for 2... More 

London UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My partner and I had wanted to stay in Saint Emilion, but that's one popular place, and as we hadn't pre-booked and needed somewhere with parking, we ended up looking at nearby towns, which is how we ended up in Libourne. The hotel is in the Michelin guide and our room wasn't a let down. We had a "chambre luxe"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Little room, bad smell of cigar/cigarettes, mini-bathroom. OK breakfast. For app. 72 Euro per night, it's expensive stay. I won't recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walpole, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel at the beginning of September for just one night while passing though town. This hotel had very friendly staff and free parking which was very night. The location of the hotel is great right off a side street that leads right into the City Center which was only about a 10 minute walk to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question