We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moonlight Bed and Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
25 Murray Place | Lake Tekapo, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Moonlight Bed and Breakfast
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

My bf and I stayed for one night on 10Dec2015. The en suite room was very spacious and clean. We like it much. The bed was big. Breakfast was self-served and it was alright! We stayed at the backyard at night to look up the sky and luckily we saw some shooting stars!!!

Helpful?
Thank Sara Y
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

My third stay at Moonlight B&B in 3 years did not disappoint. This time my wife joined me and she enjoyed it too. We stayed for a couple of nights, enjoyed exploring the surrounding area including a hike through very deep fresh snow up Mt John one day and a day trip to Aoraki Mt Cook (village) the next. Unfortunately... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angus D
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting Moonlight again, it's always great when our guests come back! I'm sorry I wasn't there to host you but I trust our manager took good care of you. Hopefully next time the weather will be a bit more cooperative! Hope to see you in NZ in the not too distant future! All the best, Tracey More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

When I travel the thing I look for the most is somewhere clean and inviting and Moonlight Bed and Breakfast didn't dissapoint . My room was spacious , the surroundings beautiful and peaceful yet close to everything and loved the perc coffee and bagels - simple yet all I needed to start the day :-) hopefully I'll be back!!

Helpful?
Thank BridgetGidget
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi and thank so much for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us - it's always a delight to host happy and gracious travellers! I enjoyed our chat over coffee! We'd love to have you back anytime! Best, Tracey & Wolfgang More 

Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

The home-stay was clean. The breakfast was poor, especially being a cold morning. No warm milk for a poor selection of cereal. No fresh fruit, but there was juice. There was a frost so we needed to turn on the only heating, a heat pump which was so very old it made a huge amount of noise, hence we couldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank 194745
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

The home-stay was clean. The breakfast was poor, especially being a cold morning. No warm milk for a poor selection of cereal. No fresh fruit, but there was juice. There was a frost so we needed to turn on the only heating, a heat pump which was so very old it made a huge amount of noise, hence we couldn't... More 

London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Moonlight B&B proved a great base for an overnight stay in Tekapo. It's very close to the village centre (shops, restaurants, etc.) and in a quiet location. The room was very spacious and comfortable - and warm, which was much appreciated after a freezing cold night tour of the Mount John observatory. The room opens onto a cute little garden,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank London_UK_member
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Moonlight! Yes, I remember you were rathr busy and managed to fit in all the wonderful attractions that Lake Tekapo has to offer! We are lucky to live in such a great part of the world and glad that you had a 'taste' of the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 via mobile

Lake Tekapo doesn't really have anything to do there, unless you're in Winter for the snow! So the middle of March wasn't ideal.. We booked this place thinking it was a motel bed and breakfast, but it really wasn't. We arrived to find out we were sleeping in what seemed a rumpus room with a shared backyard. We weren't expecting... More 

Helpful?
Thank montykooge
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Not sure where to start with this review, perhaps you must be hard to please if you think that "Lake Tekapo doesn't really have anything to do there, unless you're in Winter for the snow!' If you care to look, Lake Tekapo has many activities such as star gazing, scenic flights, canoeing, horse riding, hiking, mountain biking, swimming, not to... More 

Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Stayed at Moonlight B&B on 11th and 12th April in the Sol room. The ensuite room was spacious, clean and well organised for our stay! The bed and mattresses were pretty firm and perfect for a wonderful sleep. We recovered our sleep from the long drives around the South Island! The bathroom is spacious with a good set up of... More 

Helpful?
Thank tripdhan
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi guys, thanks for your review and hope you had a nice flight back home! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Moonlight, it was great to meet guests from my home town (and with so much in common!). It was a pleasure to upgrade you to our Sol room studio at no extra cost - glad you liked... More 

Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We stayed in the Sol Room which was very spacious and well-equipped. This property was situated in a quiet area, close to local restaurants and several attractions. Tracey was a wonderful host, she made time to chat with us whenever possible and provided a stunning breakfast with home-made bread and various other treats wrapped beautifully in a basket. The gardens... More 

Helpful?
Thank Godfrey B
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Godfrey and June! Great to hear from you and thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay and I"m so glad you enjoyed it too! I received your lovely card in the mail, very thoughtful, thankyou (and nice to see your village)! I hope you come back to NZ again! Warm wishes,... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

After a long drive from Kaikoura, this was just the comfort we were looking for. Lovely gardens and nice clean rooms. Breakfast is always ready in the fridge with lovely bagels and coffee. Just 2 minutes from the town and perfect place to crash after a long drive and a busy day.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brijal P
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi guys, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Moonlight! It was a pleasure to have such gracious guests in our home. Warm regards Tracey & Wolfgang More 

New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 via mobile

I stayed in the room with the private entrance (was my 26th night on the South Island). The room is beautiful with views to the gardens. I was greeted warmly by Tracy. I have two complaints about this place-- one would bother everyone, the other may not be a problem for some. First, the hosts own two dogs. When I... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelNH_13
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Greg, thank you for your review. I'm glad you were happy with the room, and yes you are correct that our breakfast is continental which is available in the rooms for guests to prepare in the morning. Our breakfast option is very clearly advertised on our website so not sure why you booked a room with this option if... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#3 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Marie Therese Bed & Breakfast
Marie Therese Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities