We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Lake Tekapo B&Bs / inns

Moonlight Bed and Breakfast

Save
You added Moonlight Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
25 Murray Place | Lake Tekapo, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Moonlight Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 11 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed in the room with the private entrance (was my 26th night on the South Island). The room is beautiful with views to the gardens. I was greeted warmly by Tracy. I have two complaints about this place-- one would bother everyone, the other may not be a problem for some. First, the hosts own two dogs. When I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Greg, thank you for your review. I'm glad you were happy with the room, and yes you are correct that our breakfast is continental which is available in the rooms for guests to prepare in the morning. Our breakfast option is very clearly advertised on our website so not sure why you booked a room with this option if... More 

cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were only here for 1 night. The room has its own entrance separate from the house, Tracey was welcoming but we felt she did have a few rules about not being disturbed after a certain time. Also we did think we were nearer to the Lake itself. The little township is only about 10 minutes walk away. The breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Glad you had a nice stay in Lake Tekapo, thanks for your review :o) Warm regards Tracey More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopping on the way to take pictures of Mount Cook and the dazzlingly blue Lake Tekapo we arrived mid-afternoon and our helpful hostess, Tracey suggested a visit to the local I-Site to see if places were available for a midnight stargazing trip to the nearby observatory as it promised to be a clear night. There were, and as Brian Cox... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi David, Anne & Jackie. Thanks for your review, it was great to have you stay! Thanks for sharing your photography tips too :o) Hope the rest of the holiday went well and the weather improved for a flight! Best regards Tracey More 

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed here for one night during a short stop in Lake Tekapo. The hosts were friendly and very helpful, particularly when it came to dining suggestions for dinner! We both had a wonderful night's sleep and it was handy having our own entrance so we could come and go as we please. Our room was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thankyou Ashleigh! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always a pleasure to host such lovely guests. Lewis sends his regards and hopes you come back and spoil him again soon! Best wishes Tracey More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Just had two nights here, and wish that it had been longer. Set up on the hill behind the town, room was spacious, clean and had all the amenities you could wish for. Very adequate breakfast provided, juice, cereals, yoghurt, fruit , bagels and butter and jam. You have your own entrance , so can come and go as you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review. It was great to meet you and have you both stay here. Warm wishes, Tracey, Lewis & Minnie :o) More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed just one night, but the room was lovely! It's well-decorated and large, and very comfortable. Our hosts were very warm and genial, and gave us good advice for travel and local eats. The B&B is well situated, close to the centre of the town but still very quiet. Nice garden in the back. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi guys, it was great having you to stay! Thanks so much for a thoughtful review. All the best for 2015! Tracey & Wolfgang More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Tekapo is a great place to visit and this is a great place to stay! The Moonlight is very close to town (~10-15 minute walk to restaurants and to a great view of the lake). The hosts were very helpful with restaurant and activity suggestions. The room was warm and comfortable. There were no cooking facilities, but there was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, it was a pleasure to have you both stay with us! Happy New Year and hope to see you again in NZ :o) Kind regards, Tracey & Wolfgang More 

Hampshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Very friendly and helpful host. We had a 2 roomed apartment with excellent facilities and comfortable bed. Good quiet location, but only 5 minutes walk away from the centre. Lake Tekapo is beautiful and worth a stop if you're on route elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, we love having such happy people to stay! Hope the rest of your holiday went well. Happy New Year and best regards, Tracey & Wolfgang More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Lake Tekapo is such a beautiful place and Moonlight B&B was our choice for an overnight stay. Tracey is a friendly and helpful host and she gave us info on where to eat and what to do. The room is clean with working heater and Wifi. We find the living room cosy and the garden at the back charming. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay at Moonlight, it was a pleasure to host you! Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review. Happy New Year, Tracey & Wolfgang More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 via mobile

If you can ignore the tacky mis matched furniture, dogs peering into your room, lack of proper cleaning (black scale? in the kettle, dust on the bed, food stuck on the bowls) then this is the place for you. Kitchen supplies included stale bagels (thankfully I had my own bread) and cereal dumped into a container used by previous tenants.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Whilst we welcome all feedback, both positive and negative, it is always disappointing when it is worded in a such a negative and unconstructive manner. We take great pride in our B&B and encourage our guests to let us know immediately if there is something they are not happy with. In this case, we are very disappointed you didn't come... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Moonlight Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Bed and Breakfast

Address: 25 Murray Place | Lake Tekapo, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay