We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Lake Tekapo accommodations

Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation

PO Box 126 | Lake Tekapo, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (13)
  • Photos (2)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Location
  • More
Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, Northland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very helpful and friendly owner, location right in the centre of main shopping area, and backing onto the lake. We had a 4 person family room for $85, so very good value - room was spacious and beds had electric blankets, although 1 of them had a bit of a bare wire showing so chose not to use that one.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Highly recommend staying here. We stayed in the backpacker accommodation and it had everything we needed, even a towel to use on the bed and an electric blanket BLISS!. The location is perfect and views from the reception just stunning. The man on reception was really really helpful and welcoming to us. Kitchen where we cooked dinner that night had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was a surprise, very friendly reception, well organised managers. The rooms were clean and roomy, and the shared kitchen was well equipped, albeit slightly small for strangers to cook together. The bathrooms were clean and sufficient. Very central location to explore the environs of lake tekapo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The staff were friendly, the place was clean and really cheap especially by Tekapo standards. Towels and comfy beds as well as good showers, couldn't ask for more. It was also warm during the freezing June temperatures! Would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blenheim, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

- Friendly staff - In town centre - Clean - Small and boring kitchen, just enough equipement - Free wifi - Towel for use is good! - Good beds - Small hostel - No extra stuff - Stayed 1 night - Won't be here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night during my visit to Lake Tekapo and my friend and I were very pleased with the whole experience. To begin, the woman at the desk when we checked in was lovely. So kind and helpful. There is limited free wifi which she offered up right away and it was just enough to check emails and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The location is the best you could ask for. The private rooms in the "Hotel" area look nice from the outside so I understand all the great reviews. The backpacker "dorm" area however is a house without windows. The kitchen is not extremely clean and poorly equipped (also no windows there). However the beds were clean and totally ok. So... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night (thank god!) over Easter weekend and could not wait to get out. No other rooms where available except for the Budget room so the two of us had no choice....for 85 dollars I would rather have stayed at the YHA...the room had no bathroom, was shared, which is fine but toilet is joined with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don Y, Owner at Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

I regret that you did not enjoy your stay. Easter is certainly a very busy time in Lake Tekapo, requiring early reservations to secure the type of accommodation you require. I am confident that our website accurately describes the facilities that you reserved. The cost of the room reflects the option of selling 4 beds as dorms @ $25, or... More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
85 hotel reviews
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Right in the centre of town with Lake Tekapo at the rear. Check in with the Tekapo Scenic Motel on site........very nice people to deal with. We had a 4 bed dorm style room (1 Dble & 3 single bunks) for the 3 of us and it was excellent. Fresh linen, doona and nice towels. Air conditioning, fan, electric blanket,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The location is fabulous as the hostel is just location behind the only row of shops in Lake Tekapo. Furthermore, the Lake is just opposite the accommodation, across the domain. Since the hostel is operated by the Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort, they do provide the free towel which change daily and room cleaning daily. The room is clean and spacious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation

Address: PO Box 126 | Lake Tekapo, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines
    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation to your Saves list