We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highbullen Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Chittlehamholt EX37 9HD, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highbullen Hotel
Professional photos View all
Highbullen Hotel
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    87
    27
    13
    8
See reviews for
56
154
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (319)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I booked one night in the new Loft Suite at Highbullen as a special treat and we had the most wonderful time! When we arrived our check in was smooth and welcoming and the receptionist was friendly and helpful. We were truly wowed when we arrived at our accomodation! This is one of the most luxurious suites... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Visiting friends in Devon - we had dinner here. The meal was outstanding , plus excellent wines - a very good range of sensibly priced wines ! Champagne & the Rioja complemented the evening. Waiting at table by the young staff was unobtrusive and timely. The chef is to be commended. We all had different starters & mains & they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For our 50th wedding celebration our 3 children with their partners and 9 grandchildren had a 4 night stay over Easter. Our accommodation in Forester's was ideal. The facilities and freedom for children aged 4-14 could not have been better. The staff were friendly and so helpful. Would recommend for any such gathering.

Was this review helpful? Yes
plymouth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel with another couple for a night with a travelzoo offer which was excellent value for money . We were lucky for March that the weather was good as we were situated some way away from the main hotel . It was fine for us however to access the swimming pool and hotel you needed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a lovely 2 night stay at Highbullen - our first trip away since our little boy was born 4 months ago and felt compelled to write a review as we had such a fantastic time! This was our 3rd trip to the hotel since it was taken over, and each time it seems to get better. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked the day before we travelled for a 2 night stay reception staff were friendly. Booked a standard room in the court yard. On arrival we were upgraded to the Chinoiserie Room, Thank you Highbullen it was a lovely surprise! Spacious, clean and I loved the idea the door into the room was away from the main bedroom and along... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a table for lunch on Easter Sunday several weeks in advance in the Devon View fine dining restaurant with stunning panoramic views. We arrived to be told the restaurant was closed for a private function and all sunday lunches were in the Palazzo. Why they couldn't have told me this when I booked I don't know, or at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Naturally, I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us yesterday. Although I am rather disappointed not to have had an opportunity to rectify the problem yesterday; it was myself that met you at the door, showed you to your table, and was within a few meters of you throughout almost all... More 

dorset
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed on a Saturday with a travelzoo deal. Absolutely first class. Room was of a high standard, evening meal and breakfast second to none. Spa, pool and gym also of a very high standard and spotlessly clean. Would definitely stay again at the full price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your break with us. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back (full price, or otherwise!). Best wishes, James More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The reception staff were great and gave us a list of local walks before dinner. The Snug,was a little on the small side but OK for two nights.All staff very helpful. Breakfast had great selection of cereals and fruit. Full English was good,black pudding a little meagre,but my biggest disappointment was the "Manx Kipers" couple of fillets.Not what I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Geoff. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. I will discuss your comments regarding the kippers with our Head Chef. I am sorry we were unable to exceed your expectation on that occasion. We tend to find the snug is perfect for guests staying a night or two, particularly because it is in... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

comfy beds and lots of hot water. The restaurant staff are attentive. The food was freshly prepared and there was plenty of variety on the set menu. We hadn't expected to fond such a fantastic chef deep in Devon but we are glad we did. We ate both lunch and dinner on different days and both were excellent. Neither of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Corinne. I am delighted you enjoyed your break with us. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the chef - he will be as pleased as I am. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Best wishes, James More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question