We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Lake Tekapo

Certificate of Excellence
3 Simpson Lane, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Lake Tekapo
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    51
    46
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
3
31
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Yamba, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My friend and I stayed here whilst making our way to Queenstown and we loved it! Very small and easy to meet new people. Lake Tekapo is beautiful and the view from the lounge room is amazing! Staff were great and amenities were of a good standard also! Definitely climb Mt John while staying here for an amazing view! Will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a hostel. So don't expect luxury. Highlights include: -Clean showers and bathrooms -Private Rooms -Large kitchen facility with a food and spices section up for grabs left by previous travelers. -Friendly staff, it's owned by a family who lives there with small children -Common room with TV, books, couches and a wood burning stove -Camping spots in the back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This accomodation was a great experience along traveling through NZ. Manager Billy does amazing job in this hostel, as well as other managers do but I don't know thier names... Everything was clean, Billy was still keeping up the fire and warm within building, he was always willing to help with bookings and answers the questions and I didn't have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Not much that makes this place stand-out from other hostels, but it was exactly what we expected. The facilities were clean, the kitchen was small but enough. The rooms were average, bathrooms were likewise. The lounge/living area was welcoming after a day of exploring. Although everything is walk-able in the area, the location of the hostel was, more or less,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

We were driving down with friends from Christchurch to Queentown. stayed overnight at the YHA Lake Tekapo. it was warm and very comfortable, toilets and bathrooms were clean. got ourselves two private rooms, not too sure about the shared rooms and its not far from the convenience shops.. huge kitchen to prepare our breakkie. best back yard and starry night.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

從青年旅館公共空間望出去就是非常優美的景色。 當天氣不佳時,下雨、太冷、風太大,我們可以回到美麗的青年旅館公共空間,這裡永遠溫暖! 我在這裡住了六天,於是觀察到TEKAPO湖的各種樣貌,從早上到晚上,從晴天變成雨天。如水晶般清澈、如鏡般平靜、皺浪濤濤,色彩豐富的群山、變化多端的陽光、不可預測的天氣... 所以非常感謝有像這樣一處平價又如此貼近TEKAPO湖畔住所,我才能有以上體驗。 強力推薦這間青年旅館 ^___^ *可以邊洗衣晾衣服邊欣賞湖景。 *廚房常常不太乾淨。 *衛浴通常很乾淨。 *通鋪有些擁擠,但床很舒服。 Very, very good view from the warm common area!! When the weather is not very good, raining, too cold, or windy, we can just go back to our beautiful common area, always warm!!! I stayed 6 nights here and I saw Lake Tekapo from morning to night, from sunny to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Unfortunately we got stuck this hostel twice due to weather conditions on the trail we our doing. The guy who seemed to be running the hostel was friendly. However same can not be said for another staff member. There was a load drunk Chinese tourist with no thought about any other guests there. None the staff told them to keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We’re sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. We believe we are quite a hiker-friendly hostel. We had a busy season this year with hikers, trampers and cyclists staying with us. We have a lot of storage for gear and we do collect parcels for trampers/hikers/cyclists... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

I stayed here for two nights with my wife. First night in a dorm and the second in a double room. The staff were very accommodating beforehand and managed to upgrade our booking for one night. They even cleaned the room extra early so we could move our things into it for the second night. Amazing location overlooking the lake.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

This hostel is definately one of the most expensive we stayed in during our trip in New Zealand but it's so worth it for the incredible views. Set right on the shores of Lake Tekapo it has the kind of views you would expect from a luxury hotel. We had a private double room which gave us unobstructed views out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Cost of a double room for 1 night was approximately $100.00 NZ however this room had no ensuite. The property itself was nice enough and we were there for less than 24 hours as it was merely a stopover between Christchurch and Queenstown. The Hostel was quiet and clean which is really all you need, the staff we accommodating and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.0 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#13 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
3.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#9 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay