We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort

Certificate of Excellence
State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    159
    38
    4
    2
See reviews for
128
195
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (404)
  • Mar-May only
    (119)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (125)
All months
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel has excellent location, which is walkable to lake tekapo. In addition, it is also a walking distance to grocery, restaurants and café. The Run 77 cafe was not to be missed.The staff at the hotel was helpful. You could also borrow DVDs to watch. We had 3 adults and 2 children and rented the penthouse. The kitchen equipped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We'd like to stay at a place where it's near the Intercity bus drop off point (we are traveling to Queenstown the following day) and has good view of Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort meets those criteria. I was advised to book the Family Suite as it has the best view and the extra money was worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

One of the best in terms of location near the lake itself plus walking distance to mini market and restaurants. Room is clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly as well / attentive. It comes with free wifi. Too bad there was a construction in front of the motel during our visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed in a downstairs Studio Spa room facing the lake. Motel was in an excellent spot, pretty much in the centre of the township on the lake side so everything was a short walk away. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the hosts friendly and helpful. Enjoyed my stay and would book again if back in Tekapo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in Tekapo to see the stars, and unfortunately the night that we were there it was very cloudy and the tours to the observatory were cancelled. The town is not even really a town, just a bunch of restaurants and stores that have sprung up along the highway to cater to the tourists that pass through. This hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don Y, Owner at Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently, it is unfortunate that the weather did not allow viewing the night sky. I am concerned that you did not find our unit entirely satisfactory. Our motels are 15 years old, however we are constantly renewing, and upgrading our facilities; joinery and carpets only last year, and furnishings frequently. However we will endeavour... More 

Perth
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our needs for hotels/motels on this trip were quite simple. We were two adults taking part in a cycle race so we needed room for two bikes, preferably a kitchenette to make breakfast early before each stage, laundry facilities would be good for smelly kit and good black out curtains for a decent nights sleep. Wifi and nearby restaurants were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Tekapo is a very small town with limited accommodation. We picked the Scenic resort as the location was close to all the restaurants and shops. Also the resort had a great view of the lake. We booked the 2bed room apartment with one bathroom. Rooms were not big and on the ground floor. The room has a great view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfectly adequate motel but no wow factor. Worth paying more $ for the " family executive suite" as this is more private and has the best views. Good kitchenette facilities with pots, utensils etc. all very clean. Only a few steps to restaurants, cafes. Unfortunately, construction work is going on in front of the motels at present but if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is not a lot to choose from in Lake Tekapo area and most all the accommodations look pretty sparse. This was an older property, but certainly functional in every way. You do see the lake from your window and you have a private balcony to use for enjoying the view. There is construction going on between you and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reasonable size room over looking the beautiful Lake Tepako. Wayne was very helpful and friendly when checking in. Wifi is free but be warned it is only 3 x 100MB. We used each voucher in about 10-15 mins (with two devices) when checking facebook! Also we stayed here on a Friday night and the pub two doors down played loud... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

209 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (183)
Viewed
View from room (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question