We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation

PO Box 126 | Lake Tekapo, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
1
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Apucarana, Parana, Brazil
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

I've been in this hostel for just one night, but it's really good. The staff is very nice and friendly, the rooms are spacious and very clean, good bathrooms too. The kitchen could be better, but all the other things are so good that the not-so-good kitchen is not a real problem. Free 100 MB wifi, free tea and coffee.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Clean, warm with heaters and electric blankets, in the middle of town and very cheap. There was even a sky window to see stars. My friends and I enjoyed our time! The kitchen, although communal, was large enough for everyone to use. The staff was very friendly too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whangarei, Northland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Very helpful and friendly owner, location right in the centre of main shopping area, and backing onto the lake. We had a 4 person family room for $85, so very good value - room was spacious and beds had electric blankets, although 1 of them had a bit of a bare wire showing so chose not to use that one.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canberra
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Highly recommend staying here. We stayed in the backpacker accommodation and it had everything we needed, even a towel to use on the bed and an electric blanket BLISS!. The location is perfect and views from the reception just stunning. The man on reception was really really helpful and welcoming to us. Kitchen where we cooked dinner that night had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was a surprise, very friendly reception, well organised managers. The rooms were clean and roomy, and the shared kitchen was well equipped, albeit slightly small for strangers to cook together. The bathrooms were clean and sufficient. Very central location to explore the environs of lake tekapo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The staff were friendly, the place was clean and really cheap especially by Tekapo standards. Towels and comfy beds as well as good showers, couldn't ask for more. It was also warm during the freezing June temperatures! Would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

- Friendly staff - In town centre - Clean - Small and boring kitchen, just enough equipement - Free wifi - Towel for use is good! - Good beds - Small hostel - No extra stuff - Stayed 1 night - Won't be here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night during my visit to Lake Tekapo and my friend and I were very pleased with the whole experience. To begin, the woman at the desk when we checked in was lovely. So kind and helpful. There is limited free wifi which she offered up right away and it was just enough to check emails and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The location is the best you could ask for. The private rooms in the "Hotel" area look nice from the outside so I understand all the great reviews. The backpacker "dorm" area however is a house without windows. The kitchen is not extremely clean and poorly equipped (also no windows there). However the beds were clean and totally ok. So... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night (thank god!) over Easter weekend and could not wait to get out. No other rooms where available except for the Budget room so the two of us had no choice....for 85 dollars I would rather have stayed at the YHA...the room had no bathroom, was shared, which is fine but toilet is joined with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don Y, Owner at Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

I regret that you did not enjoy your stay. Easter is certainly a very busy time in Lake Tekapo, requiring early reservations to secure the type of accommodation you require. I am confident that our website accurately describes the facilities that you reserved. The cost of the room reflects the option of selling 4 beds as dorms @ $25, or... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Lake Tekapo
YHA Lake Tekapo
#5 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#13 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
3.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities