We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highbullen Hotel

3.0 of 5 Chittlehamholt EX37 9HD, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Highbullen Hotel
Professional photos View all
Highbullen Hotel
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    82
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
52
138
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (298)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (90)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

we have been here quite a few times now for the Sunday dip and dine, it is a wonderful way to spend a quiet lazy Sunday, the last time we visited was about 6 weeks ago = since then there have been changes to the Sunday menu - prices have gone up and portions have gone down and one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

2 night stay with friends. Thoroughly enjoyed it. From reception to restaurants and bar, everyone of the staff we met was not only helpful, but so very friendly and chatty that we really felt welcome. 2 comfortable lounges, one with log fire. Cellar bar and food were excellent - good portions and very tasty. Devon View restaurant was superb -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your break with us. I was particularly pleased to read your comments regarding the food and the staff - both vital ingredients for a country house hotel. You will be pleased to know that we are developing plans for a spa currently which, apart from many other features, will allow... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wow wee what a wonderful hotel set in a beautiful location!! I took my husband here for his birthday and we had a fantastic stay. the hotel, our bedroom and spa area are all done to a high standard with a beautiful elegance about them. The staff were friendly, chatty, smiley and very welcoming in a nice casual manor The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we would love you to come back too! I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and i will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We look forward to seeing you soon. Best wishes, James More 

Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We decided to have a few days away after our wedding and seeing as it was over the New Year period and we have a 5 month old baby, we decided to stay in the country but head to somewhere quiet to relax. The booking agent made it clear to the hotel that we were there on our honeymoon and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to have read about your disappointment. Please accept my apologies for our shortcomings. Please contact me directly at the hotel so that we can arrange to make amends for your experiences. I do hope we are able to convince you to return in the near future. Best wishes, James More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We went for a 2 day break as a couple to celebrate a birthday and had 2 unfortunate incidents involving a long wait for a light meal and an incident involving a trainee waitress and a large glass of Rioja ! These incidents were very professionally dealt with by the management and we look forward to re visiting some time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I spent the weekend here to celebrate his birthday. The room was comfortable and very clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was exquisite, and the views were stunning. We ate in the Cellars Restaurant on our first evening and I had the tagliatelle carbonara which was the best I have had. On the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Louise. I am overjoyed to have read your comments and very pleased we were able to give you a weekend to remember. I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team, especially the kitchen team (with regard to your views on the Tagliatelle). We look forward to welcoming you back in the near... More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about this break was great ! From the warm welcome when we arrived to the goodbye when we left. The room was comfortable the food was amazing and cooked to perfection especially the pigeon breast ---- delicious! Coffee and petite fours after supper before the fire were another treat My husband enjoyed a bracing game of golf whilst I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Teresa for your review. We are over-the-moon that you and your husband enjoyed your break with us. It sounds like you got the better end of the deal while your husband braved the February North Devon weather! I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a night here on Saturday 20th February, The manor house has bags of character and loads of original features. The staff were very friendly and always happy to help. We stayed in the West Room which was very comfortable, and well appointed, one very minor issue was the poor water pressure from the shower and taps but I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I was thrilled we were able to ensure you had a great weekend break with us. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff in recognition of their hard work. At present many consider our pool to be a true 'swimming' pool, therefore those that use it for lengths do prefer... More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just returned from 3 days at Highbullen with the family and friends. Really found the place a tonic, very relaxing good food, beautiful surroundings. Service was relaxed, warm and friendly, rooms were lovely. Great place to use as a base to visit great places nearby... Will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you - It was lovely to read your wonderful comments. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes and kind regards, James More 

worcestershire
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed here for one night thursday12 Feb. At check in we were told our room was a 1 minute walk from the hotel. This came as a bit of surprise as we were expecting a room connected to the hotel!!. Anyway we found our room and it was very nice bed very comfy very clean & a good size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JameshemmingHBH, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We were thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its a shame you didn't make it down to the pool - it is indeed and nice as you thought it was! Please contact reception directly at the hotel who will be pleased to arrange return postage for your charge. Best wishes and kind... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Highbullen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbullen Hotel

Address: Chittlehamholt EX37 9HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chittlehamholt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highbullen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Highbullen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbullen Hotel Umberleigh

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay