We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

LakeFront Backpackers Lodge

Lakeside Drive, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    27
    26
    22
    10
See reviews for
2
35
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We only came here as the YHA down the road was full but it wasn't too bad. The room was a bit cramped but it had big sliding windows and was a few metres away from the lake. The bathrooms were okay, though the showers went from freezing cold to boiling and nowhere in between. There was a large communal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Our room was quite small and cramped, but it was suitable for our needs. The bathroom was crowded at certain points in the day (especially the morning when the Kiwi Experience bus was leaving), and the same with the kitchen. The common area was nice, it had lots of sofas, a tv, and big windows with nice views of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

I stayed here for one night in April 2015 with the Kiwi Experience. My boyfriend and I booked a private double, which was just outside of the main lodge. Our cabin was comfortable and spacious and had a view overlooking the water. The facilities were all clean and big enough for everybody on our bus and more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

I have stayed in a lot of backpackers all over the world, including third world countries, this place is the worst! For $85 we got a tiny room that was cold, LOUD and dirty. Don't even get me started on the bathroom, I would be embarrassed if I were the owners. Our room was unfortunately close to the kitchen and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

The Lakefront Lodge backpackers is a little walk from the centre of Tekapo (about 10 minutes or 15/20 with luggage). There is a concrete path all the way along the side of the lake from the centre to the lodge. At night the path is illuminated so it's easy to follow it back.The staff are very friendly and are happy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

I stayed here recently on a Friday when Tekapo was pretty much booked out. The room was quiet and although it had bunks they were comfortable and warm. Very clean linen and towels supplied and the spotless kitchen was well equipped. Only downside was erratic hot water supply in the shower. Although it was full we had a quiet and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for you great comments on the Lakefront Lodge Backpackers. I glad you had a great stay and found the lodge clean and tidy. Sorry about the erratic water. We are on gas so I'm not quite sure how we can either have cold water or it can be so inconsistent. That is a job for the... More 

Vila do Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

I spent one night in this accomodation while travelling with Kiwi Experience. I paid $30 for a tiny 6 share dorm and there was no hot water. The showers were cold since the time that we arrived until we left in the morning. When I told this to the lady who came to collect our keys in the morning she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi all the way to Portugal Thank you for your feedback however I think your radar was a little off as to my reaction to your water comment. Yes, it was me that collected the keys. The first we had heard about the showers being cold was from you, on the bus, at 9am, as you were leaving. Not one... More 

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

The location is perfect, right on the lake with a nice common room to hang out in and enjoy the view. However, the Kiwi Experience use this hostel which means, when they turn up, everyone kinda knows each other so I found it quite difficult to engage in any sort of conversation which was a shame and the kitchen is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi I'm glad you found the lodge clean & tidy albeit is a bit busy in the kitchen at meal times. We have the two BBQ's that I wish more would use, this would take the pressure of the kitchen. I guess you are right about the Kiwi Experience bus, them all knowing each other already and all but the... More 

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

This place had a lovely view right on the waterfront. The lady that checked us in was friendly and the facilities were clean. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm as that's all that was available. Luckily no one else checked in as the room was tiny. Had a lovely backyard area to sit outside and eat, also a three... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there in Melbourne I'm glad you had a great stay in our lodge and weren't you were the lucky ones having the room to your self lol. The staff were friendly, lodge was clean, even the three legged cat did his bit. Fantastic!!That cat walks all the way from over the bridge past the village to the lodged. Obviously... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

We called in the morning to find out if there was any space for 2 people in the backpacker dorms and were told they were fully booked...which is pretty common in Tekapo when booking or arriving last minute. We were cycling and had our tents so upon arriving in Tekapo, knowing we had nothing booked we thought we would just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there I'm not going to pretend we get it right all the time, who does but I can assure we do everything possible to ensure our reception is run efficiently and promptly. For the whole of summer we had two people rostered on in reception and the only time we would be down to one person would be if... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay