We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Lake Tekapo

Certificate of Excellence
3 Simpson Lane, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Lake Tekapo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
YHA Lake Tekapo
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    46
    45
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
3
29
46
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

從青年旅館公共空間望出去就是非常優美的景色。 當天氣不佳時,下雨、太冷、風太大,我們可以回到美麗的青年旅館公共空間,這裡永遠溫暖! 我在這裡住了六天,於是觀察到TEKAPO湖的各種樣貌,從早上到晚上,從晴天變成雨天。如水晶般清澈、如鏡般平靜、皺浪濤濤,色彩豐富的群山、變化多端的陽光、不可預測的天氣... 所以非常感謝有像這樣一處平價又如此貼近TEKAPO湖畔住所,我才能有以上體驗。 強力推薦這間青年旅館 ^___^ *可以邊洗衣晾衣服邊欣賞湖景。 *廚房常常不太乾淨。 *衛浴通常很乾淨。 *通鋪有些擁擠,但床很舒服。 Very, very good view from the warm common area!! When the weather is not very good, raining, too cold, or windy, we can just go back to our beautiful common area, always warm!!! I stayed 6 nights here and I saw Lake Tekapo from morning to night, from sunny to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately we got stuck this hostel twice due to weather conditions on the trail we our doing. The guy who seemed to be running the hostel was friendly. However same can not be said for another staff member. There was a load drunk Chinese tourist with no thought about any other guests there. None the staff told them to keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We’re sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. We believe we are quite a hiker-friendly hostel. We had a busy season this year with hikers, trampers and cyclists staying with us. We have a lot of storage for gear and we do collect parcels for trampers/hikers/cyclists... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

I stayed here for two nights with my wife. First night in a dorm and the second in a double room. The staff were very accommodating beforehand and managed to upgrade our booking for one night. They even cleaned the room extra early so we could move our things into it for the second night. Amazing location overlooking the lake.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

This hostel is definately one of the most expensive we stayed in during our trip in New Zealand but it's so worth it for the incredible views. Set right on the shores of Lake Tekapo it has the kind of views you would expect from a luxury hotel. We had a private double room which gave us unobstructed views out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Cost of a double room for 1 night was approximately $100.00 NZ however this room had no ensuite. The property itself was nice enough and we were there for less than 24 hours as it was merely a stopover between Christchurch and Queenstown. The Hostel was quiet and clean which is really all you need, the staff we accommodating and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Great location not far from the restaurants and supermarkets , very friendly and helpful staffs , very clean bedrooms , beautiful view and great facilities. It was very easy to find , Bed was comfortable. I definitely stay there again if i have a chance to go back to Lake Tekapo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

A great hostel with friendly staff and a spacious kitchen, dining and lounge areas. Beds are comfortable but they creaked a lot when you moved even the slightest bit and I was worried I'd wake others. Otherwise this is a great hostel in a great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

I stayed here only for one night but I could have stayed here longer. The staff is friendly and helpful, the hostel is clean, the kichen is great, good atmosphere, the rooms are spacious, and the location is great with a beautiful view over Lake Tekapo. I recommend staying here!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

perfect location, unbeatable lake view at the lounge, spacious kitchen with everything you need, friendly & super helpful staffs plus atmosphere, definitely one of the best hostels I've ever stayed, no doubt will stay again if the next time i come back! Keep it up!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong Region, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

I like the lake views and its kitchen. but the rooms near washroom / kitchen is comparatively noisy because people will be using hair dryer late at night. Location is nice, near to treks and super market. staff are welcoming and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay