We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highbullen Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Chittlehamholt EX37 9HD, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highbullen Hotel
Professional photos View all
Highbullen Hotel
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    86
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
54
149
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (311)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The reception staff were great and gave us a list of local walks before dinner. The Snug,was a little on the small side but OK for two nights.All staff very helpful. Breakfast had great selection of cereals and fruit. Full English was good,black pudding a little meagre,but my biggest disappointment was the "Manx Kipers" couple of fillets.Not what I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Geoff. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. I will discuss your comments regarding the kippers with our Head Chef. I am sorry we were unable to exceed your expectation on that occasion. We tend to find the snug is perfect for guests staying a night or two, particularly because it is in... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

comfy beds and lots of hot water. The restaurant staff are attentive. The food was freshly prepared and there was plenty of variety on the set menu. We hadn't expected to fond such a fantastic chef deep in Devon but we are glad we did. We ate both lunch and dinner on different days and both were excellent. Neither of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Corinne. I am delighted you enjoyed your break with us. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the chef - he will be as pleased as I am. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Best wishes, James More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here on a Saturday night on a travelzoo deal. Check in was smooth and we were greeted warmly. The room was spacious and well equipped. The shower however was completely useless.The decor was good and the room was well furnished. We ate in the main restaurant and the food was excellent. The waiting staff were young but friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to have read about your shower. Perhaps you could drop me a line to let me know which room you stayed in (your user name and review don't give me enough clues!) so that we are able to fully investigate the issue. We have had two full nights in the last 5... More 

Tetbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been visiting HighBullen for many years and seen it grow from a family run small retreat to a substantial leisure and golf venue. Most of the time, the transition has been smooth but occasionally, Highbullen's standards have slipped. On a recent visit, we were pleased to find everything and everybody were on top form and we had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and your continued commitment to Highbullen. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be delighted to welcome you back soon. I am also pleased to read how your wife enjoyed the golf course. Best wishes, James More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

FRom the moment you arrive, everything is at a high standard. Check in is welcoming and the rooms are excellent, food is fantastic. We stayed there last week end - and it exceeded our expectations and is many times better than other 4/5* hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas, Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are all over-the-moon that your stay exceeded your expectations. Rest assured I will pass on your feedback to the staff. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Best wishes, James More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautifully situated. Overlooking rolling countryside.food and serviice excellent in the Devon view restaurant.had a fall on the golf course and all,the staff could not do enough , called an ambulance, changed our room for easy access and thoroughly looked after us.Of course we are going back and soon,!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Chris. It was a pleasure to have you with us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best wishes, James More 

Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It started in reception with a great welcome from the Swedish receptionist. We were the only residents in The Stable Block, and our room was extremely comfortable, with wonderful views over the countryside. We viewed the gym and swimming pool which were excellently equipped.........next time maybe if the old muscles permit! Our first meal was in The Cellars. We ordered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your visit to us. I was particularly pleased to read your comments regarding the food during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Regards, James More 

London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Super weekend break staying in the scenic and large Room 5 overlooking rolling countryside. This recently renovated country house has much to offer starting with the delightfull reception staff in particular Keria spoilt us throughout our stay nothing too much trouble for her. The food excellent. Again great service in both the cellars and the gorgeously appointed dining room. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your break with us. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments, especially to Keira. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Regards, James More 

Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this break back in November last year after I had hip surgery, it was to be a nice break once I was fully mobile again. Booked it via Secret Escapes which have done many times. We turned up to the hotel at 14:00 knowing the room is not available till 15:00 but we thought we could have afternoon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry about our mix-up regarding your reservation. We are reviewing our checking procedures to ensure there is no repeat of your experience. I can honestly say that since changing our Property Management System at the beginning of January we have only had this one issue with bookings not being carried over. I am... More 

Somerset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a one night stay at Highbullen through a Travelzoo offer. Our room was one of their "standard" ones, but was great; really spacious with a lovely comfortable bed and good bathroom. It was in an outbuilding but we liked this, as it was nice and quiet. We had dinner in their Devon View restaurant in the evening and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am over-the-moon you enjoyed your over-night stay with us. I am particularly pleased to read your wonderful comments regarding the food, staff and location. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. James P.S. We also can arrange golf lessons! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question