We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Lake Tekapo accommodations

LakeFront Backpackers Lodge

Lakeside Drive, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added LakeFront Backpackers Lodge to your Saves list
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
41%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
DaveDP-gsy Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Reviews (65)
  • Photos (15)
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    16
    19
    6
See reviews for
2
29
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After having read a few negative experiences about this place i was really surprised when i turned up. LOCATION- Incredible lake and mountain view's from the large lounge/kitchen area with a log fire and loads of leather chair's, board games and TV/stereo. Some people complained about the distance from the town and it is a good 10min walk, but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed here for one night, with the kiwi experience. But it had great facilities, if anything just alittle small. But rooms were nice, with their own bathrooms. It had a really nice garden too great for socialising. Then the communal area was great too, with a tv with a choice of dvds just by the kitchen. Also situated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

we stayed here only for one night, the view was amazing. And up the road was the hot pools we stayed in a little cabin outside the main house, which got very cold. Even thou the radiator was on all the time. you have to use the toilet in the main house.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Right by the lake, as advertised, great views on a clear day. Being mid season, my shared room remained solely occupied. Don't expect to be able to do anything in it though. Power points were minimal, good job I was there on my own. No towels or Wifi, unless you fork out even more than the $30 for a quad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kevin from Auckland Thank you for your comments. Yes, you have to pay for your Wi-Fi but the coverage is great and 24 hrs unlimited is a pretty good deal. We only provide towels in our private rooms but they are available for hire from reception. We were having issues with the fridges popping the RCD hence the offer... More

Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Looking for a quick overnight stop before heading onward to Queenstown- I called this place up. Normally I am one to check reviews of places before booking but I had no time so just found a place on google on my phone and called to book. When I arrived I realised straight away - I had failed :-( Walking through... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for your honest review and I'm sorry you found the lodge not to your liking. Yes it does get busy in the lodge but that is what backpackers are like, its a chance to meet and greet and have a chat as so many travel by themselves. It would be great though if they staggered their... More

Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

the location is perfect, just walk out of the hostel and you will be able to see a blue water lake..My wife and i got ourselves a 2 person room. Nothing much to complain when you can have a pretty nice view of the lake just within stone throw distance. We stayed there for just 1 night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi kschan10 from Malaysia. Thank you for taking the time to review Lakefront Lodge. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it appreciated the views on offer. Its winter here now and the temperature has certainly dropped since you were here. But the fire is cranked up and its keeping the chills away. Thanks again cheers Andrea More

Helston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were actually really excited to stay here, it looked so lovely.. But slowly got disappointed by the way it was run. Our room was really nice, and the location is beautiful! But the kitchen was soo busy all the time! Way too small for everyone. The wifi is the most expensive we have paid so far in newzealand.. 7$... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Chelsea T from England Thank you for you comments on our lodge and I'm sorry you found something's not to your liking. We do have a 10am check out from the facility as we have a very small window of time to have the lodge ready for the next lot of buses that start arriving from 11.30 on. We... More

tippe133
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here when I was with the kiwi experience. The hostel was nice and clean and a great location for the lake which is especially nice at night. It is only a short walk into town. The rooms were very small though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kiwi Exp traveller. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lakefront Lodge. You don't get a lot of time to enjoy what Tekapo has to offer unless you stay a second night but the location gives you the best of everything with only a short walk to town. Ye,s the 4 beds dorms are cosy... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The park location is what it's all about. Besides lake Tekapo. If you are waiting for a good photograph moment, sunrise or sunset, overnight there is great. The price $20 per person is kind of fine. We came in with camper van and needed the power socket to recharge the equipment we had, batteries, laptop etc.. I didn't try the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to review us. There are certainly plenty of photography opportunities here. Your feedback on the Wi-Fi is valid. At times we do have a bit of a coverage issue but we are currently working with our suppliers and they are doing some serious upgrades as they are aware we need a fast... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Please do yourself a favour and dont book here. As we were staying over the Christmas period we had made our hostel booking weeks in advance. On arrival at the hostel we paid in full for the four nights we had booked. On day three we left the hostel at 5pm for about half an hour to walk into town... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

First up, to all our existing guests and those who are looking at staying with us. I apologise for not having responded to this bad review sooner and I hope this hasn't put you off coming to our beautiful part of the world. There are always two sides to a story and yes we did have to move them into... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to LakeFront Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeFront Backpackers Lodge

Address: Lakeside Drive, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your LakeFront Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakefront Backpackers Hotel Lake Tekapo

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer