We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Lake Tekapo accommodations

Parkbrae Estate

3 Sealy Street, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (92)
  • Photos (101)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
Parkbrae Estate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    18
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

i loved my stay at the church house totally. as what the pictures on their website shows. unblocked views of the lake & the church. 2 rooms with a toilet, a living area & the kitchen. utensils and washing liquid was available (we cooked a meal). very cosy place yet clean. wifi was really bad (however i was not keen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We couldn't agree more as Church House does have the best views in all of Tekapo. The WIFI is an issue and we are trying to find ways to strengthen the signal... we have a beautiful garden but that is the main reason for a poor signal.... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at the Opera House, It was an amazing cottage with log fire, well kept and comfortable. The view was out of this world, we got some wonderful pictures of the lake from there. We got breakfast catered through the owners and the town was so close for all other meals. Kids enjoyed the 2 levels and the nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay as Opera House is definitely one of our favorites! Make sure you find some time from your busy life in Singapore to and visit us again. All the best, Patricia Baptista More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed on the middle floor of the Garden Tower - Amazing view of the Good Shepherd Church. Rooms were spacious, clean - great shower. Staff very friendly and helpful. Wifi didn't work in the Tower.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the to write such a lovely review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Parkbrae and apologies for poor WIFI connection. It is a complimentary service that we offer and we are looking at ways to improve it. Corrugated iron and foliage are the 2 main factors which decrease the signal... and we are surrounded... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed over here on the way to Chrischurch. We booked Opera house but we were given another property to stay saying that it's their best property. It seemed like they had given that property to somebody else. When we asked, she said that there's a issue with the booking system and that may have caused it but it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much Nuwan for taking the time to write your review. As explained at reception I did have issues with the booking system which had crashed as I showed you and the property you were upgraded to is our best one. Aldourie Lodge is loved by everyone as you can see from the reviews! I am really sorry... More

Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the cottage in 2013 and witnessed the first blanket of snow for the season. Comfy rooms and the open log fire is a hit. Sit next to the roaring fire and watch the snow falling outside or see the local attractions without leaving the warmth of the cottage. Directly across the road is the famous lake, (... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! Winter at Parkbrae is just celestial! The snow on the ground or mountains just makes it! On a sunny day nothing beats it!! We are hoping this season to be great! So fingers crossed and hope to welcome you again. All the best, Patricia Baptista More

Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stay here if you can, in any of their gorgeous options. Kind, helpful proprietors; unique, comfortable accommodations; gorgeous properties, gardens, and views. The only critique is that the wifi was highly unreliable, but this place is so wonderful you shouldn't be wasting your time on the internet anyway. Step outside and soak up the view! We stayed for two nights,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! Delighted you were able to enjoy time out in our gorgeous estate. It's a blessing to be surrounded by gardens which add to the total experience! We are working on strengthening the WIFI system as having such lush gardens although it is just magical it does... More

Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

WHAT A LOCATION! There is no place with better views of the church - they were even better than I expected. It was such a joy to walk right from our place over to the church and walk along the water. The house is basic (decor a little tired), but has everything you need. Just like it says on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Hi Laura, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your constructive and positive review. You are absolutely right! Church House does have the best views!! We are very lucky to be able to offer this property as part of our estate. Since 2011 we have changed the feel of the place; from sofas, to tables, curtains and... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The night that we spent in Garden Cottage at Parkbrae was most definitely the highlight of our holiday with my parents who were over from the UK on their first visit to New Zealand. On entering the cottage there is a sense of history and quirkiness but with an assurance of cleanliness and the provision of all modern amenities with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Hi Matt, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. And apologies for my delay in acknowledging it... Delighted you enjoyed your stay and it would be lovely to see you all again on your next trip to visit your son in Christchurch - New Zealand. Hope you have a great summer! Best wishes to... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Parkbrae estate is definitely one of the best places in New Zealand! We decided to have our wedding reception on site and it couldn't have been more perfect. From day one the communication was positive, prompt and enthusiastic. We booked out most of the houses for the lead up and the day after the wedding. Although there was a overbooking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

THANK YOU!!!!!!!!! It was just wonderful to be part of your beautiful day! And how lucky were you with the weather??!! It was all just perfect! Make sure you come back for a wedding anniversary :-) You could make it a tradition! We wish you all the happiness you deserve and much more! All the best for you both. Patricia... More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at Doctor's Retreat for two days. Right from the booking till the time we left Lake Tekapo, the management of Parkbrae Estate was very prompt in service. I had tried booking Garden Cottage but due to some over booking, we were upgraded to Doctor's Retreat for no extra charge. When we reached Parkbrae, though Patricia was on a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay as Doctor's Retreat is a beautiful property! I hope you had a great time in New Zealand. make sure you come back. Al the best for 2014! Patricia Baptista More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Parkbrae Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Parkbrae Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkbrae Estate

Address: 3 Sealy Street, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Parkbrae Estate is so much more than a stay... it is an experience! Preferred by so many due to its unique style cottages and units (apartments), peaceful surroundings and privileged location! No doubt the spot in Tekapo! Only a stone throw away from the stunning turquoise Lake and a few steps from the Church of Good Shepherd and Collie Dog Statue! Tekapo's best known icons!! When at Parkbrae Estate, wake up to a breath taking scenery or warm up by the fire in a cold winter night... stroll through the gardens with camera in hand soking up the morning light... sit in the balcony with a book or a glass of the finest NZ wine...wait until the stars come out in the mesmerizing night sky and make a wish... or two... Perfect for romantic getaways, family holidays, weddings, gatherings or just an excuse to treat yourself!! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Parkbrae Estate to your Saves list