We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mantra Lake Tekapo

Certificate of Excellence
1 Beauchamp Place, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Mantra Lake Tekapo
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    73
    36
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
66
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (130)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Nottingham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

5 of us stayed in an apartment at Mantra. It's within close proximity of the centre of Lake Tekapo and has super views of Mount Cook. The apartments have beautiful interiors and all the facilities needed. We had 3 bedrooms in our apartment - one had an ensuite and one had a balcony. Apartment also had a dishwasher, washing machine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great stay here in a two bedroom apartment. Very clean and warm apartment. Had a view of snow capped mountain from our deck. Awesome sleep on a very comfortable bed. Definitely stay here again. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
christchurch
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed one night in a two bedroom townhouse at the end of the school holidays. The internal access garage was fantastic for us but if you have a larger 4wd vehicle this probably wouldn't fit. The downstairs had the living with gas fire, dining, fully equipped kitchen and a downstairs toilet. Glass doors off the living provided access... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Kia ora Dutch215, Thank you so much for a fantastic review! We are really thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of our property. We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to post your sentiments. Hopefully you are able to come back again soon - we would love to see you. Best wishes, Andrew M Freak General... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

A good size townhouse for our family. Unfortunately we only stayed one night to fully enjoy it. Nice kitchen so we could prepare our meals for two families and dishwasher so we can stay on holiday The kids enjoyed the area except the pool was no use as it was frozen over. Our room balcony had a priceless view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Kia ora merrycam, Thanks for a great review, and we are thrilled that you were able to enjoy the snow. You were very wise not to jump in the pool that's for sure! We hope you are able to stay a little longer next time you are in Lake Tekapo. With thanks, Andrew M Freak General Manager Mantra Lake Tekapo More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

With limited accommodation options in Lake Tekapo, it is difficult to find well priced properties suitable for families. The Mantra was not the very cheapest but so worth the little extra for what we got. We were totally impressed by the style and space of the apartments, the decor was luxurious and there was everything we could possibly want provided.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Kia ora cruizee, Wonderful review, thank you! There's so many great comments, and we are just excstatic that you enjoyed so much about our property. Thanks again. Andrew M Freak General Manager Mantra Lake Tekapo More 

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

We had been traveling around with friends sight seeing on the South Island and the Mantra at Lake Tekapo was a stand out in terms of accommodation for us. Friendly staff, lovely apartments and everything you could ask for a comfortable and convenient stay on the road. Couldn't recommend high enough. Thanks for a great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Kia ora AusCabonara, You are so welcome! We are very appreciative of your wonderful review, and most importantly we are glad that everything exceeded your expectations. Best wishes, Andrew M Freak General Manager Mantra Lake Tekapo More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Very modern and well equipped. Great size for family. Beds were comfy but pillows were horrible and in need of renewal. The lack of wifi is disappointing in the yr 2015. Office not open for checkout even at 9am. Would have been good to get info re state of road considering snowed overnight. Shame we could not swim- pool frozen!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Kia ora Scott B, Thanks for the kind comments regarding your recent stay. We do expect to finally have a Wifi solution in place in readiness for the start of August. We apologise that we were a little delayed in getting the office open, our staff member was somewhat challenged getting to work in the heavy snow. As beautiful as... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015 via mobile

Our family of 6 stayed in unit 7. We were very satisfied with the accomodation. The unit was tastefully decorated and facility was well stocked facility with great warmers for a cold cold night. We used the laundry facilities which was hassle free. All the necessary utensils were present for us to prepare our meal. If I may suggest, have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Kia ora Daniel_G0h, Thank you so much; we are so happy your family enjoyed their stay with us. I'm glad you found your apartment to be nice & warm during those freezing cold nights. Many thanks, Andrew M Freak General Manager Mantra Lake Tekapo More 

Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

The townhouse is spacious and comes with a full kitchen. We cooked for four one night and it had everything we needed. However, the bedding is outdated and there is no access to any wifi. Every time we turned on the main heater it would shut the tv off and eventually would turn itself off, so the downstairs was cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Kia ora lamer14, Thanks for your kind comments. The bedspreads are not my personal choice, but it is homely and comfortable. Despite having an ornate look, they are not very old and the design does fit in with nature of the site. We are looking to have our new Wifi system installed over the next couple of weeks, which will... More 

Merimbula, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

My wife and I stayed in a 3 bedroom townhouse with two single people who occupied the other rooms. While not far from the lake, the townhouse had no views except of other apartments. The gardens present very well and this partially makes up for the lack of a view. The general condition of the townhouse was very nice but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Kia ora Peter B, We certainly do not sell ourselves or purport to be something other than an apartment-style complex. Our site is not blessed with Lake Views, but it does offer large 2/3 bedroom apartments that are cosy, with all the features of a home for you to enjoy. There are obviously a few aspects here for us to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#3 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#9 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay